We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Place for Families and visiting Lassen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shingletown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mt. Lassen / Shingletown KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Pacifica, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GREAT Place for Families and visiting Lassen”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This was our first stay in a KOA and we did not know what to expect. We stayed in Cabin A-5 with our 7-year old son. The cabins are small but very comfortable and clean. The the "pride of ownership" the owners of this KOA have really shows. our stay was fantastic and they pay attention to every detail. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

Cabin A-5 was very nice. It has a queen sized bed and one set of bunk beds. It has a mini refrigerator, microwave and TV. The cabin as well as the bathroom and shower were very clean. The cabin has a small front porch with a swinging chair, a private picnic table on the side and a fire pit. A fence provides privacy for the picnic table and fire pit area.

The entire campground was clean, quiet and comfortable. They offer a variety activities from horseshoes to basketball. The forest area in the back of the property has about 5-acres of fun with a sand volleyball court, basketball court, horseshoes, a couple of great rope swings, log teeter-totter and good trails for kids to ride bikes. The is a dog park area that had plenty of obstacles and would be lots of fun for those with dogs. There is also a small grass park area and a pool. We did not use the pool but it looked just as clean and well maintained as the entire property.

Over all, this property exceeded our expectations and i recommend it to anyone traveling to the Lassen area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jp4a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    9
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

being koa members and having reservations in advance to this place, we arrived at 9pm to find no one around, and are site and check in papers were no where to be found, after hunting and ringing bells and calling for 30 mins a guy come out and told us to park here. next morning they had us move spots, just poor customer service and wont be back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdrrr567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were on a 2-week camping trip and this was by far our best experience!! We are new to staying at KOA's but this has sold us.

Upon making reservations the lady I spoke to asked if I had ever been to the area before. When I said it had been 20 years plus ago, she gave me some great choices for things to see in addition to Lassen Volcanic National Park. She was spot on! We loved the Subway Cave as well as McArthur-Burney State Park. Both a must! She also chose us the perfect spot!

We were there Labor Day weekend and they hosted an ice cream social on Saturday and a pancake breakfast (all you can eat for $6 and amazing)! Everyone super friendly!

The forest park is awesome! My kids had their bikes and enjoyed all the dirt jumps and hills. There is also a giant swing (also an actual playground as well), volleyball, horseshoes and basketball. Don't forget there is a pool as well.

My only criticism was that the shower stalls were really small (considering I had my 5-year old daughter with me) and the water was really hard to regulate. On the other hand, the laundry facility was awesome and the prices very reasonable.

My family will definitely stay here again when we are in the area. My kids are still asking when we can go to the KOA!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank octwinmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

This was the best RV site we stayed in during our trip. The owners seem to make a special effort to make visitors welcome. From arrival to departure, we couldn't fault their service and helpfulness.
The showers and toilets were immaculately clean & the shop stocked a reasonable range of products (but, alas, not beer!). However, you can get it at Manzanita Lakes Store a few miles away.
We had a lovely, shaded pitch for our RV with a picnic table and fire pit. There were walks in the woods nearby and the whole ambience was one of restful calm.
We spent a day touring Mount Lassen Volcanic Park from here. A fabulous experience, particularly if you get off the road and onto the trails.
This site is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank feelymerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed here in June using both a trailer site and lodge cabin. Both were excellent. The trailer sites are private with well thought out hook ups. The grounds are immaculate, there's a pool, a play area, dog park, giant swing and grassy lawn. There's also a small store with a good selection. The cabin was like a first rate vacation rental, everything you could need in the kitchen, even a small tv (which we didn't use!). The staff were all very welcoming and helpful and always had a smile on their faces. They will pilot you with a golf cart right to your spot and even back your trailer in if you want. I highly recommend this KOA!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, ca
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We were overwhelmed with the beauty, serenity of the campgrounds complemented by the pride of ownership of the brothers who own and manage the campgrounds and their spouses. All of their advice, from nearby fishing opportunities, to restaurants and attractions was spot - on. These hosts make you feel welcome, from their greetings, to their ice cream socials and pancake breakfasts. They go out of their way to assist. Pool is very clean and comfortable. Laundry facility is immaculate. These folks set the bar as the standard other campgrounds should strive for.

Room Tip: No bad sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maltaman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stopped here to stay a night during a whirlwind National Parks vacation. Really great facilities, super kind and friendly managers, and beautiful location. Al & Jean Butzine greeted us and checked us in, even though we arrived after hours. We asked about places to eat dinner nearby and Al got right on the phone to call the local deli and ask about their hours-they were about to close and he arranged for them to prepare sandwiches for us to come pick up, his recommendation was great too! We used the showers in the main building and they were clean and warm. The RV site we stayed in was really nice and clean too, great dog park area and playground that our three year old loved. Would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Our campsite was 16, that worked great for us, but none of them looked bad!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hagenloveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mt. Lassen / Shingletown KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Lassen / Shingletown KOA

Property: Mt. Lassen / Shingletown KOA
Address: 7749 Koa Rd, Shingletown, CA 96088-9513
Region: United States > California > Shingletown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Shingletown
Number of rooms: 55

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing