We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There must be 2 grades of rooms here. Don't trust the pictures!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“There must be 2 grades of rooms here. Don't trust the pictures!!!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were given a 1st floor room next to the stairs. With in minutes we were treated to thunder like runners up and down the stairs. Rooms are poorly insulated and are like being in a drum. Asked for a different room and was moved 5 doors down. Foot steps on 2nd floor walk way echoed thru this room too.
Quality of room: only clock was on micro wave, lack of spare receptacles, stained carpet, entire wall of shower had peeling paint, rusty frame on bath blinds mini fridge, window frame and wall heater, very low water pressure. Room in dire need of redo and nothing like the pictures on line.
Only plus was a good breakfast bar but in the small area there were no tables to sit at, only a couch and chair.

We will never return

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    32
    26
    19
    16
See reviews for
20
43
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

For the cost the hotel is clean and practical, we has a nights stop over on the way to San Francisco and the hotel did what we wanted, got a goo nights sleep, and a shower, the bathroom was a bit tight, very small and compact, but again did its job, clean towels and bedding, there was a comp breakfast which was nice some fresh fruit, muffins, coffee, tea and juice, my son certainly had some, we didn't really expect anything so happy, free wifi what more do you need for a stop off?

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilies68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikuku beach
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and thought it was excellent value for money. Our room was clean and spacious with good facilities. The complimentary breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereal, toast, fresh fruit and pastries. Staff were polite and friendly, it was a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed on this hotel a few days ago and was impressed by the service, the cleanliness and the price (of course!). The rooms were clean, the towels were like new and I was very well rested after quite a long drive from Sacramento. The breakfast was great and the hospitality of the front office staff was top-notch. This is a jewel amidst the larger and more expensive hotels in the area and I will have no problem recommending this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

The good: The room is clean and the little breakfast was good. The bad: Room needs major updating. (Don't just paint over old fixtures and please fix that major hole in the wall!) Noise levels from other rooms are terrible. Bedspread had burn holes. Overall this place is very worn. I will pay more next time for a better place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank schnzr4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I recently completed a road trip through California, and this was definitely the worst place that we stayed at. The staff weren't rude, but definitely didn't seem to care. The towels in our washrooms had stains which looked like blood, the hallway to our room smelled like urine, and the stairs smelt like vomit.

Apparently from other reviews there are cheaper motels of better quality around the area. Be sure to steer clear from this place.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the smell of urine and bloody towels, stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dev1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haiku
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have travelled all over the world and even stayed in many places in Monterey, but the Econo Lodge Bay Breeze is one of my all time favorites! Upon entering this place, your first encounter will be the wonderful staff, who will instantly make you feel at home. During your stay, Joy and Eden and the housekeepers will make sure to supply you with whatever you need to feel comfortable. The rooms are large, spacious, and nicely decorated (and even include a microwave and refrigerator for your convenience). You are sure to get a good night's sleep in their large extra comfortable beds (and an extra pillow is included). A free continental breakfast is available, including fruit, toast, waffles, cereals, muffins, and believe it or not, noodle soups! This is THE most organized breakfast I have ever encountered. Joy even even makes sure to leave hot coffee available throughout the day. The location is great and many shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Being away from home can be difficult, but Joy and Eden make Econo Lodge feel like your home away from home. Thank you, Joy and Eden, for always making my stay in the Monterey area a most memorable one!!!

Room Tip: I always prefer to stay upstairs, which tend to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.2 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,053 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#6 of 56 in Monterey
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Bay Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Bay Breeze

Property: Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Address: 2049 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Bay Breeze 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Bay Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze Hotel Seaside
Econolodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Seaside
Seaside Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing