We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Accomodations and a Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodations and a Great Value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The Lodge offers nice spacious rooms with a balcony and an incredible view. Everything was sparkling and clean....something I am picky about! The king-size bed was plush and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. We ordered room service and found everything very delicious (although one of the orders was wrong). Their onion rings were crispy and cooked to perfection! We are not into gambling but if that's your thing...there's lots to do. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Top floor offers the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadtripRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    39
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
59
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Howonquet Lodge provides a nearly perfect hotel experience for travelers in northwestern California. The rooms are luxurious, clean, and quiet, and you can have a wonderful close-up view of the Pacific Ocean from your balcony. Both the interior and exterior of the building are beautiful, and the hotel makes use of an ingenious, "naturalized" heating and cooling system. Staff are helpful, courteous, and friendly--I was made to feel that they were genuinely happy to have me as a guest. I was amazed to find such an outstanding accommodation at what is literally one of the far corners of the state.

Room Tip: Ask for a west-facing balcony room on the top floor for the best view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryR571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortuna, California, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed there the end of July, very nice, new hotel. It had just opened and there were some problems with their computer system at check out. They are friendly and nice. We have been eating at the Lucky 7 Restaurant for several years. It is normally good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Hwy 101 are more expensive as you have a partial ocean view. Due to the fog level on m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The hotel and casino are very new and they seem to have succeeded at making this simultaneously family friendly and good for couples on a romantic vacation. The room was beautiful and extremely large with an amazing King-sized bed. They really made an effort with all the little details that make a difference: full breakfast included, shower head and handle on opposite walls, luxurious linens and soaps, free coffee (and cappucino maker drinks and sodas in the casino) pool and gym, and lots of security. They have events, but we did not attend any.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCCOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We just got back from staying here. The hotel has only been open for a month. The staff is very friendly. We had a Mountain view King on the second floor. Quiet, clean and very well appointed. Slept great! The included breakfast was a full breakfast in the restaurant. The staff in the restaurant were not very efficient or timely, but the food was very good. Signup for the players club and get $5 to play on. The have very good non-smoking areas. This will be our go to spot on the North coast in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

This is a relatively new hotel casino located right on highway 101. We had an ocean view from our room on the third floor, stunning. The rooms are beautiful with a balcony where one can sit and enjoy the view. The beds were extremely comfortable and we both enjoyed a quiet sleep. The bathroom was large and beautifully decorated. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant serves good food reasonably priced. Love the decor in the lobby. Excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Opt for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moyeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith River
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
14.2 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
14.5 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
14.6 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge

Property: Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
Address: 350 N Indian Rd, Smith River, CA 95567-9474
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Smith River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howonquet Lodge at the Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel resort is located right on Hwy 101 in Smith River, California, just 8 miles from Brookings and 17 miles from Crescent City. During your stay you can play in the Casino featuring over 300 slot machines, blackjack, poker and bingo! Sign up for a Player's Club membership to receive special offers and extra benefits throughout the property. Along with a 24-hour casino the property also includes the House of Howonquet Restaurant, Club 7 Sports Bar, Gift Shop, and Fuel Mart. Enjoy a drink in the sports bar and watch any game on one of the seven TV's and two 80" TV's. Before you hit the road fill-up at the fuel mart with the lowest prices in the area and take advantage of the discount liquor, tobacco and fuel prices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing