We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
San Diego, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I stay in hotels and motels about 8 nights a month and I don't usually review the rooms but this is the second time I have stay here and I have to tell you this motel is a real Value.
The Hotel is run by a really nice guy and at check in he could not be more helpful. The rooms have very comfortable beds and the rooms are nice and big.
My room had granite counters with a flat screen TV, Fridge and Micro. Clean and New for around $60 bucks!!! Wow As you can tell I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Its also just minutes from all the good eats, and tourist attractions but I don't have to pay the big bucks.

Room Tip: 122,123,124,125 all new and upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surfsunfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    52
    64
    50
    63
See reviews for
106
68
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

If you plan on going to Monterey on an event weekend made reservations way ahead! Otherwise you will end up in a motel like this. We paid $250 a night for this hotel. Value....probably $75 per night! Basic rooms, old TV's, scratchy old towels with strains,and holes that were still damp when placed in the room. The shower curtain had mold on it. We had to request wash cloths and hand towels the second day plus shampoo ans additional soap. The walls are paper thin. You can hear conversations in the next room. We were on the first floor and would hear every footstep in the room above. During the night people were hanging out in the parking area and in front of our room until late. Someone went thru the parking area at 3am cursing loudly. Good thing we had ear plugs!
The place is very basic and needs updating. If I was paying $75 a night I wouldn't have expected more, but when they increase the the rate by such a large amount I expect more. This is price gouging because of a shortage of rooms during the event. Many hotels do this and it leaves a bad taste in your mouth! Howard Johnson's will not be on our list of places to stay in the future, in Seaside or other locations!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiecyinMotown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seaside hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

Stayed for two nights at Monterey/Seaside. As usual in the summer, things are always going on and rooms can be at a premium. After looking at a lot of other hotels in the area decided to stay at a Howard Johnson. The first time in a number of years. It will be years before I do this again. The rooms were clean but a Howard Johnson is still a Howard Johnson. The motel units are shaped like an "L" with the office closest to the main road. The hotel is on a busy road and there is alot of street noise. Turned on the fan to the heating/ac unit just to try to create some ambient noise but not really helpful. The breakfast room is tiny - holds four small tables with two chairs each. Not much room if anyone is trying to get some cereal or a cup of coffee. The owners cut costs by cutting the danish and muffins in half. Instant coffee out of a machine and milk is out of a gallon jug in a small refrigerator.
So, if you are in a bind you might want to consider this motel but I'd keep looking for something else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stl1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasilla, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My girlfriends and I were on long roadtrip from Washington thru Vegas and back up the California coast celibrating our 50th birthdays. We got in late and had trouble finding a place to stay. This place was clean and comfortable, with a recently remodled two room suite with fireplaces in each room. My elderly mother in law was able to rest right away in her own room while the three of us could wind down without disturbing her. The night manager was friendly and helpful and the price was very nice. It was one of the better hotel experiences we had, including the pricey place we stayed in Vegas. It would have been even better if they had a suite like that available of the ground floor, however we were very happy overall.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We booked a room with two Queen beds for two nights (Sunday & Monday). Was great to get a cheaper rate for Monday night. The room was very clean and everything worked. The choice for the hotel was not only the price, but its close proximity to drive to and from Cal State Monterey Bay. The hotel is right at the entrance and exit of Hwy 1. The free breakfast items were sufficient, except for the fact that no one seems to attend to the breakfast room if anything runs out, and the hotel clerks are rarely in the front office (next to the breakfast room). The clerks tend to stay in their living quarters which is behind the front office, which I found surprising on a weekday morning when guests are either at breakfast or checking out. But you just have to ring for them and they come out right away. The clerks are very friendly and helpful. For our needs on the two days, the stay at the Howard Johnson's was fine.

Room Tip: If all you need is a place to sleep and hang your hat, this hotel has great rates, is very clean &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We booked a three night stay here after checking the recent reviews and found our experience was way different. Not sure if it was because we were using points for two free nights but we got stuck in a beat up room in a back corner that housekeeping seemed to neglect. The microwave had spilled food all over the glass tray, the floors did not look like they had been vacuumed, there was glue or fingernail polish dripped and dried on several services. One night we got one towel in our room and had to go to the front desk for others. I spent the first half hour scrubing the coffee maker and microwave because I was wanting to use them.

The hottub was a cold tub. Had water in it but was not heated so basically useless.

The good points, there was a safe in the room and the beat up looking fridge did work well. The bed was comfurtable. Location was close to all that we had planned to do in the area.

Room Tip: Room tip would be avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeekendTraverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I was in town for some sales calls and needed a clean and quiet place to stay this worked out great. Staff was nice room was clean and the price was great
Monterey is a great place

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funtimetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#2 of 13 in Seaside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
5.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
1.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
Address: 1893 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Seaside Hotel Seaside
Howard Johnson Seaside
Seaside Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing