We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not waste your money. Read this before reserving”

Lost Canyons Golf Club
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money. Read this before reserving”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I played their signature Sky Course yesterday. They have let this course go to pot because I've heard they are going to close it soon, redo it and make it private. The fairways are brown and hard as cement. They have stripped the course of all amenities, even trash cans and ball washers. It feels like it's closed already. It is worth maybe $10 to play this, but they still charge $50+. The only thing still great is the views. The other one, the Shadow course, is even worse. I've seen online specials for $5. That's about right. If you want a great course with great views, go to Tierra Rejada or Moorpark Country Club (public). Similar price, but those 2 are the best courses in the area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank djodland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    12
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield beach Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Looked nicer online”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Went last week and played the sky course. Cool set up but the fairways need a lot of work. Spent most of my time hitting of dirt. Living in florida any course out of state that has hills is cool to play. I really liked playing around the mountains and the 18th hoe is to cool. If they put some money into fixing it up a little i would defiantly go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank choz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Formerly Wonderful Course Now In Disrepair”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

When my wife and I lived in Southern California 8 years ago, Lost Canyons was one of our favorite places to play, and we had been playing there since the two (Sky and Shadow) courses opened. They were wonderful courses; challenging but fair, with incredible views, and both in excellent condition. Fast forward to October 2013, and, apart from the views, this is not the same facility. We played the Sky course (the more challenging of the two), and it was in absolutely terrible condition. The fairways were burned out with lots of dirt and weeds, They were extremely hard (firm), and with all the undulations (which were great when the course was in good shape) in the fairways made them virtually unplayable. The cart paths were so cracked in places that I was concerned about driving the cart on them. On the positive side, the greens were still in mostly good shape, and provide a good challenge to the golfer. Unfortunately, on the day we played, they had "punched" about 8-9 of the greens, but did not put sand in the holes, making those greens unputtable. That was a temporary, but inexcusable, situation, and didn't exactly add to the experience.

It is clear that the Sky course (we did not play the Shadow course) is in a serious state of disrepair due to a lack of maintenance (probably due to $$). In its current condition, I cannot recommend it. There are too many other good courses in the area that are in much better shape.

Given how much I have enjoyed Lost Canyons in the past, it pains me to write this review, but I want other golfers to know what they would be in for. Hopefully, the money will be put in to get these courses back to their former state. If, and when, that happens, Lost Canyons will once again be a fantastic place to play. At the moment, though, in my opinion, it is not worth the time or money to play there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hard day on the course but well worth it !!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

it is a world class golf course and from the Tips is a monster- yes the wind blows and swirls. Almost all first time players underclub themselves every approach shot. Greens are tough and shot making is at a premium. If you are 10 index play from blues and only long hitters from the back - great driving and practice facility. Food is good also

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Facility”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a club with two golf courses. I don't play golf but there is a very nice restaurant and meeting room for community use. I understand they will be doing some renovations soon and the restaurant may not be available.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 30Marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lost Canyons Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Lost Canyons Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing