We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Quieter”
Review of Shell Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shell Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 November 2012

A really quiet and modest place in a great town in Central California. Walking to everywhere and super nice innkeepers who are so helpful in making sure you don't go without or miss anything. Clean rooms with irons and refridgerators, coffee and hot water that doesnt run out or change temps on you! Pool too.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2012

Let start, You get to hear the freeway all night. No towels in the bath room.Pool was not heated like they say it was. Paint was comming off of the tub and shower, and all the furniture in the room. 100.00 a night, what a joke,we got takin !!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed P, Manager at Shell Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

I'm surprised you didn't enjoy your stay here. We do heat the pool in season, but not in the winter months. We do have towels in all rooms, but if you needed extras, we would have gladly given. The distressed paint effect on the furniture was intended to give the room a "beachy" feel. I'm sorry you weren't feeling beachy and relaxed as most other guests do when here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed 7 nights here and it was marvellous. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent. Just a short walk to the beach and only a few yards from a good choice of eating places and stores. We would definitely stay there again. The town itself is a perfect base to discover the delights of California.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troll001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Great place to spend the night on our way to LA. Clean, affordable, friendly, helpful owners. Short walk to the beach, short drive to Pismo for dinner. A little noisy, & the bathroom door was old & funky (like us). We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

we only stayed here for one night, but the next day we both decided that pismo, you're so yesterday. we are now staying here for future stays when in the area. the night before we stayed at a motel in pismo that was, at best, horrifying. to make up for the scary room(seriously i slept on my beach blanket - i refused to touch the bed as much as i could) my fiance found this room by recommendation of a friend.

the owners are a really nice couple who maintain the motel (they really do look like little adorable beach cottages) nicely. we got a king bed for under $90 - with the location that's a steal people! there is a heated pool & at the end of the street there's a stairway leading down to the beach (tide pools & awesomeness). it's not a place where you'll have to fight crowds, so that 's a huge plus. the room doors are locked with a key not a card key which i thought was a nice retro touch (even the keychain are those plastic vintagey motel ones). the rooms themselves are so nice - the carpeting actually felt plush, CLEAN & nice on my feet. they're decorated with a beachy shabby chic feel to them & you can tell there's a lot of love & thought that went into the room. i felt like i was in a guest room, actually. the shampoo/conditioner is bath & body works (details, details). as for the traffic noise, i heard nothing - i slept like a baby but then again, i was boozing it up with the buddies ;) oooh! the beds are super comfortable! no joke. honestly, i dont know how one could give this place less than 5 stars. i didnt think it was outdated at all!

also, a sidenote. do walk next door to shell liquor & deli - you wont be sorry. the deli is delish!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordita_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Me and a friend took a trip on our Harleys from Texas to the West Coast in June 2012. I found this little jewel using an app on my IPhone called "Where To?". Its a very very nice clean place. A few blocks from the ocean, and several eatin joints within a few blocks. The owners/managers are a very friendly couple. They made us feel like we were renting from friends. I hope to take another tour to the west coast soon, and I will definitely stay here again. Price is very reasonable. I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slade001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Our family has stayed in the Pismo Beach/Shell Beach area before but we made reservations so last minute that we had to find another place. Tripadvisor was again our go-to place. We loved our multiple days at the Shell Beach Inn! Usually mom and pop motels like this one don't bother with pools because they're expensive and can be more hassle than they're worth. We were so excited that this motel had a great pool. The kids loved the pool! It was clean and refreshing. California beaches are cold water so not much swimming can be done. This pool fit our vacation perfectly. Rooms were great. Larger rooms are closer to the office. Smaller ones are along the back. Part of our family had a room behind the pool but it was not noisy at all. This is just a great little conveniently located gem in Shell Beach. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DellaDidDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shell Beach
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#1 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,472 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
856 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#5 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,034 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Beach Inn

Address: 653 Shell Beach Rd, Shell Beach, CA 93449-2050
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Shell Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Price Range: £79 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shell Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All ten guest rooms at the Shell Beach Inn are individually decorated with touches from the California coast and make this quaint little getaway a cozy stopover for the weary traveler or a comfortable home base for sightseeing vacationers. The Shell Beach Inn features an outdoor seasonally heated swimming pool and free parking. And...yes we are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shell Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Beach Hotel Shell Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing