We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor day compromise of sorts, not unbearable”
Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Labor day compromise of sorts, not unbearable”
Reviewed 10 September 2011

My boyfriend and I decided on a road trip up the coast for labor day weekend and Monterey was the last stop. This hotel basically fulfilled our needs. We were greeted at the front desk and she wasn't rude or anything. She even pointed out maps for us and explained how to return the key once we were done paying.
The room was mediocre. When we arrived at around 3:30PM they were still cleaning. The furniture was dated, but I didn't think they were gross or dirty, just a little too traditional and dark to be hotel decor. The bathroom was actually nice and clean. The sheets seemed like it could not have been washed from the last persons stay - they weren't crisp and detergent smelling at all however it was hard to tell.
On safety - I left my purse in the hotel room accidentally when we went to the aquarium. When I came back nothing was taken or touched. They just tidied up the towels, so I wouldn't say its a place to super paranoid.
The one huge drawback was the noisy heater/AC. Unless its a perfect 68 degrees outside at night it may be a problem for travelers needing a good nights rest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kritika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    28
    41
    16
    16
See reviews for
28
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We arrived one day earlier than expected and went to the hotel to see if they had vacancies for one additional night (to the one we'd already booked online a few days before), but instead of giving good polite service to a customer who on top of everything was nice and wanting to stay an extra night, he yelled at me for not having called if we knew we were going to arrive earlier! I told him we had no cell with us (on a roadtrip in Calif but originally from Europe) and that we didn't even know we'd drive this far in one day. But I told him if he didn't have vacant rooms we could just go somewhere else. He didn't even answer, but kept on yelling at me and scolding me for not knowing the car's registration number by heart (it's a rental). After having been out the whole next day, we came back to a room with all windows open even though we had plenty of valuables in the room, plus some one had been in the room but everything was a mess and they hadn't even cleaned the room. (But they had taken our towels so we had none left) Poor breakfast and bad tasting coffee. EXTREMELY rude management who's treating their customers like manure! DONT STAY THERE!!!!! There are LOADS of other hotels with similar standard down the road - pick one of those instead!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sockerdricka08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

California, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The price was higher the expected, The room was smaller then promised, Manager atitude was horrible, nothing but coffee in breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Menasheya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2010

clean comfortable rooms , great service, manager was very friendly and helpful.great price.recomand to any one.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taraman93955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Much to my horror I saw roaches in the parking lot but thought it was just outside the rooms. No. When I got up in the morning I saw a huge roach going under the refridgerator. Not only this, but the water was so hard and the rooms are outdated and the carpets stink and feel cold and like they have dirt build up on them. I also saw pubic hair in the sheets.

Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank dreinca2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My husband and I decided to stay here while spending a weekend in Monterey. Big mistake.
When we arrived, the front door to our room was wide open. I imagine it was to air the place out. The condition of the room was unlike anything i've ever seen. The wallpaper was old, dirty and peeling off. The lamps were broken, the bedding had burn holes in it, and the fabric on the chairs were filthy! The furniture looked as though they found it on the side of the freeway. There was a broken down refridgerator in the bathroom area, and the bathroom itself looked as though it had never been cleaned. I was afraid to even sit down on anything and I never unloaded my clothes from my suitcase.
The smell of the room was so horrific that we went to Walgreens across the street to buy some air freshener. Didn't help.
We tried to stick it out, but ended up leaving. It was just too disgusting. The owner was incredibly rude, and he and my husband ended up getting into an argument because we wanted our money back. We ended up having to sacrafice $50 for the two hours we stayed. We had to bribe the owner with money!! It was a big fiasco, and he was extremely rude.
I am not hard to please, and i've stayed at places where i've been a little more than grossed out. But this place, by far, takes the cake.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunprincess1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

3miles drive to monterey cannery row. rooms r rundown and old. bathroom are not clean. fridge is not cold at all. only good point that can salvage this place is that it is near safeway, walgreens and carl jr, burger king.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lab4games
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.2 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 1106 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-5715
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing