We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Monterey Bay - Seaside
Nearby Hotels
Sand Castle Inn(Seaside)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$74
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Inn(Seaside)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,902)
Filter reviews
1,902 results
Traveller rating
622
589
357
200
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
589
357
200
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevening receptionfree happy hourindoor poolmade to order breakfastcocktail hourmonterey bayfree breakfastsofa bedocean viewshort drivecannery rowcorner roomwe've stayedfisherman's wharfbig suryogurtkenya
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,687 - 1,692 of 1,902 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is fine, needs updating as other reviewers have commented. Breakfast was good, again, the waitress was especially pleasant & helpful. When we arrived at our room we noticed the strong smell of stale cigarette smoke; as non-smokers not very pleasant! Apparently the 6th floor was the smokers floor- we were never asked the question whether we smoked or not! Also, the maid didn't get a tip! When we arrived back one afternoon we found our room door open! When reported to front desk they weren't too concerned, just said wasn't the norm and they apologised. Freaked us out a little though; especially when we saw the maid on her rounds chatting on her mobile phone!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

The good: Staff was very nice and friendly, Food was average, nothing to complain about or to rave about.
The bad:
#1 Now comes the room - we asked for non-smoking. Walked in and got hit in the face by the smell. (Large cigarette burn hole in the couch arm). Asked the front desk about the non-smoking room and they said that it WAS non-smoking. They didn't do anything about the smell or offer to move us.
#2 The shower curtain rod was broken so the curtain wouldn't close properly and water would get on the floor.
#3 Here is the best of all - ever time the shower was used, after about three minutes the water would completely shut off! It would stay that way for a couple of minutes. It would eventually start again after a few minutes. This continued to happen again and again. I met a guy in the elevator and asked him if the same thing happened to him - he said it did the same thing in his room. Even cheap hotels don't have this happen - not what I expected from this chain.
#4 They advertise WiFi but don't tell you it will cost you $10 per day. Most places give it to their guests for free!!
We have stayed in Embassy Suites in DC and Tahoe and had great experiences. Not this place. We left for home a day early and we will never go back!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59,876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We just returned from a 10 day, 9person, 8 hotel tour of California. We were two families (4 people & 5 people) traveling together with 7-14 yr old kids. We hoped to stay in Monteray, but found this as an alternative hotel. Big rooms, two double bed and a pull out worked great for each family. The rooms seemed clean. (We did a thorough bed bug inspection before we would bring out suitcases in--we checked each matttress,headboard and box spring carefully. They passed --no bugs, no bites)
The breakfast was great. There was a terrific breakfast hostess that was like a ray of sunshine welcoming everyone with a giant smile and a snicere 'Thanks for joining us for breakfast'. she was one of those employees that makes a difference in your day and your stay. Hard to describe here how bright and cheerful she was to everyone, but it made a huge impact on our breakfast that day. I asked her what she ate for breakfast to be so sunny and happy. Another reminder that attitude is everything!
The colors throughout the hotel were coral and aqua and it looked like it was ready for an update. The surrounding area was ok, not great. Internet was incredibly slow, almost unusable- the only hotel where we encountered this problem. Plenty of free parking. Windows actually opened for fresh air. A good value overall.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunchaser252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Embassy Suites Hotel Monterey Bay-Seaside is probably one of the nicer hotels around Monterey and Carmel. Most hotels in Carmel and Monterey are pretty old and a lot of them have no AC. I dont think you need one but its nice to have one. Its a 10 to 15 minute drive to Monterey and Carmel. There is a costco,Target, Ross, and a bunch of fastfood places on the next exit if you are driving toward Monterey one scenic 1.
Rooms are nice and furnitures are updated. Its not a Marrriot or Hyatt style but its clean and updated. It has LCD Tv's in every room. Its 12 stories high and its scary on the top. Its kind of open(with a railing and plants). I asked to be transfered to the third floor and the front desk gave us another room right away. Hotel has a starbucks,big gym,indoor and heated pool and plenty of parking. They charge $10.00 per day for wifi.
Price is kind of high for an Embassy Suites but we paid the same price for a 1 bedroom suite with NO AC in Carmel last year and this is way better that than that. In general hotel is great and recommendable

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NTMNinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Located just outside Monterey in Seaside, the Monterey Embassy Suites is situated in a quite dull area with not much really around it.

Check in was quick and easy and we were sent to room 801. There are 12 floors in the hotel and it is quite a sight when you come in and look all the way up! Our party was of four and our room had two rooms, one with two double beds, TV and Bathroom. The other with a sofa and another TV. Beds are comfortable.

The ground floor is large with mainly eating tables for breakfast. there are also fish in a kind of small river thing which is nice is well! Adding to this there is a Pacifica Cafe where we had dinner one night which has very good quality food and service.

Breakfast was a bit confusing at first to where we sit but you just sit anywhere we found out! there is a all you can eat buffet with a large selection and choice of food from healthy to full fry up stuff!

we managed to have time to take a dip into the indoor swimming pool. Its not exactly warm-quite cold infact! there is also a jacuzzi which was a relief!

overall this hotel was lovely and couldnt find anything wrong with it!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grecian97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews