We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Average hotel. Rooms were a fair size. Free, but very slow WiFi. Very, very noisy at night. It was almost impossible to sleep. The hotel was very crowded, and it was almost impossible to get a chair at breakfast. People were sitting outside because there was so little space. Nice location, close to Monterey, and beautiful views of the beach from the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Anna v

First of all I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express at Monterey Bay. We do our best to exceed your expectations when you chose to be our guest. I am sorry to hear that there was no room in the breakfast area, we do over a overflow room near the lobby for additional seating. We do offer some beautiful views not only of the Lagoon, but of the area as well.

I hope the next time you visit Monterey you will stay with us again.

Thank you,
Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel is in a nice location our room was quiet and had a view over the lake. Rooms at the front would probably be noisy due to the proximity of the freeway.
It is an older hotel and our room was quite cramped. The bathroom was tiny and the washbasin was outside the bathroom.
There was no fridge or microwave and no laundry room. The WIFI internet connection was about the speed of “dial-up”.
We would probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the lake. The freeway out front would be very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandrincruzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

wandrincruzers,

I would like to apologize, we do our best to try and exceed your expectations and I am sorry to hear that we failed in doing so. We recently remolded our rooms with the common traveler in mind, I am sorry they were not spacious enough. We do offer fridges upon request and have a microwave located in the lobby which is available to all guest 24 hours a day. We do a high volume of breakfast each morning especially if were sold out the night before. We do offer an overflow room located near the lobby when that happens. I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area, and again thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

Sincerely,
Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Welcome was friendly and helpful and there's plenty of parking. It's not really Monterey - allow for driving into town, not walking.
The room was spacious and clan, though the a/c was slightly asthmatic! I have a personal dislike of rooms facing an external walkway - there's no privacy as people walk past, but others might not be bothered.
Breakfast was a disaster - a tiny room with what seemed like a hundred people trying to eat. Complete chaos - nowhere to sit, everything running out all the time. A classic case of "anything free is worth what you pay for it".
Especially disappointing having come from the HI Express in Santa Barbara, which was great.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear Ashley H

On behave of the staff at the Holiday Inn Express at Monterey Bay I'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. Our rooms are very comfortable, but it seems as though we failed in exceeding your expectations when it came to breakfast. I apologize; the breakfast room can get busy. We offer an overflow seating area next to the front desk to help accommodate our guest during breakfast, when it is busy. I do hope the next time you visit the Monterey area; you will give us another chance to accommodate your lodging needs.

Sincerely,
Stacy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is on the outskirts of Monterey surrounded by roads. We were lucky to get a room at the end of an external corridor so people did not have to walk past our window. The room was clean and well equipped with micro and fridge. Aircon unit was old and very noisy - too noisy to leave on for long. Breakfast was a crazy affair - far too many people for a small self service area.
It is easy to park near the wharf and take the free trolley bus to the cannery.
I would not return to this hotel, preferring to star at the Holiday Inn Express right next o the cannery.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the far end of the corridor at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear nasdeb,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. I am sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations. The property does sit on the boarder of Monterey and Seaside offering easy access to all areas and attractions. Did you by chance contact the front desk in regards to the Air conditioner not working correctly? We love to hear from our guest and appreciate the feedback. I wish I knew what room you were in, which would allow me to follow up on the AC unit and correct the problem. I will share your review with upper management.Our goal is to exceed your expectations I am sorry to hear we failed in doing so.

Sincerely,
Stacy
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The staff was very friendly, the room and facility was very clean. This hotel lies right at the Monterey city limits, was very accessible to Cannery Row. We did not use the pool, but it was always busy. There are not a lot of restaurants IMMEDIATELY around the hotel, but restaurants in Monterey are very accessible. The breakfast had cereal, pastries, yogurt and the hot items changed the two mornings we were there. Would stay again!!

Room Tip: Hit the breakfast bar early! It got more and more busy as the morning went on. Get a room at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMomfromCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear TheMomfromCali,

I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for choosing to stay with us. We are located on the boarder of Monterey and Seaside, but as you mentioned it allows for easy access to the area; Cannery Row and Fisherman's Warf are only a few minutes away. I hope the next time you are in the Monterey area, that you will choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Stacy
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent one night there, because we wanted to visit the aquarium there. But we were dissapointed with the aquarium and the city. Hotel was ok, but in Montreay Bay everything is pricey and even Holiday Inn was not exception to that. The service at the reception was friendly, the room experience was more like in a cheap motel, but at least it was clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ales11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Ales11_11 ,

Thank you for being kind enough to leave a short review of your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy Monterey. It is a beautiful area, and can get pricey. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be friendly.

Thank You,

Stacy
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We love this hotel. We stay here when ever we come to the Monterey area. The staff is always nice and polite. The rooms are clean and roomie enough. The bathrooms are pretty new and updated. From the front of the hotel (on the higher floors) you can see the ocean, a little blocked, but it is there. In the back of the hotel, you have a nice view of a park. Both the cannery row and fisherman's wharf are a very short drive away. lots of beaches to play at. Lover's point is also not a far drive. Everything right at your doorsteps.
The breakfast is also good. Always a lot of food, and very clean.
Again love this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leahtots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear leahtots,

Thank you so much for leaving such a pleasant review and for allowing us to accommodate your lodging needs. I am happy to hear that you’re a repeat guest and stay with us when you visit the Monterey area. Thank you for noticing out bathroom renovations, we also added new carpet and replaced the beds recently. As you mentioned we are just a short drive from Cannery Row and all major area attractions. The Start Smart breakfast is yummy in the morning and offers exactly what is needed to start your day off great, I am glad you enjoy it. I will let the staff know what a great job they are doing, thanks you again for choosing to stay with us while you’re in the area. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Stacy
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
258 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay

Address: 1400 Del Monte Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: £74 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay (Del Monte Beach Area), CA. We are conveniently located off Hwy 1, just 2 blocks from the beach where you can enjoy a leisurely walk along Monterey's gorgeous coastline. We are at the gateway to the area's most popular attractions only 2 miles north of Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf, 3 miles north of Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, and minutes from world-class golf at Pebble Beach. Mazda Laguna Seca Raceway is just a short 4 miles from our front door. The quaint seaside town of Carmel-by-the-Sea is a must see, and just 7 miles south via Hwy 1. After a day of exploring the Monterey Peninsula, return to our friendly hotel and relax. We offer 143, 100% non-smoking comfortable newly designed guestrooms and an outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. You may also enjoy an invigorating work out in our on-site fitness center. Join us each morning for our Complimentary Express Start HOT Breakfast Bar featuring scrambled eggs or cheese omelettes, bacon, sausage, or sausauge gravy and biscuits with our hot cinnamon rolls and over 20 other items. / Check your email or go online on your laptop with our free wireless internet access. We are Committed to Extraordinary Service Assuring Satisfaction & a good night rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay Hotel Seaside
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside
Holiday Inn Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing