We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all Embassy Suites are created equal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The good: Staff was very nice and friendly, Food was average, nothing to complain about or to rave about.
The bad:
#1 Now comes the room - we asked for non-smoking. Walked in and got hit in the face by the smell. (Large cigarette burn hole in the couch arm). Asked the front desk about the non-smoking room and they said that it WAS non-smoking. They didn't do anything about the smell or offer to move us.
#2 The shower curtain rod was broken so the curtain wouldn't close properly and water would get on the floor.
#3 Here is the best of all - ever time the shower was used, after about three minutes the water would completely shut off! It would stay that way for a couple of minutes. It would eventually start again after a few minutes. This continued to happen again and again. I met a guy in the elevator and asked him if the same thing happened to him - he said it did the same thing in his room. Even cheap hotels don't have this happen - not what I expected from this chain.
#4 They advertise WiFi but don't tell you it will cost you $10 per day. Most places give it to their guests for free!!
We have stayed in Embassy Suites in DC and Tahoe and had great experiences. Not this place. We left for home a day early and we will never go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59,876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,628 - 1,634 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

We just returned from a 10 day, 9person, 8 hotel tour of California. We were two families (4 people & 5 people) traveling together with 7-14 yr old kids. We hoped to stay in Monteray, but found this as an alternative hotel. Big rooms, two double bed and a pull out worked great for each family. The rooms seemed clean. (We did a thorough bed bug inspection before we would bring out suitcases in--we checked each matttress,headboard and box spring carefully. They passed --no bugs, no bites)
The breakfast was great. There was a terrific breakfast hostess that was like a ray of sunshine welcoming everyone with a giant smile and a snicere 'Thanks for joining us for breakfast'. she was one of those employees that makes a difference in your day and your stay. Hard to describe here how bright and cheerful she was to everyone, but it made a huge impact on our breakfast that day. I asked her what she ate for breakfast to be so sunny and happy. Another reminder that attitude is everything!
The colors throughout the hotel were coral and aqua and it looked like it was ready for an update. The surrounding area was ok, not great. Internet was incredibly slow, almost unusable- the only hotel where we encountered this problem. Plenty of free parking. Windows actually opened for fresh air. A good value overall.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunchaser252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside is probably one of the nicer hotels around Monterey and Carmel. Most hotels in Carmel and Monterey are pretty old and a lot of them have no AC. I dont think you need one but its nice to have one. Its a 10 to 15 minute drive to Monterey and Carmel. There is a costco,Target, Ross, and a bunch of fastfood places on the next exit if you are driving toward Monterey one scenic 1.
Rooms are nice and furnitures are updated. Its not a Marrriot or Hyatt style but its clean and updated. It has LCD Tv's in every room. Its 12 stories high and its scary on the top. Its kind of open(with a railing and plants). I asked to be transfered to the third floor and the front desk gave us another room right away. Hotel has a starbucks,big gym,indoor and heated pool and plenty of parking. They charge $10.00 per day for wifi.
Price is kind of high for an Embassy Suites but we paid the same price for a 1 bedroom suite with NO AC in Carmel last year and this is way better that than that. In general hotel is great and recommendable

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTMNinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Located just outside Monterey in Seaside, the Monterey Embassy Suites is situated in a quite dull area with not much really around it.

Check in was quick and easy and we were sent to room 801. There are 12 floors in the hotel and it is quite a sight when you come in and look all the way up! Our party was of four and our room had two rooms, one with two double beds, TV and Bathroom. The other with a sofa and another TV. Beds are comfortable.

The ground floor is large with mainly eating tables for breakfast. there are also fish in a kind of small river thing which is nice is well! Adding to this there is a Pacifica Cafe where we had dinner one night which has very good quality food and service.

Breakfast was a bit confusing at first to where we sit but you just sit anywhere we found out! there is a all you can eat buffet with a large selection and choice of food from healthy to full fry up stuff!

we managed to have time to take a dip into the indoor swimming pool. Its not exactly warm-quite cold infact! there is also a jacuzzi which was a relief!

overall this hotel was lovely and couldnt find anything wrong with it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grecian97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Unfortunately only had one night in Monterey. Loved it. Hotel was very accomodating. Service solid, room condition was good. yes, it is aging, aren't we all. however it seems to be aging well. I would not hesitate to stay again. Breakfast was very good. They allowed us to check in early and check out late so we could go whale watching. Location was good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The staff was very friendly and helped with any request. My complaints were not with that. I was disappointed in the general upkeep (and lack thereof) of the hotel. Stains on the carpet, cigarette hole in the curtain, nicks in all the furniture at ground level, shower faucet loose and hard to control and a refrigerator that was not cold because it needed to be defrosted. In addition, a hotel that was charging over $200/night added on a $10 per day charge for the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlk703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

The Monterey Embassy Suites did the trick for us - we arrived late afternoon after a full day of traveling from the East Coast, so we were pooped and ready for an easy night. Check in was fine ( a bit slow, but not really difficult - although i had to go back for another set of keys to get into our 2nd room as the new person at the counter didn't realize we couldn't access our extra room without keys). Room was nice - a corner suite with a separate king bedroom and since we were traveling with teenage boys, we booked an adjoining room with 2 double beds. Perfect space for us and the balcony and view were great. Beds were comfortable and having 2 bathrooms was nice. Kitchenette was great - ice and refrige for wine and drinks was great. Breakfast the next morning was fine - we were still on east coast time, and since we've learned that breakfast is a madhouse as the morning wears on (from previous embassy suites stays in Washington dc. etc. ), we were up early and went down right away (7am). I brought back muffins and coffee, my husband and boys stayed and ate downstairs. Food was fresh, and the staff was very helpful. But i can totally relate to the other reviews as it gets later. Now for the downside. The Shower was TERRIBLE. Half way thru shampooing the water totally STOPPED. Not slowed down, but stopped. For a good minute or two. Leaving me to try and decide - is this something that will correct itself, or should i think about getting out and going to plan B and rinsing in the tiny sink??? OK so the water comes back on, i rinse, and being brave put in conditioner. And you guessed it. The water stops AGAIN. Not as long, but still. Totally unnerving. Finally rinsed clean, just in time for everyone to return from breakfast. We skedaddled shortly afterwards, ready to head south on our big sur adventure. I filled out the survey form they left, but frankly have never heard back (surprised, even though i'm a hilton high honors member - you'd think they'd at least acknowledge my complaint). And now i find i'm not the only one who has had a water problem. Definitely should be something they work on. Glad our stay was quick. Oh and $10 for internet service. Totally not cool - i feel like they nickled and dimed me and i was the fool.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthanne17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express @ Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Sand Castle Inn
Sand Castle Inn
#1 of 13 in Seaside
259 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside

Address: 1441 Canyon Del Rey Blvd, Seaside, CA 93955-4729
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Seaside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Seaside
Price Range: £124 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenically located just two blocks from the beachfront in stunning Seaside, California, this Embassy Suites Monterey Bay – Seaside hotel offers spectacular bay views as well as fine accommodation options. Choose from an array of attractions on the doorstop of this stunning hotel; from hiking and butterfly watching to kayaking or surfing, you need never have a dull moment when you join us in Monterey Bay. Guests of this Monterey Bay - Seaside hotel choose from 225 stylish hotel suites, each offering a range of modern amenities such as high-speed wireless internet access, two remote control televisions and a wet bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Seaside
Seaside Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing