We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Value for money!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Discovery Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Erskine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bad Value for money!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

A large clean room with no coffee machine, except for breakfast, no microwave, three pillows for two people all of which are thin and cheap, two out of three lamps working in the ceiling, no ice-bucket and a fridge that is old, noisy and rattles when switching off. It was not running when we arrived. For $313 this is a bad deal at any time. Two days later the same room will be $69 and that. The Reception smelt of curry. To be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clachmhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    28
    41
    15
    15
See reviews for
26
46
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Older looking Inn, however, beautiful flowers etc make it look quaint. Friendly and helpful staff, a moderate but good breakfast, cereal and milk and orange juice along with fresh pastries. Great room with a very comfortable bed, very clean!!!! Highly recommend this Inn to stay close to Monterrey, without paying the high price. When I visited the Monterrey Visitors center, they asked where I was staying and I told them and due to my praise of this Inn they added it to their list. This Inn is truly a bargain within a mile, i believe, of the wharf in Monterrey.

Room Tip: I had a room towards the back and it was very quiet. Best part was the flowers smelled so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtucker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

By checking reviews and paying almost $200 a night for an adjoining room I thought it would be a lot better then it was. The rooms were crammed with furniture, air conditioning in only one room the wifi didn't work and the refrigerator looked to be from the 60s and was unplugged and in the bath room. It was clean, with plenty of towels. Yet there was no clock and bed was not comfortable .... Would not stay again

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CBail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

This place is dingy and a bit creepy. The service at the desk was rude and the office smelled very strongly (though not totally badly!) of curry. The rooms were big but dingy and the bathroom was very sketch. That said, its cheap, and we were there like 9 total hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Just spent a Friday and Saturday night at this motel. After taxes, $163 for 2 nights, not bad for the area and a weekend. The motel is old but I thought pretty clean. I don't care about furniture. As other stated, the walls are thin. I did fine the 1st night but 2nd night's neighbors were loud. I could hear her whole entire conversation that she was having on the phone (word for word). When she slammed her motel door, our bathroom door would open. Also, double check your door, ours seemed to shut behind us but if we pushed on it, it would open back up. Key locks, no card locks so we just made sure to really check before leaving and when entering our room, we checked again and put the safety latch on. Owners were not friendly but I wouldn't exactly say rude. We did have an issue with no wi-fi to which the owner just said it must be our Laptop because his Grandson could get on, wouldn't help us. Later we had an issue with the TV and he came to re-set it, when my friend asked him to show her how incase it happened again, he refused saying he didn't want her to mess with the remote. Limited TV channels. Breakfast was two pastries, two cereals, milk, OJ and coffee. Considering not having to pay for breakfast, I was fine with it. If you don't want to drive, there is enough restaurants or fast food places within walking distance or cheap taxi service, Walgreens right across the street. Close enough drive into Monterey to be satisfied. I would have been happier if the room was only $40 like a few others stated but at $163 for 2 weekend nights, I would stay again if on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

SUMMARY -
We stayed here 1 year later and is still an excellent value for a comfortable, simple, clean, quiet and convenient overnight stay.
DETAILS -
Hi, HatMan Geno here again, and this still gets my "5 Hats" tip for being what it strives to be: a very economical (Approx. $45 for the night including the taxes and continental breakfast), clean, functional, quiet, safe and comfortable night's sleep.
My opinion of this hotel has not changed since we stayed here and wrote a review exactly 1 year ago. Last time was room #10; this year room #17. Both were delightful and what I would hope to have from a motel frozen in the "1960's": a refrigerator, no in room coffee or microwave, god but smaller old time towels (remember...1960's...), and delightful flowers all through the motel property. This is a place for an good night's sleep. This is not a "resort", nor does it pretend to be (it certainly would not be $45 if it were!). The "continental breakfast" is simple, giving a little kick-start as you go about your day (coffee - no decaf, simple various Danish and muffins, breakfast cereal of frosted corn flakes and cheerios, milk, and orange juice; Styrofoam cups and bowls, plastic flatware). The room ceilings are high with wood rafters, and the flat panel TV and Wi-Fi work well.
CONCLUSION -
If you are looking to make microwave meals, or in-room coffee, this is not your place. BUT, if you want a very adequate, clean and affordable quiet night's rest, this is a true delight.
So there you have it...this is HatMan Geno...safe travels, and I'll see you next time from the road!
Ciao-4-Now!

Room Tip: Unless you are a smoker, ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HatManGeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed there in Seaside for four days the rooms are older but everything worked coffee and danish every morning if I had to complain about something it would be just at the walls are very thin overall it was a good stay I will recommend this place to my friends we are going back up in September for a wedding and we will stay there

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.2 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Property: Discovery Inn
Address: 1106 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-5715
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing