We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little spot (and hotel is separate from casino)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little spot (and hotel is separate from casino)”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were driving from Seattle to LA and needed somewhere to stay near Crescent City. Crescent City doesn't get a great rap here so we looked outside. We were not disappointed!

This hotel is immaculately clean, new, well-built and quiet. The rooms are large and well-appointed. The staff are efficient. There is a clean and warm swimming pool and jacuzzi for guests.

We are not gamblers and so it's worth pointing out that the reception and hotel are separate from the casino, and they are connected by one discreet corridor. If you're not interested in gambling or have kids, fear not - this is not a casino hotel, it's a hotel that is adjacent to a casino! (For what it is worth, the casino is discreet and clean from the outside).

There is a very reasonably-priced casual family restaurant that serves classic diner food, and a gas station also on the development.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Uttery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    39
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
59
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is one of the few hotels along US 101 in either Oregon or California that is worth the $117 nightly rate, in fact, it's a bargain at that rate. The rooms are modern, clean, full of amenities, nicely furnished with large flat screen TVs, walk-in tile showers and mercifully quiet, compared to the next door casino. The room also contained a working refrigerator and in-room coffee. If that was not enough, next door was a snack room with free coffee. Lovely pool and well equipped business center. I also received a $10 credit at the restaurant for next morning's breakfast, which was excellent, though the service was poor. As a value-first traveler, I highly recommend this hotel, but not the "mickey-mouse" casino.

Room Tip: For $5 more, choose an ocean view room. Other than that, you won't find a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Wow wow wow!!! I can't say enough about this place!!! Beautiful view, comfy pillows and beds, great shower, impeccable customer service and delicious, reasonably priced food at the attached cafe!!! The front desk staff went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and they attended to every need!!! Perfect stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t-mmmmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midwest
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a fairly new establishment. Less than a year old but do they know how to do it right. We were at the end of our coastal drive and were looking forward to a nice place to rest. Their rooms are big city accommodations not small town. Everything is first class and the staff is fantastic. The front desk lady (Jennifer??) remembered our conversation when I made the reservation four months in advance. She actually remembered small details we talked about. How often does that happen anywhere??? They were very welcoming, professional, and the room was beautiful, comfortable, and spotless. Just a terrific place to stay!!! We would go out of our way just to go there again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whoa3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
731 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The rooms at the lodge are amazing. Clean, well kept, very nice amenities, & very quiet. Staff very friendly, courteous, and go to extra mile to make your stay pleasant. Right off the beach & perfectly set between the redwoods and Brookings.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank YearoftheRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crescent City, CA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have stayed here twice so the grandsons could go to a, "motel with a swimming pool." Spoiled. Very comfortable rooms with firm pillow top beds and lots of pillows for ammo. Also a refrigerator and coffee pot but fresh coffee, (and microwave) is available in the vending area. Reminds me of a Marriott. We stayed right across from the pool-salt not chlorine- with a large sauna tub. Also a fitness center.
For visitors to our area, this is a good place to stay while you enjoy God's Country. We found the restaurant to be much improved and the service outstanding.
The casino is rather smokey but it is not noticeable in the motel. This is a great value for our area so check it out.

Room Tip: 101-106 very close to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickCrescentCity_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I stopped in late trying to find a room the first Saturday of spring break (oops). I was impressed by the new decor and remodel right off. The room was gorgeous and cheaper than the chains in Brookings and Gold Beach. They said they wanted the hotel to feel like home and it did. Every staff member wished me a good morning, which was something I haven't experienced before. Also, breakfast at the restaurant was really good.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith River
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
14.2 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
417 reviews
14.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
435 reviews
6.7 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
356 reviews
14.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Redwood Coast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge

Property: Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
Address: 350 N Indian Rd, Smith River, CA 95567-9474
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Smith River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Howonquet Lodge at the Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel resort is located right on Hwy 101 in Smith River, California, just 8 miles from Brookings and 17 miles from Crescent City. During your stay you can play in the Casino featuring over 300 slot machines, blackjack, poker and bingo! Sign up for a Player's Club membership to receive special offers and extra benefits throughout the property. Along with a 24-hour casino the property also includes the House of Howonquet Restaurant, Club 7 Sports Bar, Gift Shop, and Fuel Mart. Enjoy a drink in the sports bar and watch any game on one of the seven TV's and two 80" TV's. Before you hit the road fill-up at the fuel mart with the lowest prices in the area and take advantage of the discount liquor, tobacco and fuel prices! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing