We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Harbor Resort and Marina
Nearby Hotels
Shasta Dam Motel(Shasta Lake)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Redding(Redding)(Great Value!)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites(Redding)(Great Value!)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Redding CA(Redding)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
9
6
8
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
6
8
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We've been making an annual trek from San Diego area to Lake Shasta for over 22 years now and the last 10 have been through Holiday Harbor exclusively. If you want all the bells and whistles of a new boat, go to Jones Valley and pay two to three times more. We typically get up really early for skiing, back for breakfast then we're off the houseboat by 10 AM and return late in the day around 5 to 6. A little swimming, dinner, some games and we're done. Doesn't make sense for us to spend a lot of money on the houseboat since we're usually gone exploring.

Holiday Harbor's checkout process is very simple. Their mid-week services are fast and the staff has always been very professional. The docks are in great shape, their gas prices are good and they have a well stocked marina store with a shuttle when water levels get low.

Love this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Called the front desk, the lady knew absolutely nothing about anything that had to do with anything about her job. Her: "I dunno, uuuhhh I dunno, derrrr uuhhhh I dunno..." Me: "Ok, bye!"

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We made reservations to stay in the RV park here for two nights. Unfortunately, we had to cancel at the last minute. I thought they might keep the first night's rental, but they kept the money for both nights! They will only issue a refund if they can re-rent your spot for the full time that you reserved. They admitted that would be unlikely. So, this may be a nice park. I will never know.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank JGHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We visited the campground at Holiday Harbor for 3 years straigt from 2006 - 2008 and loved every visit. It is true the reservoir level drops substantially from the beginning of the season to the end of the season - it is, after all, a reservoir. We stayed in spaces 4, 6, & 7. One year we thought we would like to back up to the water and chose space #23, but we ended up moving back over to space 7 after trying to squeeze in a 29' trailer with slide - not a good fit. The campground has since changed their policy and no longer allows slide-outs in spaces 23-25, which is a good thing.

The park is full hook-ups, some shade if you pick the right space, and requires a reservation months in advance if you want a shaded spot. Shade is good because it gets very hot in the peak summer months at Shasta. There is a great swimming hole you can access between spaces 14 & 15. Space 14 is an excellent spot for shade and roominess, but you have to contend with the foot traffic accessing the lake path. Once you get to the swim spot, there is a floating dock you can swim out to and sun on or use as your diving board. Although the water level is low and requires you to take quite the hike to reach it by the end of summer, it is also much warmer than early on in the season. So it's a trade-off. You either get a full reservoir with really cold water or a warm reservoir with really low water. I'll take this place either way!

You can use the dock out to the boat slips for a little fishing spot in the evenings - nice.

We rented a patio boat for a couple days and took day cruises to enjoy more of the lake. You can also get to the Shasta Caverns very quickly (it's on the same road as Holiday Harbor). And if you want to take a short jaunt north, you can visit Macarthur Burney Falls (spectacular!) or the upper, middle, & lower McCloud Falls. You may also want to head to Redding and visit Turtle Bay Museum, the sun dial bridge, and the arbortorium. Or you can always take a quick trip to the south end of the reservoir and tour the amazing Shasta Damn - that is a great tour.

Bottom line - Holiday Harbor campground is an excellent home base for those of you interested in sight-seeing the area while being close to water and maybe using the toys available at Holiday Harbor to have a little fun on the water (campers get 15% off the 'toy box').

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Gabrielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

We have been renting or staying at Holiday Harbor for approximately 6 years now and keep returning...while it is true they may have the newest or best looking houseboats, just check out the prices at the other marinas or companies. We have always had excellent service, no surprises and if help was needed they were right there....Give them a chance and you may be plesantly surprised.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickster_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews