We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Old but clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We needed a cheap place to crash overnight before exploring Monterey. This place does that, and no more. Got this for $64 including tax from Hotwire secret hotel deal. The description said it included free parking, free wifi and free breakfast, which seemed attractive for the price (and pretty common for similar chains, as we found out).

It's not that near to the main attractions, but we were driving so it wasn't a big deal. The free parking made up for it. Free wifi was a bit of a stretch - seemed too overwhelmed for us to login the first time. After a few calls to the front desk and a reboot of the router, we managed to log in but it went real slow. Free breakfast was passable - it's Continental. Muffins, toast, cereal, banana, apple, concentrate juice, coffee, tea were served in the reception area and some available throughout the day (until 11 pm or something, which was handy when we needed hot water).

Room was of decent size and had everything that you might need: microwave, fridge, tv, hairdryer, table and 2 chairs. It's clean with some footnotes, like the towels were so old that they're either yellowish or off white, limescales part blocking the stream from the shower head.

Service was good; check in and out process was quick and they responded well to the wifi issue. No smile, but not grumpy either.

I've tried similar motel chains before, and would say that this one is slightly below average for the aging finish. It's time for them to refurbish maybe? But they delivered what they said they would, on the core facilities and services at least.

Next time I'd probably try to explore inns inside Monterey - spotted a few during our visit (looked new and nicer) which could be economical option as well.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HahaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    28
    25
    19
    15
See reviews for
20
41
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We got this hotel through Hotwire.com which is sometimes good, sometimes not so good, but this was what I expected for an economy hotel. It was clean and quiet. If your suite at Pebble Beach was double booked and they stuck you here at the same price, yes I would be really upset, but for what it claims to be, it is fine.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Garnet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night at this motel and would not go back there again. To start off, the front desk service was very bad. The receptionist was not friendly, not courteous, and didn't smile at all. The room was old and dingy. The breakfast was okay but there was no room to sit and eat...so we had to carry our breakfast back to our room to eat. It's definitely not worth the price we paid for it. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelwithDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Southern California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was a nice hotel. We stayed here for a week for the Monterey Car Week. It is run down on the outside but the rooms themselves are nice and clean. It was quiet too. It is convenient to alot of the attractions. The staff was nice. There are a few parking spaces that are covered.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: chose one in the middle since you are away from either street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Buff29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in July using Seaside as a cheaper stop over near to Monterey on our way down the PCH. Like other reviewers have mentioned, this is an economy motel which is a bit worn and run down, but not as bad as we feared after reading some of the reviews! Check in was efficient, the car park large and free and the room a good size. There was a TV, table and chairs and the bonus of a fridge and microwave. The bathroom was clean and spacious with a bath and complimentary toiletries. However, the view from the window of the room was a disused gas station-nice, the carpet was worn, the furniture a bit bashed and base of the bed ripped, but ok for one night. The location was ok and there was no problem with us fetching a takeaway at night to eat in our room. The bed was comfy and the sheets clean and we got an ok nights sleep when the ?salesman? in the next room eventually stopped shouting into his phone which we could hear quite clearly through the paper thin walls!! Breakfast was ok-bagels, cereal, toast, coffee and orange juice which we took back to our room.

Overall, we paid £50 and in return got a basic, no frills, ok one night stay with free parking and breakfast near to Monterey (out of our price range in the summer) which wasn't as bad we thought it would be, but I agree with other reviewers that this is a one night stop over motel and wouldn't be pleasant for longer stays

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grey_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

For a holiday weekend, we were surprised when we pulled up on day 2 of a 3 day weekend and found 3 other cars in the whole parking lot. By nightfall more cars showed but it became clear that our Hotwire/Expedia booking was not a good one. The place is ok for a cheap alternative but for $72 it is not close to the value that we expected. What an expensive dump. We stayed at motels before but this is pretty poor. Old rooms, stained walls, carpet likely dirty (not going to check it), questionable people around, breakfast area tiny, and furnishings old and worn. Even the 2 wall "paintings", one on each adjacent wall, are exactly the same! Sure adds to the cheapness of the place. I should've just paid another $100 and go for better comfort and cleanliness. Will not come back given all the other alternatives.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Denny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drummondville, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and me were doing LA to SF via PCH and we found this hotel to be a perfect stop in our road trip.

This is a motel and econo lodge. So don't pay too much and don't expect a five star. The room was ok with a fridge and a microwave. A nice surprise was the bathroom that was very clean and very large for a motel.

Staff was friendly and showed us what we could do on the evening in Monterey which is at 10 minute by car.

The breakfest offered in the morning is ok. Medium choice and fruits (apple, banana). The only thing strange is that the milk is not in a fridge and the breakfest is from 6 to 10... multiplied by 7 days... Well, nice touch anyway!

Recommended for road trip stop. Not recommended for long term stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean-François N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.2 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Bay Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Bay Breeze

Property: Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Address: 2049 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Bay Breeze 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Bay Breeze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze Hotel Seaside
Econolodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Seaside
Seaside Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing