We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hot springs, rustic accommodation, tasty food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sierraville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center
Reviewed 17 October 2013

If you read some of the previous reviews you will undoubtedly have noticed that this is by no means a plush resort. It is perfect to get away, think, enjoy solitude or strike up interesting conversations. This review is really about three different things, but all are listed as one address and destination.

1. The hot springs: natural hot water with slight sulfur content is collected in two soakable locations, each ~0.5 miles from the Lodge between them. The Meditation pool is a small, delightfully designed saok area with stone tiles and sand bottom. In the warmer months, an outdoor shower is nearby, however if there is not enough sun, this shower is off. Bring towels, enjoy the solitude (often only two people in the water), open 24h, very little light so take flash light along with towels.
The Dome is the other (more popular) soaking area, consisting of a larger rectangular open-air pool ~99F, a covered smaller sandbottom hot tub ~108F and a sauna (which does not get very hot). Just towels needed here, as there is a changing room with showers, light, sundeck. All soaking areas require a bit of walking from the parking area (more so for the dome, but could be dropped off right in front for those who are challenged). All soaking areas were quiet and very relaxing. Excellent Watsu sessions can be reserved.

2. The Lodge hotel is in certain aspects similar to a mix between a youth hostel and a hotel. There is a restaurant (Philosopher's Cafe, creative mostly organic compositions) downstairs, a kitchen for everyone to use (you can bring food to cook, tea, coffee; fridge and storage space available), fire place, piano, a few sofas, library of books and games. The rooms are upstairs, some with hardwood floor, and all somewhat creaky. Shared bathrooms. Quiet hours start at 10pm, room a little dark, bed was comfortable, small dresser and cabinet to hang clothes. Breakfast not included in rate (nice omelette OK to share for two at moderate appetite) but 24h soaking is.
Towels provided. Occasional scheduled concerts / events / readings in the evening, and you might catch an impromptu piano composition performance during the day.

3. The Globe hotel is 1.8miles from the Lodge hotel in the center of Sierraville, right on the intersection of highways 49 and 89. This old building with character (reminiscent of hundred years ago) again has a parlor room downstairs, with piano, a guitar, several tables, computer and wireless internet (faster and more reliable than at the Lodge) as well as a large kitchen with guest fridge and cooking utensils. The Globe is much quieter, seems to be less often chosen, although the parking lot was full overnight, there were very few other guests seen or heard. The room was carpeted, bed quite comfortable, overall sleep quality better than in Lodge. Very clean, shared bathrooms. However, no soaking in walking distance. Lodge and Globe appear to be same price, lower during the week (Sunday-Thursday), and in demand (+~30$) on weekend (Friday+Saturday) nights.

4. Camping is available around the Lodge, and appears to be popular: combine a tent with the soaking and facilities of the Dome, onsite restaurant (however food only at breakfast and at dinner, mainly on weekends only, or on demand if there are enough guests), a very small onsite store for emergency supplies (crackers, tea, comfort food, sunscreen).
Day visits and reduced late night rates are also possible. Check their website. In winter, 4 wheel drive and snow chains may be necessary / recommended to get to this place. Beautiful drive from any direction.

Room Tip: If you want a better, quieter room stay at the Globe Hotel, for proximity to the Dome hot springs st...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

" Los Dos Hermanos" a mexican resturant in sierraville; my partner and myself have vomited and became quite ill due to the miscarried food. During our stay, he healed ourselves at the springs and when we shared our story with other guests, everyone sayed that they too have heard the " food poisening" reputation of the resturant. Sierra hot springs please open up some type of resturant <3

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

we stayed at the globe on March 27-28 on there 2 for one winter mid week special. The room was very clean and conferrable. I tend to view and rate hotels as how they are advertised, the globe is not a 4 star Hilton, but they never clam to be. The Globe is a small place with bathrooms down the hall, You can cook your own food in the well stocked kitchen. I think they only have 10 rooms or so, so when I was not at the hot springs it was very quiet. Like I said the rooms are very clean, and well decorated. IMHO we got more than I thought we would.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TahoeBob54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

So at the end of a short, dusty road lies Sierra Hot Springs. I would be extending myself to state it is a Resort and Retreat Center. Try Breitenbush, up in Oregon , or another "Resort", to classify it as such. At times, the web pages of such resorts are misleading. Lots of gloss and glam.. yet, upon arrival.. well.. same old same old. A trip back into time, fine by me on all counts. Just remember, time has stood still, perhaps regressed in respect to the stewardship of the land. I speak from experience. As a steward of green cattle ranching/farming. The lodge is run down, yes it is. The property is stewn with trailers and debris. It is.. what it is.. The soaking pool(s).. meadow I have to say is lovely, but, an oily film scum on the water. The water for the meadow shower was turned off due to freezing conditions. No hand washing station with the Pot - o Pottie on the walk to the meadow pool. Bad smell, perhaps not pumped for a long, long time? The larger pool, and Dome area needed a through cleaning... Broken screens, litter on deck, the black ring around the pool edge left me wondering. The daily cleaning sheet in the sauna was not filled out, thus no one had check or cleaned? for more than 24 hours? I had a stellar massage in house, and was greeted by a competent, and friendly staff person. I lodged in an upstairs dorm bed. Cleaning folks busy at their tasks and it was "clean" just worn tired. (New sofas in common area).The cat was friendly, as was the resident dog. Kind folks were about. Quiet and peaceful. Tenting would be best. I love the water, that is what I came for. The staff perhaps strive to keep the area clean.. must be a challenge given the location and such.

Room Tip: Tenting is always best, with rustic accommodation.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jujubean1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

If you stay here, you can relax in the wonderfully warm, sulfuric water pools which are open 24 hours. This is a great place if you like to soak. Clothing optional and very rustic and chilled back.

We lodged in the dorms which were simple and affordable. The whole place has a youth hostel like feel because of the communal kitchen and hippie vibe. It's good value and good for those of us on a budget.

Room Tip: Select a room in the main lodge so you can walk to the hot springs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

What is better after a strenuous day on the slopes than a restful soak in authentic hot springs? Not much. Lake Tahoe is famous for its world class ski resorts and there is only ONE hot natural hot spring open to the public accessible year around and that is the serene Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center. Whether you are looking for a private meditation pool or a more communal spring and sauna, this place has it. Owned and operated by the friendly and talented Kip Richardson, it is off the beaten path and only a short 25 mile drive off HWY 80. Whether you are looking to lodge many days or only stop by for a recharge in the spring and / or sauna, Sierra has it all, even some amazing spa treatments like fabulous massages, body wraps and scrubs, and my favorite - a scalp treatment. Often times special workshops are offered FREE of charge for their guests. I look forward to returning again and again!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelIndustryPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The hot spings are fantastic and clean. The location is beautiful. I really liked the "Meditation Pool", which is in a meadow, near the campgrounds. The Lodge needs new paint but the bathrooms were nice. The referigerators in the communal kitchen were bordering on disgusting. I could not stand to be in the kitchen. It is possible that I was there on a rare day before they cleaned the kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynlewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sierraville
18.1 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
293 reviews
20.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
24.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
112 reviews
16.7 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
53 reviews
16.7 mi away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Center

Address: 521 Campbell Hot Springs Rd, Sierraville, CA 96126-1000
Region: United States > California > Sierraville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sierraville
Price Range: £20 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sierra Hot Springs is a non-profit retreat and workshop center located at the cusp of an enchanted forest and a beautiful alpine valley. Here, it is impossible to resist the overwhelming sense of tranquility. The natural spring water is as smooth as silk, and the pools are a true experience. For centuries, Native Americans have regarded this land as a sacred healing place. Now we invite you to discover its incredible powers for yourself. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sierra Hot Springs Resort & Retreat Hotel Sierraville
Sierra Hot Springs Resort And Retreat Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing