We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent Expereience”
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Sierra City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2013

magnificent experience
I was invited to a wedding in Sierra City and chosen High Country Inn for the place to stay. Bob the owner took care of me and my brother wonderfully and we had magnificent experience in High Country Inn bed and breakfast. He was very helpful to assist us with everything we needed and feed us wonderful food.
This place is like heaven, wonderful scenery, comfortable space, great food, and very caring person with great sense of humor. We loved our stay and we know we will beck there again and again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

I am glad to see the very nice review you gave us. You and your brother were fun guests and I enjoyed seeing how much you enjoyed our area and was happy to hear that the wedding you attended was so much fun, thanks again for your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for High Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have been going to High Country Inn annually for about 25 years now, sometimes twice a year - for 3-to-4 days at a time. The Innkeepers, Bob & Bette, are lovely, welcoming, friendly hosts The rooms are spacious, clean, and show Bette's decorating hand. We love snuggling into the comfy bed and looking out at the Buttes. The breakfasts are delicious (we particularly love the various egg dishes), with fresh-baked breads, homemade spreads, fresh fruit on yogurt, fruit juices, and coffee/tea/milk. At breakfast, you look out over a pond to the Buttes. Bob & Bette recommend excellent restaurants in the area, and they tell you about numerous hikes (including the hike up to the fire lookout at the top of Sierra Buttes!). This is our place to wind down, relax, enjoy the outdoors, and eat delicious meals - all in a picturesque setting! Next Reservation: Oct 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your continued support throughout the years and we are always happy to welcome you back to the Inn as VIP's as that is what you have become to us! I have to ask you where I should tell other guests what to do and where to enjoy the best dinning in our area, as you have been to all of them and always share your insights with us and our other guests. We look forward to your visits in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We loved our recent anniversary trip to Sierra City and the High Country Inn.

Breakfast: While sitting and looking out a big picture window, we were served a beautiful fruit sculpture, very tasty breakfast breads (the apricot macadamia bread was out of his world!) and jam, an amazing quiche or frittata, and a lovely tomato-mozzarella salad on the side. All was beautifully prepared, very healthy, and scrumptious. It was such a hearty breakfast, that even though I hiked all day, I didn't feel hungry till about 2:00.

Rooms: We had the privilege of trying two different rooms during our visit. Both were immaculately clean.
The Aspen Room is small and economical but lovely. It has one window with a nice view of the pond. The detached bathroom is adequate with a huge shower.
The Sierra Buttes Suite is upstairs and very private. It also has a little gas stove which made it quite cozy. But pick this one for the views! Out one window are aspen trees and the creek. Out the other big window is the pond and a perfect view of he Buttes. So beautiful.

Inn: Beautiful flowers surround the outside. A lovely creek and pond are on the backside. The back deck is a great spot to sit and watch the day go by. The living room area is nice with lots of books and things to look at. And of course, there were cookies on the table! They had wi-fi available all around. There is no cell service there, so they let us use the phone at the inn.

Surrounding attractions:
Bob, the innkeeper suggested dinner at one of the lodges at a nearby lake -- we took the suggestion- mostly because there are not a lot of dinner choices around. He said Sardine Lake Lodge was the best, but it was full so we went to Packer Lake Lodge. Dinner was great (the Salmon was wonderful) and mud pie for dessert was also great! Order the Caesar Salad!
We hiked the Round Lake Trails - We saw seven beautiful secluded lakes in an afternoon's worth of hiking. The trailhead is about a 15 minute drive north of the Inn. You'll drive by several lovely lakes on the way to the trail. A great, and not too strenuous day of outdoor adventure.
We hiked up to the Sierra Buttes Lookout as well. This is quite a bit more strenuous than the Lakes trails, but the views from up top are well worth the effort. Take plenty of water and a pair of binoculars.
Many of the Lakes in the region are great for just sitting and enjoying the day. We sat at the Sardine Lake boat dock and enjoyed the view for a spell. We also scouted around several other lakes. There is no lack of pleasant spots at which one could spend some hours relaxing!

The High Country Inn was just the place for our get-away! It was within striking distance to some good adventuring, but was comfortable and welcoming at the beginning and end of each day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review on your stay with us here at HCI. We always enjoy sharing our love of this area and provide personal information that we have learned from being in this area for many years. It is always enjoyable to send a guest to one of our favorite dining places in the area or tell someone where to have a quite out of the way place to enjoy a picnic and enjoy some of our beautiful vista areas that are uncrowded.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I have stayed here twice now, each time celebrating our wedding anniversary, and it has always exceeded our expectations. Although the surrounding area has all the hiking, swimming and photo opps we love, one day we just sat on the Inn's deck looking at the view, watching the hummingbirds and admiring the gardens while listening to the sound of the nearby Yuba river!. The rooms are marvelous, the breakfast is superb and Bob knows the answer to anything you need to know about the area. I think anyone would enjoy this spot.
-Lake Tahoe couple

Room Tip: The Sierra Buttes Suite has the sound of the nearby river to lull you to sleep.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thank you for your review and we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time here with us. This area is indeed out of the way but out of this world with all of the beautiful places you can discover very close to HCI. We hope to see you again at some time in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

How wonderful to be welcomed back to this beautiful Inn by Bob, who always makes us feel comfortable and at home. We love to stay here as it is such a beautiful setting. The rooms are spotless and Bob's breakfasts are delicious and beautifully presented by someone who puts love into his cooking. We look forward to many more welcoming stays at this charming B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni Hastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

It is always great to see the two of you and we are very happy that we can continue to provide you with the type of experience you crave. Great fun having our feast out on the deck looking at the Sierra Buttes, the river , the Trout pond and sharing our good things to eat and drink! On your next trip here I am going to locate a beautiful place where Toni can take pictures and you can land the "big one"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the High County Inn for two nights on July 20 and 21 of 2013. We have stayed off and on at the High Country Inn over the past 25 years. While we live relatively close, we find the inn to be a nice, quick get-away where we enjoy the Sierra Buttes, magnificent lakes in the Lakes Basin area, wonderful gourmet style breakfasts and a tranquil setting between Howard Creek and the Yuba River. The inn is decorated in good taste and is always clean and comfortable.

Bob and Bette Latte could not be better inn keepers. In our last few visits, Bob was our host as Bette works in the bay area during the week. We enjoy staying at the inn during weekdays where it is generally less busy. While Bob, a giant of a man, is a great outdoorsman, he also takes care of the elaborate gardens and lawn, brings in and stacks the year’s fire wood and, believe it or not, attends to every detail in the inn. In addition to doing all the “man things” around the inn, Bob meticulously prepares our breakfast and adds his artistic flare to the presentation of a three-course, gourmet meal every morning. Breakfast normally consists of a baked egg dish, fresh breads and fruit along with your choice of coffee, tea, and a variety of juices. For those who prefer a nontraditional or lighter breakfast, there are always options that can be provided within limits. All breakfasts are garnished with fresh cut flowers from the elaborate on-site gardens. Once he serves the breakfast, Bob hangs around and participates in conversation with the guests without crowding or overwhelming their experience. He is also a great source for places to visit, things to do and all the best restaurants central Sierra County has to offer. While some find Bob to be a little on the gruff side, we have found that he is more than willing to talk and share ideas on how to make our stay a pleasant and enjoyable experience. He also admits to this gruff side by saying “most guys who are 6’ 7” tall are gruff by nature.” We find him to be playful with his conversation and very accommodating.

If you are looking for an in-keeper who puts on airs, the High Country Inn may not be your best choice. If you want a clean, comfortable and nicely designed mountain inn that is neatly tucked into its setting with magnificent views of the Sierra Buttes in an area where time seems to have stood still, this inn is for you. Once you experience the High Country Inn, you will be thinking of your next trip if not booking it before you leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and offer views of the Sierra Buttes. We particularly like Sierra Buttes Suite...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taparilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you so much for your well written review on High Country Inn. It is always great fun to have the two of you spend time with us and talk about our flowers and the quality of life living in the Sierra Nevada Mountains where "life does go by a little slower" and one's head is constantly moving from side to side trying to take in all of the beauty of the surroundings. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The High Country Inn is a beautiful place. The rooms, grounds, and hospitality are the best!! Bob and Bette are a great couple who make you feel like family. The breakfasts are out of this world, with fresh fruits and berries, Bette's fresh baked treats, and always an amazing entrée! You even get a show at breakfast with the jays, humming birds, and chipmunks all participating in the production. My wife and I have stayed there the last two years and look forward to returning again and again.

Room Tip: Get one of the suites with a view of The Buttes.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert L, Owner at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

We are always glad to welcome the two of you here to the Inn. You are people who work very hard and when you come to stay at the Inn and spend quality time just sitting on our deck or enjoying the Hammock along the river just listening to the water flow by and fight too keep your eyes open! I really enjoy your sharing what the two of you do for a living, and I am thankful that we live here in God's Country! We hope we will see you again next year, thanks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierra City
12.6 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
293 reviews
11.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
53 reviews
4.2 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
19 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
8 reviews
19.0 mi away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 100 Green Road, Highway 49 and Gold Lake Rd, Sierra City, CA 96125
Region: United States > California > Sierra City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sierra City
Price Range: £89 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Out of the way- but out of this world" Bon Appetit High Country Inn is located in western Sierra County, California. We are off Highway 49, the famous " Golden Chain Highway" that winds its way through the historic California Gold Rush country of the Sierra Nevada mountains. The North Yuba River flows swiftly by, literally at our doorstep! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sierra City
Sierra City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing