We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sand Castle Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needs work”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Late check in was a little rude, but we were late. Room was okay, but the furniture (wood) was worn and the ceiling was missing some of the crown molding. TV was good, A/C was good. Exterior was nice, lots of flowers. The breakfast was very minimal. Overall it was a little expensive for what you got, but for Monterey that was the most we wanted to pay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel2011Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    101
    42
    15
    8
See reviews for
67
96
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

For around $100 per night, this was a convenient location to explore the coastline. Clean, quiet neighborhood right across from Costco. Easy to access freeways and beaches not too far away. We enjoyed watching whales and the beautiful sunsets nearby.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chriskaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to San Francisco. We stayed in the king size room for a great price ($80). The room was very clean amd new with free wifi. The bed was very comfortable. The not so good thing was that the water pressure was very low and it took forever to shower. The fridge was also very loud. It woke up my boyfriend a couple of times. Overall it was a great stay for a great price.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Khin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortsel, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

It's not the Ritz, but Sand Castle Inn offers good beds and clean rooms at a correct fare. And breakfast, a good laundry chine, solid WiFi. Plenty of good and affordable restaurants close by. Next time I stay in the Monterey Area, i'll look no further.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank janvdc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

about $185 (tax included) a night so not exactly a 'budget' motel but this is afterall monterey/seaside. Probably cheaper in the winter and without any events in the area....

decent all around. newer bathrooms, windows, shutters, TV,etc. breakfast choices were a bit light but overall it is up to par for the area.

a little rough around the edges but nice where it counts.

wifi was very slow.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fast4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yosemite National Park, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend in June 2014. We were just looking for a cheap place to sleep and came across this little spot. We got room 211. It's a corner room on the top floor. It was quiet, the room looked to have been updated somewhat recently, and it was clean. I would definitely stay here again, and for the 65 dollar price tag, you really can't beat it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleynicole1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catawba, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Wow! I don't often write reviews, but this place deserves positive mention. For a budget hotel, it is really nice. The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathroom is clean and modern. The room has a fridge and microwave. The front desk attendant was friendly and helpful. Quite surprising at the price. Definitely would recommend staying here, and I wish I could find similar motels for the rest of my trip.

Edit: there is no pool or fitness center, not that I missed them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
3.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Castle Inn

Property: Sand Castle Inn
Address: 1011 Auto Center Pkwy, Seaside, CA 93955-3614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sand Castle Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in Seaside minutes from the beach and near all the major attractions Monterey offers. We are only a short drive to the Aquarium, CSUMB, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row and Carmel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Castle Hotel Seaside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing