We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same course”

Lost Canyons Golf Club
Southern California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not the same course”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The Sky Course is challenging and fun. This course is not for the slicer or hacker. be prepared to lose balls if you do not hit it straight. The maintenance has dropped off a little thus the reason for an average rating. The greens are in very good shape but some of the fairways could have used a little more water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    12
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good view with an amazing view”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I don't play golf, but this is a gem. I go here for lunch on Sundays and sit near the window to enjoy the view. It is like you are in the country, but only a 5 minute drive away. After lunch I take a walk outside to see the view, flowers and roadrunners. They also do weddings here. The women's bathroom is really nice also. I would recommend it for lunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracy026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nauvoo, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Magnificent Setting!”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

The family wedding reception was held at this site. It was beautiful! The event started inside with dinner being served outside on the patio with beautiful views of the mountains-especially at sunset. The workers were very accommodating for the guests and the food was delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hills
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful property in such poor condition...”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Lost Canyons consist of two 18 hole tracks the Shadow and the Sky Courses. Lost Canyon has a beautiful clubhouse, dining areas , a spacious patio deck and a small bar, it is a beautiful piece of property. Both courses are very tranquil , Sky has no traffic noise or buildings to spoil views. Shadow is almost as quiet with views of some houses in the distance and some street noise on just 2 holes.
The Sky Course is much better maintained as it is the course that Lost Canyons sells its members on . It is a public course but like most middle end tracks they sell "frequent player" type memberships.
Expansive elevation changes , 2 and even 3 tierd greens , pot bunkers and scenic views. It is not uncommon to be standing on a tee box looking down at 3 or 4 other levels of fairways and greens of upcoming holes. Most maintenance is done just to keep the greens , green.
Fairways on Sky are dry and bare in many spots although they are greener than usual as they hosted the Korean Pro players tournament and they have been building the quality of play for this event.
Today we played Shadow and it was sad to see how much they have let this course go. Absolutely dry brown fairways , hard pan lies and stubby clumps of grass sporadically rising through the dirt. Greens are dry and slow (these used to be lightning quick and if you landed on the wrong tier 3 or 4 putts were common) The holes are cut true and you still dont get any "Love" if you edge the cup. The greens are hard which makes it tough to stop a ball on the fly. Bump and run the greens for better scoring chances.
The good part was that because of conditions they often discount this track on online golf sites , and many local simply refuse to play it. This allows for quick rounds with few others out. We finished in 3 1/2 hours and saw only 2 other groups. For a few bucks more you can play a local course that actually has green grass and can afford to maintain it. However It might not have the peace or tranquillity that Lost Canyons offers . Staff are great here and they do all they can to make it an enjoyable experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank james p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what it once was...”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

My friends and I played on St. Patrick's Day with a $79 all day both courses 'deal'... seeing some of the reviews before playing, I thought it can't be that bad....I was wrong.

We played the Sky course in the morning, and it was eh. Drying fairways, hard bunkers and it seemed a few random greens were recently punched and sanded. Not terrible, but not good either.

We then decided to play the Shadow course in the afternoon...wow. Completely dry fairways (brown and hard packed), bunkers hard with weeds growing out of them, weeds around and even a few growing in the greens. They basically stopped tending and seemingly caring about this course a long time ago, and barely maintaining the Sky course.

I am a Simi native and been playing Lost Canyons for many years and this is by far the worst I have ever seen it. The pictures on the website show the course lush and green and sadly is it far from that today. It makes me sad to see once beautiful courses become so bad. Unless things change drastically, this was the last time I will be playing these courses, deals or not.

-D

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lost Canyons Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Lost Canyons Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing