We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“MORE THAN A COFFEE SHOP!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackboard Bistro

Blackboard Bistro
Ranked #13 of 92 Restaurants in Seal Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MORE THAN A COFFEE SHOP!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Breakfast and lunches are excellent. Great menu to select from, good quality food and a beach-town feel. Conveniently located right on Pacific Coast Highway in Seal Beach, close to Main Street. I personally enjoy the eggs benedict for breakfast and the Cluben for lunch.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank LoveZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Pancakes anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Blackboard Bistro is a favorite of our family. The Pancakes are the best. Light, flluffy, melt in your mouth good, whether plain or with blue berries. The omelets are to die for. If you are a "health nut" try the brown rice and eggs. So good. You know a place is good when the bicyclers eat there.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SANDI W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
1 review
“Eggs Benedict”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Best eggs Benedict I’ve ever had. Poached eggs were just as I ordered, and hollandaise sauce is spot on -smooth, rich and with proper lemon zing. They have four or so options with the great hollandaise sauce.
Service is good - attentive not hovering. In most instances they can accommodate your whims. I’m usually in the area for breakfast or brunch, but I’ve never had a meal that was not very good or better.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmadorWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“To Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

I heart Blackboard Bistro...it possesses a finesse. The Bistro is casual and the people who dine and serve you are kind and everyone is happy. Simply a relaxing place to enjoy a delicious meal.

There is a certain euphoria in the air. An element of relaxation.

It was my mom's birthday and my brother and sister-in-law were visiting from DC; and we all know that mamasang LOVES pancakes.

So, we make the trek over to Seal Beach and wait about 20 minutes to enjoy a fantastic breakfast that included:

Blueberry Pancakes - moist and tender

Sausage - simply scrumptious

Mexicali Scramble - my favorite (consists of chorizo scrambled with eggs, green chilies, green onions, jack cheese and served with a dollop of sour cream and half of an avocado. You get a choice of sides such as hash browns, brown rice and toast and flour/corn tortillas. The hash browns are so crispy and sinful. Do the hash browns and work them off later. You know you want to....

Breakfast Burrito - tastes like your momma made it, good. It is prepared with hash browns, cheddar cheese, pico de gallo and your choice of pork.

The coffee was flowin' and the service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dachonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Family recommended this place for lunch. (They serve breakfast and dinner also) What a great spot. We sat outside on the patio and enjoyed a typical blue sky California day. The Stuffed Popeye Burger I had was delicious and cooked perfectly. Service was attentive and pleasant. If you're in Seal Beach looking for a great lunch spot look no further, Blackboard Bistro has you covered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tearitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blackboard Bistro also viewed

Seal Beach, Orange County
 
Seal Beach, Orange County
Seal Beach, Orange County
 
Seal Beach, Orange County
Seal Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Blackboard Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing