We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The man at the desk was like I was bothering him when I...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 12 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

The staff at the front desk was kind of rude upon check in. Beds not very comfy. Only hot tub. Breakfast not good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
2  Thank Melinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Obviously you're not paying for a luxurious hotel - however, if you're looking for a cheap and comfortable place to stay (with a good continental breakfast!) then you'll probably be happy here. We took hot showers and slept in an unexpectedly awesome bed. Can't really complain. Only downside is that there are pretty thin walls - we could hear our neighbors chatting for a bit. Overall I'd stay here again if I were in Monterey for a night looking for a cheap hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank June Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location was great! Close to the airport, CalState Monterey Bay, Cannery Row, Aquarium, stores, and Carmel Mission. However, the room we stayed at was not as clean and I expected from a hotel chain. The carpet was wet and dirty, the AC was dusty, and the phone had a thick layer of dust. Breakfast was ok. Can't complain with fresh waffles in the morning. I think some rooms were being renovated during our stay in mid April. This hotel has potential as long as all the rooms have been renovated and kept up.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with new carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
Econo Lodge Bay Breeze
#5 of 13 in Seaside
111 reviews
5.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Marina at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#4 of 13 in Seaside
83 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside

Address: 1893 Fremont Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: £45 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Monterey Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Seaside Hotel Seaside
Howard Johnson Seaside
Seaside Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing