We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW...”

Salsalito Taco Shop
Ranked #21 of 79 Restaurants in Sausalito
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Baja-style mexican with a California Twist! Enjoy outdoor casual dining right across from the water in beautiful Sausalito.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“WOW...”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After biking the Golden Gate we wanted to refresh in Sausalito and the touristy area near the ferry dock was a little "too" touristy. A few steps away we found the Salsalito Taco Shop and are very happy we did. This was quite probably the best Mexican food we've had north of Mexico...very fresh ingredients, home made natcho chips, and outstanding guacamole...this from a person who generally doesn't eat guac! I had a small burrito that exploded with flavour and was more than enough to satisfy before riding back to San Fran, I would go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    109
    26
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
woodway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick afternoon snack”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for a quick bite after visiting SF. The margaritas were quite tasty and definitely had a kick. The tacos were good, don't think an extra $1 for flour tortilla was necessary. Chips were delicious with salsa. Quaint and cute. Servers very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Afternoon of margaritas and tacos? This is the place!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

After a early morning trip to Muir woods we stopped in Sausalito for the afternoon. We walked the strip and continued down till we came across this restaurant. The decor attracted me first and the need for a drink got me to sit down. We were instantly welcomed and margaritas were ordered while we looked over the menu. The drinks were so good but a little too strong for my wife so I ended up drinking hers, cuz that's the kinda guy I am!!! She opted for a Roy Rodgers (Cherry Coke) and the food arrived the shrimp ceviche tostadas (huge shrimp), shrimp tacos the salsas were amazing, guacamole (very creamy) and homemade chips! The only thing was the tortillas could of been a bit thicker. They kinda fell apart before I was done with a taco. After another round we asked for the bill and found it to be quite reasonable.
Definitely a place to stop for tacos in Sausalito!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

After seeing lines to get into Salsalito Taco Shop, and reading the reviews, we were excited to try it ourselves. The atmosphere is cute and fun. The chips and salsa and guacamole were very good. Three of us had burritos and one had tacos. I am not saying the food was not good. I guess we had expected more.....thus the average ranking.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LovinLife333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food...”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a great lunch here. Very tasty Mexican food (try the different tacos - delicious). We relaxed with a few beers, guacamole and chips, tacos and a quesadilla. Everything was very good, topped off by strong, prompt service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LB1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salsalito Taco Shop also viewed

Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 
Sausalito, Marin County
 

Been to Salsalito Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing