We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, great management, comfortable room”
Review of Shell Beach Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shell Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shell Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Shell Beach Inn is located 5 minutes from the gorgeous Central Coast shoreline. It's a beautiful location for sightseeing the area. The room was "old school," but in a good way. Everything was clean. Bed was comfortable. Water pressure in the shower was great. Nice that they have a microwave and small fridge in the room (along with a coffee pot, of course).
The host was very friendly and gave some great tips on local businesses.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderfoolish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Shell Beach Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

Cute little 50's retro place, 10 rooms I think, a few minutes walk to the ocean down a neighborhood street. Room with one queen bed was on the small side but had everything we needed including mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer, iron and old-school tv. Bed had an old-fashioned bedspread that most places today have done away with because they're hard to keep cleaning. We do prefer just the blanket and coverlets so popular today. Newer windows are too thin for the high-traffic area as motel is not far from the freeway, bring earplugs. Shower only, at least in our room, no tub....in fact shower and tight-squeeze toilet area in this particular room would be iffy for a heavy person.. DH weighs about 190 and it was just right. Wifi worked okay, no continental breakfast but there are a couple of places within a nice walk.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HaroldnMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

To begin with, this hotel is small, clean, very pleasant, with a great location! I liked the attention to decor in our room -- it had a nice feel. But what makes it really special is the owners. They went out of their way to welcome us even though we had a super-late check-in, and they made sure we had all our questions answered about the town, directions, etc. They were so kind, and we will definitely stay there again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

A really quiet and modest place in a great town in Central California. Walking to everywhere and super nice innkeepers who are so helpful in making sure you don't go without or miss anything. Clean rooms with irons and refridgerators, coffee and hot water that doesnt run out or change temps on you! Pool too.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Let start, You get to hear the freeway all night. No towels in the bath room.Pool was not heated like they say it was. Paint was comming off of the tub and shower, and all the furniture in the room. 100.00 a night, what a joke,we got takin !!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed P, Manager at Shell Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

I'm surprised you didn't enjoy your stay here. We do heat the pool in season, but not in the winter months. We do have towels in all rooms, but if you needed extras, we would have gladly given. The distressed paint effect on the furniture was intended to give the room a "beachy" feel. I'm sorry you weren't feeling beachy and relaxed as most other guests do when here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed 7 nights here and it was marvellous. The owners were very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent. Just a short walk to the beach and only a few yards from a good choice of eating places and stores. We would definitely stay there again. The town itself is a perfect base to discover the delights of California.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troll001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Great place to spend the night on our way to LA. Clean, affordable, friendly, helpful owners. Short walk to the beach, short drive to Pismo for dinner. A little noisy, & the bathroom door was old & funky (like us). We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elizhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shell Beach
0.5 mi away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,444 reviews
1.2 mi away
Spyglass Inn
Spyglass Inn
#10 of 29 in Pismo Beach
844 reviews
1.2 mi away
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
SeaCrest OceanFront Hotel
#9 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Shore Cliff Hotel
Shore Cliff Hotel
#6 of 29 in Pismo Beach
2,052 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#8 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
Pismo Lighthouse Suites
#3 of 29 in Pismo Beach
1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shell Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shell Beach Inn

Address: 653 Shell Beach Rd, Shell Beach, CA 93449-2050
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Shell Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shell Beach
Price Range: £78 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shell Beach Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All ten guest rooms at the Shell Beach Inn are individually decorated with touches from the California coast and make this quaint little getaway a cozy stopover for the weary traveler or a comfortable home base for sightseeing vacationers. The Shell Beach Inn features an outdoor seasonally heated swimming pool and free parking. And...yes we are pet friendly! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shell Beach Hotel Shell Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing