We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”
Review of Sand Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sand Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Clean room, friendly service, comfortable beds, reasonable price. 15 minutes away from Cannery Row and in a reasonably nice part of town. Also located conveniently next to a Target. We would absolutely stay here again, zero complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
There are newer reviews for Sand Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here while taking a scuba diving trip in Monterey. The hotel really doesn't have much to offer other than just a room, but we found it to be very clean and comfortable. It's definitely a functional hotel that does a good job of serving the purpose of sleeping but that's about it.

The location is really good for diving trips as we are always driving down to the dive site anyway. If you want somewhere within walking distance of Monterey then this is likely to be a little too far out. If you are driving in for the day then the price difference to the Monterey hotels more than makes up for all day parking anyway.

They provide breakfast in the morning, but it really wasn't up to much. I wouldn't recommend it and suggest that you probably want to plan to eat somewhere else in the morning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Hotel location was close to CSUMB, where we needed to go. Stayed there 3days and 2nights, which was perfect. Good service, good price owners are very nice and help you on whatever you need. CLose to a big shopping center, food near by. plenty of parking. Beds are very comfortable, sink is really nice. Has a microwave and fridge which helped us a lot.. Will stay again!

Room Tip: When booking ask which rooms are having construction and get one faraway from it. They start really...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMagana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

good bed, clean, convenient location - to beach, highway, walk to Costco, Panda, grocery, etc. -
good value for money, compact, reasonably quiet, adequate comp. breakfast (cereal, waffel, toast, rolls, beverages all hours, juice, coffee...In room mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV

Room Tip: ask for quiet (remote, upper floor)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The place is very urban and just a block from Costco and other venues. The front staff was nice and greeted us friendly-like. We had an upstairs room with a king sized bed and at $60 total, it was a real bargain. The room was nice, not overly smelly (some places douse rooms in perfumed cleaners). I will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Quite clean and friendly place to overnight. We have easily found rooms on the same day below 100 USD a night. The location and breakfasts could have been better. So probably won't be back here for a purpose but still it looks like a good value/money choice.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

very nice, updated, clean rooms. Had a good night sleep and felt comfortable.
Breakfast included, laundry and ice machine right there.
Easy 10 min drive to cannery row. We payed about $55 and will return next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tubapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#4 of 13 in Seaside
106 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Address: 1011 La Salle Avenue, Seaside, CA 93955
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: £52 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in Seaside minutes from the beach and near all the major attractions Monterey offers. We are only a short drive to the Aquarium, CSUMB, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row and Carmel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sand Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing