We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My fav for sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mahe

Mahe
Ranked #14 of 91 Restaurants in Seal Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Seal Beach Blvd
Description: Welcome to Mahe Restaurant in Seal Beach. Our atmosphere is cool, casual and comfortable. Our amazing kitchen and sushi chefs create a most unique dining experience. Come in and see what we’re all about - we promise you won't be disappointed. Due to limited seating, the sushi bar is first come first served. We will do our best to seat you at your requested table as soon as one is available.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My fav for sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I have been going here for years. We mostly go out for sushi at restaurants and this place is still our favorite. Jose is amazing and has special sauces that make you crave more. We never order off the menu, we remind him what we like and he just makes it. Never have been disappointed. Our kids love it here too. Find out when the happy hours are. The staff are always upbeat and friendly. Whether you are a local or visiting you have to check it out. They also have a full menu with steak and seafood for those who don't do sushi in your party.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 102963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious, creative sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Visiting Seal Beach for work and heard about a good sushi happy hour so I headed over. Amazing...Monday happy hour is all you can eat for $25. It is good enough to not even order - just ask the sushi guys to make what they want! Definitely going back to try the regular menu next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank likes2bike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Mahi Sliders”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stopped in to Mahe after work and decided to have dinner at the bar. The bar area is pretty dark, but that's okay. There aren't many beers on tap... more options would be nice. The food was excellent however. I had the mahi sliders, and they were very, very tasty, but the shrimp and scallop "nachos" left a little to be desired. But man, those mahi sliders - wow.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SloatK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
148 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Food was good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Don't judge this place by outside of building. This restaurant came on the recommendation of our hotel. The restaurant is very noisy, so if you are looking for a romantic place this is not a good choice. The tataki wraps are amazing. We also ordered the albacore jalapeno is was tasty. We ordered the filet - please note there are 2 filet's on the menu. I wanted the Nate Filet which is wrapped in bacon and stuffed with bleu cheese. When the plate was brought out of the kitchen it was just the regular filet. Needless to say I was very disappointed. The server did bring over some of the cheese sauce. Oh well I guess that was my fault. Thew chocolate lava cake was a great dessert choice. Just a short drive from Long Beach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank balaczar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great service; romantic.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

Great ambiance and atmosphere. The drinks were excellent as was each item ordered. The steamers were a bit heavy on the beer taste and could have used a touch more seasoning. Service was great.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mahe also viewed

Seal Beach, Orange County
Seal Beach, Orange County
 
Seal Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Mahe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing