We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Rooms are neat and clean. The complimentary breakfast was above average and exceeded our expectations. Didn't get a chance to use the pool or fitness facility, but walked through and they both looked very nice and well kept. Hotel staff was very helpful and welcoming. Would definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,832)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

A nice size suite with a wonderful view of the water. The decor was a bit tired. Breakfast was a bit like feeding time at the zoo, but there was a reasonable selection of items to suit most tastes. A good location with easy walking access to the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked a double bed room for 3 nights and were given a confirmation email and reference number. To be sure, we emailed and called twice prior to our trip to confirm our booking and we were assured that they have reserved it accordingly. Surprisingly, when we arrived, the counter staff told us that they have given us a room with 1 King size bed and 1 pull out bed instead. And we were told that they are overbooked and if we are unhappy with their arrangement, we should look for other accommodation. We were appalled with their irresponsible reply. We then have to make do with a King size bed and pull out bed on the first night, with them promising that we will have double bed room on the 2nd day. On the 2nd day morning, the staff plainly told us that in their system, it is recorded that we booked room with a King’s size bed. They have deleted our initial booking and have no tracking of their prior agreement of the change of room. We then have to show our printout as proof and then sacrificed another half of day to explain the problem, before getting a room which with double bed. It was a bad experience. Poor coordination, poor service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnjoyTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was O.K. Everything was tired looking. The indoor pool was cold. The free breakfast was uninspired and had very little taste. The staff was friendly. Free drinks in the evening and snacks were nice

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at this Embassy Suite and loved most everything about it, except charging for room internet access (I refuse). I believe it is free in the lobby, but not in your room. Other than that, our stay was great.

Our suite was very clean, comfortable and spacious with a separate bedroom, living room, bathroom and kitchen area. We enjoyed their free happy hour (drinks and snacks) each evening from 5:30 to 7:30. One night we ate at the hotel restaurant and both were pleased with our selections. The breakfast buffet in the morning was quite good and they did actually have some low sugar, low fat/carb selections.

The location is excellent; close to the Wharf and beach. I would not hesitate to recommend this to other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearsfan51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed here 4 nights during an event weekend. We paid top dollar (reservations made 5 months in advance, so this was no last minute rate hike) and unfortunately that gets reflected in the way I do my ratings. Based on the price we paid, we had an average and acceptable stay. Had the rate been more reasonable, the rating would have been higher.

We used Hilton points to upgrade our paid room and had a room facing the ocean with a balcony. The room was clean, lots of room for the gear we brought with us, and we had a good nights sleep. I also appreciated having a small fridge in the room - very helpful.

The managers reception was adequate, but I been to ones much nicer. However, it was free so I'm complaining. All 4 nights there was popcorn, chips and salsa, potato chips with dip and a cracker/nut snack mix. Can't comment on the cocktail options as I don't drink, but soda was also available.

The first night (mid week) we were there, one of the elevators was out of service (which appears to be very common based on other reviews) and I thought to myself this was going to get very old, very quickly. I knew the hotel was booked for the weekend. Thankfully by the time Friday came around the elevator was in service. Our room was also in the back of the hotel and that one elevator in the back does not seem to get as much traffic as the ones in the front. So all in all, elevator service was not an issue.

Like others have mentioned, paying to park in area like this did not earn this hotel any extra marks. In the middle of a city I expect to pay for parking. In downtown Monterey I understand parking is at a premium. But not here in Seaside. And I doubt very much they get many visitors who fly in and don't have a car. So why not just include it in the rate and stop making your customers frustrated?

Would I stay here again? Depends on the rate. During a non busy time when the rate was appropriate for the value received- I would definitely book again. When they are squeezing every dollar they can get out of customers, I'll look elsewhere first.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

When you first walk in you feel welcome. Was with a large group & I stayed 5 nights. The front desk was helpful & made check in quick. I found my room to be very clean, with a nice comfortable bed. The room was made up early each day. The made to order breakfast with very good hotel coffee, was a nice way to start the day. The evening reception lite snacks & drinks was a nice way to meet up with friends and catch up on the day, before going to dinner.
Thanks to the staff for helping to make it a fun week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor facing south they have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JALFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: £128 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing