We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$219
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$78
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sand Castle Inn(Seaside)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Inn(Seaside)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
79
186
195
73
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
186
195
73
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe breakfast areamonterey areafree breakfastyogurtconvenient locationtop flooreasy accessbeds were comfortableminute drivethe room was niceroad tripfisherman's wharfpebble beachocean viewfreewayaquarium
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the back of the hotel and had a lovely view down the lake. Had a nice walk around it before going to the pier for tea. The breakfast was good with plenty of chose. The pancake maker made two large pancakes when one is enough. Reception staff helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay! And thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review about that stay! We are glad you enjoyed the package machine, it has become a big hit! We all here hope the next time you are in town that you choose us again and get to enjoy the lovely views of the lake or ocean!!!

Sincerely,
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Express very much! We were driving down to California and after a few stays in so-so hotels, I finally found this to be one of the best hotels we stayed at. Room was quiet, facing a nice little lake. Bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. Microwave, fridge and coffee maker were in the room, which were handy. Breakfast was included and it was delicious, with lots of options to choose from. The hotel is located close to the freeway but you'll need to drive 10 min. to Monterey to find more restaurant/bar options. Staff was very professional and welcoming, kudos to them! Value was good and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! Everyone here at the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey bay is happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and everything went smooth for you! I read to the staff your review just now to smiles and thumbs up! We all hope to see you again in the near future!

Thank you for your business!!
Jonathan
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were on our way down to Hearst Castle but we stayed overnight in Monterey instead. Everywhere else is booked and luckily we took the last room. It came to our surprise that it was a very clean and comfortable stay. They had a deluxe continental breakfast which included hot pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits, and gravy. The only complain I had was that in the breakfast room, since the hotel was fully booked- the food was annoyingly going out fast and when it came to re-filling, it took a little longer than it should. Overall, good night rest, clean rooms, friendly staff, and okay breakfast.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank WhereIsHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and it seem your trip to the Monterey Area! I am sorry that the re-fill took longer then it should but I am glad that overall you enjoyed the breakfast.. They pancake machine is a big hit! We all hope the next time you are in our area that you choose again the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay!

Thank you for your business!

Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were two couples so we booked two rooms and they were lovely. Very clean and breakfast was very good as well. It was good value and we booked through the hotel directly. People who used other suppliers did not get the rooms they thought they booked and that is a problem for the hotel staff who do not set the prices! We liked it so well we booked an extra night. Staff gave us excellent advice for places to eat. We had a great view of the ocean and were on the fifth floor. We loved eating at "The Fish House" which is a good walk and were very close to many chain restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean side room. Go early for breakfast!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryV2X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review of our hotel! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the ocean views! I will let the staff know to keep recommending the Fish House! I have not been there myself but I keep hearing great things! Thank you for choosing our hotel and we all hope you choose the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay the next time you are in the area. I will read to the staff your review in our next meeting!!

Sincerely,
Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel is a good place to be, if you don't want to be in a big city. Within a few minutes you easily reach Monterey.
The rooms are nicely equipped, the staff is very friendly and there is a large breakfast buffet with lots of fresh fruits.
There is also a shopping complex nearby.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator and therefore you sometimes have to wait for quite a while if you have a room in an upper level.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mizzi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevin448899, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express At Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel! We really appreciate it We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay and breakfast and our location was good for you! The next time you are in town we hope you choose us again!

Thank you again,

Jon and the entire staff here at the Holiday Inn Express - Monterey Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews