We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granny 109”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 22 January 2014

This hotel is vary old and the rooms were vary small. I have not seen venetian blinds on windows for many years, but they are on the windows.
The staff was vary friendly at check in and was doing every thing to help us.
We didn't eat at the hotel as we went down to the pier for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granny109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Granny109,

Thank you very much for your feedback! I am glad to hear that the staff was very friendly! I am sorry you thought the rooms were small! We do have differnt bed types if the two beds are too small! I hope the next time you are in town you visit us again!! We truly do appreciate your business!
Thank you,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

Overnight stop whilst travelling from San Francisco to LA, good chili' s restaurant behind, was away early next morning so didn't explore surrounding areas but good for a stop off. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear tedsmummy,

Thank you for staying with us! I am glad to hear you would stay with us again! We do have a brand new chillis behind us and a beautiful lake with a running path behind us as well. Next time you are in town i hope you get to take advantage of that as well! Also we are two blocks from the beach! Thanks again for your business and review of our hotel!!

Sincerley,
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed a couple nights here when visiting monterey. decent room, service was good even though they were busy. When i left, i had left a camera battery charger and battery in the room. Called up a few days later and had them look for it. Figured it was probably long gone. But it did have my name on it. Couple days later I got a call from housekeeping manager and it was being shipped fedex to my home. Very pleased with their follow through and courtesy.I recommend this hotel. Very close to monterey and a lot less cost than other hotels in monterey.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwalb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Mwalk1,

Thank you for your review! I am glad we were able to find your battery charger and return it to you! I will relay your kind words to the staff as they do appreiate the posative feedback! If you are in town again, I hope you choose us as the hotel you stay with!

Sincerely,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Hotel staff was courteous and helpful providing recommendations of local eateries and activities. Rooms were updated but on the small side for 4 adults, yet for the weekend it was adequate. Balcony rooms are a bit noisy, especially ones facing the parking lot. You will hear other guests walking by and the car door lock alarms. Nice surprise was to feel the heated tile beneath my feet in bathroom/wash room area. Location was off the main activity zone yet within 10 min of Old Fishermans Wharf and about 15 to the aquarium. Within walking distance there was a Chili's and Starbucks. Our room was facing the lagoon and offered a nice view and trails to walk, run or bike around. Amenities vs cost deemed the hotel a reasonable family weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAP7679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Rap7679,

Thank you for submitting a review on Trip Advisor! We here at the Holiday Inn Express Monterey Bay value all the feedback that we can get and when it is good feedback it really means alot! I will share your review with the staff at our next staff meeting! We are glad that your stay was a good one especially that you enjoyed the view and how close we are to Chillis and Starbucks! I hope you were able to enjoy the beach and downtown as well! Thanks again for staying with us and hope the next time you are in town you stay here agian!

Thank you,
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night. Has the feeling of a motel but on 5 or so floors where you walk along an open air corridor to enter your room.

Strange numbering system with rooms in odds and evens but once that was over, our room was easy enough to find.

Room itself was ok, not massive but not small either. Location was good, as in a short drive to anywhere. Service was very good. Great value for money.

For the value, I would say this a good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AymanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear AymanN,

Thank you for staying with us! Yes we are very close to all attractions here in monterey! I am glad to here that you reviced good serive and that the value for your money was great! Next time you are in town I hope you stay with us again!

Warm Regards,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I stopped off for a night on a road trip along the California coast line.
The property is located 10 minutes from prime attractions in Monterey. The rooms are smaller but adequate. My room was clean and quiet. Breakfast in the morning was the standard HIE offering.

The front desk staff are amazing. We went to the counter and asked for attraction information and restaurant recommendations. The agent (Lynell) gave us detailed information on attractions to include pricing and hours. She helped us maximize our very short stay in the area.

I would stay at this property again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32ozicedlatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear 32ozicedlatte,

That is so great to hear "Extememly helpful staff" this is what our mission is here at the Holiday Inn Express -Monterey Bay. I have posted your review in our back office for the staff/front desk staff to see! They will really appreicate it! Thank you very much for your compliments!
We look forward to you staying with us again soon!!

Sincerely,
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel room was fine but the breakfast was horrible. The worst we've had on any of our trips. The bacon was particularly disgusting. No selection. Plus they do not have a separate bin for recycling. Everyone's cups, plates and utensils all went into the garbage. Not good.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back. Room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BurgessMeredith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear BurgessMeredith,

Thank you for your comments about your visit. It is nice to know that you found the room you were given to have met your expectations. However, I am truly sorry that the breakfast served did not meet your liking. We will forward your comments to the appropriate departments to consider for improvements needed in what we can offer.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
1.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay

Address: 1400 Del Monte Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: £74 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay (Del Monte Beach Area), CA. We are conveniently located off Hwy 1, just 2 blocks from the beach where you can enjoy a leisurely walk along Monterey's gorgeous coastline. We are at the gateway to the area's most popular attractions only 2 miles north of Monterey's Fisherman's Wharf, 3 miles north of Cannery Row, the world-famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, and minutes from world-class golf at Pebble Beach. Mazda Laguna Seca Raceway is just a short 4 miles from our front door. The quaint seaside town of Carmel-by-the-Sea is a must see, and just 7 miles south via Hwy 1. After a day of exploring the Monterey Peninsula, return to our friendly hotel and relax. We offer 143, 100% non-smoking comfortable newly designed guestrooms and an outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi. You may also enjoy an invigorating work out in our on-site fitness center. Join us each morning for our Complimentary Express Start HOT Breakfast Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay Hotel Seaside
Holiday Inn Seaside
Holiday Inn Express Seaside
Holiday Inn Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing