We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maintenance Lacking & Other Things! See below!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Signal Hill
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Signal Hill
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It was a really busy weekend, mid-summer, with the surfing championships too, so the town, and all around were full. As a last resort I stayed here on the 2nd floor from 7/27-7/28-13, and it has big ups and downs. Ups~Very clean room! Fairly quiet section of a really busy street, except for the usual showing off of loud muffler cars, on the PCH. Good A/C wall unit~loud enough so it drowned out the cars. Less traffic on weekends, as mostly weekday businesses in this area. Large 42" Visio LCD TV, granite sink, new toilet, OK tub, nice carpet, large room refrigerator, microwave, action bed for fun.

Down~Broken/missing smoke detector. No security chain on door! No "Do not disturb" sign in the room! (*Without it the maid kept bugging us to clean the room on our first day at 0930 & 1000 hrs. Too long a wait for hot water on 2nd floor,`it has no recirculator pump, or they turned it off. Rotten water saver shower head, which made it next to impossible to wash shampoo out of my ladies hair, or to even feel more than a trickle! No fitted sheets or clips to hold them on, so they keep coming off. A real uncomfortable pain to sleep or have fun. Pay for ice~$0.50 for small room size ice bucket. Bad fight back springy foam pillows~A little better than the horrible ones in the Choice Hotels chain. (*Went out to IKEA and bought their 90% feather & 10% down for $12.) Hard spring mattress which made for a long two days on bad shoulders. No pen and paper, no kleenex, no hair dryer, broken back roller on sliding patio door. (*Patio is worthless, as it is too small for anything.) Worn out door roller "SCREECHING" on their Otis elevator, no exhaust fan in bathroom, no alarm clock, no heated pool. ''HORRIBLE COFFEE" which was their only beverage, or food. Would I stay here again? It is better than the "YMCA" but even motel 6 has better staff checking for needed repairs. This hotel needs a big dose of quality control! Granted it is managed by Indian's who may not be that picky, but as a former Master Inspector of Structures, come on, "Common Sense tells you when something is broken, write it down to fix it, and do it!" Give your cleaning crew a maintenance sheet to-do-list like the big hotels do. You can't depend on the guests to take valuable time out of their vacation or business trip to come down and complain about stuff that you should have fixed. Especially guest safety, with only a hole to remind one of a removed/broken chain, with no backup locking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airebornranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankit4455, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Signal Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

We apologize for your small inconvenience for Ice Bucket & Smoke Alarm. We are open 24 hours and if there was issues with pillows or hot water.. All you have to do is pick up phone and call the front desk. We checked our service book and no phone call or in person request was made above the small concern. Also, the elevator is maintained by well known company THYSSEN & KRUPP and they maintain our elevators. We have notified them about the roller on the elevator door.

it is inappropriate to target nationality in your review. It was offensive comment by targeting ones' nationality. Please keep nationality out of your comment.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

Review for my husband, he is staying in Long Beach on and off for work. We received a good price for the room and he would or will stay again. Problem with the shower, no water pressure and not hot enough, while the sink water was very hot. Wonder how this happens? The room was clean, missing some light bulbs. Towels very small and very thin. Did the job but not very well. Parking is good as he drives a truck and has some problems with other hotels in the area with parking. Over all he will probably stay her again when the need arises. No bugs did he find, so this was not a problem. No coffee in the room and in the lobby it arrives too late for his schedule, so he went next door to Jack in the Box for his am coffee. For a coffee drinker having this available would be an improvement.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NRosenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I travel to this area often as my son lives nearby. My usual hotel was full so had to look for another. My husband telecommutes, therefore, requires internet. I was assured by the owner/operator that our room had "excellent internet" connection. Do Not Believe. He ended up going to a coffee shop to work. There was a hole in the wall, paint was peeling, the sheets did not fit the bed and had holes. The room was clean but smelled to cigarette smoke although it was suppose to be a non-smoking room.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

This place has BED BUGS!!!! My friend was bitten all over her face, arms, back, chest and legs. The rooms smoke like smoke, mildew, and God knows whatever else was going on. I would never recommend this place. There are BED BUGS HERE, RUN!!!

Room Tip: If you see this place, keep driving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Newer bedding, carpet and paint improved this property. I would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2008

Stuck in the middle of nowhere that you would want to be. The pool is tiny and grubby, there is graffiti on the outside of the hotel and there is an unpleasant odour in the reception. The rooms are small, smell damp and had stained bedding. We decided not to stay but were charged anyway thanks to hotels.com.
Wont be booking through them again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Семен С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Signal Hill
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Long Beach Airport
2.6 mi away
Best Western Golden Sails Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Queen Mary
The Queen Mary
#9 of 58 in Long Beach
6,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Residence Inn Long Beach
Residence Inn Long Beach
#21 of 58 in Long Beach
215 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Current
Hotel Current
#16 of 58 in Long Beach
462 reviews
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Long Beach Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Signal Hill

Address: 3555 E Pacific Coast Hwy, Signal Hill, CA 90755-1915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Signal Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Signal Hill
Price Range: £58 - £775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Signal Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Signal Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing