We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sierra hot springs Globe hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sierraville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center
South Lake Tahoe, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sierra hot springs Globe hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

we stayed at the globe on March 27-28 on there 2 for one winter mid week special. The room was very clean and conferrable. I tend to view and rate hotels as how they are advertised, the globe is not a 4 star Hilton, but they never clam to be. The Globe is a small place with bathrooms down the hall, You can cook your own food in the well stocked kitchen. I think they only have 10 rooms or so, so when I was not at the hot springs it was very quiet. Like I said the rooms are very clean, and well decorated. IMHO we got more than I thought we would.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TahoeBob54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
21
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

So at the end of a short, dusty road lies Sierra Hot Springs. I would be extending myself to state it is a Resort and Retreat Center. Try Breitenbush, up in Oregon , or another "Resort", to classify it as such. At times, the web pages of such resorts are misleading. Lots of gloss and glam.. yet, upon arrival.. well.. same old same old. A trip back into time, fine by me on all counts. Just remember, time has stood still, perhaps regressed in respect to the stewardship of the land. I speak from experience. As a steward of green cattle ranching/farming. The lodge is run down, yes it is. The property is stewn with trailers and debris. It is.. what it is.. The soaking pool(s).. meadow I have to say is lovely, but, an oily film scum on the water. The water for the meadow shower was turned off due to freezing conditions. No hand washing station with the Pot - o Pottie on the walk to the meadow pool. Bad smell, perhaps not pumped for a long, long time? The larger pool, and Dome area needed a through cleaning... Broken screens, litter on deck, the black ring around the pool edge left me wondering. The daily cleaning sheet in the sauna was not filled out, thus no one had check or cleaned? for more than 24 hours? I had a stellar massage in house, and was greeted by a competent, and friendly staff person. I lodged in an upstairs dorm bed. Cleaning folks busy at their tasks and it was "clean" just worn tired. (New sofas in common area).The cat was friendly, as was the resident dog. Kind folks were about. Quiet and peaceful. Tenting would be best. I love the water, that is what I came for. The staff perhaps strive to keep the area clean.. must be a challenge given the location and such.

Room Tip: Tenting is always best, with rustic accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jujubean1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

If you stay here, you can relax in the wonderfully warm, sulfuric water pools which are open 24 hours. This is a great place if you like to soak. Clothing optional and very rustic and chilled back.

We lodged in the dorms which were simple and affordable. The whole place has a youth hostel like feel because of the communal kitchen and hippie vibe. It's good value and good for those of us on a budget.

Room Tip: Select a room in the main lodge so you can walk to the hot springs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

What is better after a strenuous day on the slopes than a restful soak in authentic hot springs? Not much. Lake Tahoe is famous for its world class ski resorts and there is only ONE hot natural hot spring open to the public accessible year around and that is the serene Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center. Whether you are looking for a private meditation pool or a more communal spring and sauna, this place has it. Owned and operated by the friendly and talented Kip Richardson, it is off the beaten path and only a short 25 mile drive off HWY 80. Whether you are looking to lodge many days or only stop by for a recharge in the spring and / or sauna, Sierra has it all, even some amazing spa treatments like fabulous massages, body wraps and scrubs, and my favorite - a scalp treatment. Often times special workshops are offered FREE of charge for their guests. I look forward to returning again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelIndustryPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hot spings are fantastic and clean. The location is beautiful. I really liked the "Meditation Pool", which is in a meadow, near the campgrounds. The Lodge needs new paint but the bathrooms were nice. The referigerators in the communal kitchen were bordering on disgusting. I could not stand to be in the kitchen. It is possible that I was there on a rare day before they cleaned the kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynlewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendocino County, Ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

I've been going to Sierra Hot Springs for years and still love the relaxed atmosphere, environment and especially the warm pool and the medicine pools. However, over the years, the lodge, outbuildings and grounds continue to degrade. The lodge bedrooms have been repainted but it still has a long way to go before one would actually call it a "resort". If you are ok with old and funky, this is the place to go. Beware though, it has it's quirks (the bedtooms do share the 2 bathrooms and one of the bathrooms has EITHER hot OR cold water). I would also suggest taking your own window fan in the summer as the rooms get really hot. (we asked for a fan but didn't get it) Read the other reviews for additional quirks but over all, it's an experience to enjoy and the pools far out-weigh any inconveniences one might have. Try it...you might like it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is a great place. I like the rustic atmosphere of the old hotel and the front porch. The dome pool is nice and hot, meditation and warm pools are very therapeutic. Great view of the high valley. This is the only place I can drive to from Sacramento (about 2 easy hours) and really, really get so relaxed I can fall asleep under the trees and feel like I'm floating on clouds after soaking in the pools for a couple of hours. It is a diamond in the rough, somewhere that reminds me of another time far far away from the noises of the busy stressful world... and the price is very reasonable. Not recommended for those need to talk incessantly or shop.

Room Tip: Trailer camping available. Quiet time enforced after 10 PM
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontheroadagain2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierraville
17.9 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
24.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
13.3 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#1 of 2 in Clio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center

Property: Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center
Address: 521 Campbell Hot Springs Rd, Sierraville, CA 96126-1000
Region: United States > California > Sierraville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sierraville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Hot Springs is a non-profit retreat and workshop center located at the cusp of an enchanted forest and a beautiful alpine valley. Here, it is impossible to resist the overwhelming sense of tranquility. The natural spring water is as smooth as silk, and the pools are a true experience. For centuries, Native Americans have regarded this land as a sacred healing place. Now we invite you to discover its incredible powers for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Hotel Sierraville
Sierra Hot Springs Resort And Retreat Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing