We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Monday in Summer...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Smith River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Rubio Oceanfront Lodging
Ranked #1 of 4 Smith River B&B and Inns
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One Monday in Summer...”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

There were vacancies in both the Cabin and the Suite. I had a choice and chose the suite for its straight-on ocean view from the wall-to-wall front window. The Cabin will wait; that will be my choice for a romantic episode as it is cozier with a small fireplace and ocean view from the Queen bed.

The King bed in the Suite is phenomenally comfortable. Marlene, as host, was welcoming and informative and - as other reviews have mentioned - management withdrew to leave the experience unsupervised. I still don't know what time checkout is, noonish, I guess. Lovely freedom.

I have knocked off a star for the pans available in the kitchenette. They could be of higher quality and not cheap scratched Teflon. It's a lovely place to relax and enjoy the Pacific Ocean at the OR/CA border.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pianofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    3
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
26
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent 4 days at Casa Rubio in the late Spring. The accommodations were wonderful, the customer service was superior and the property was more than we could have hoped for. The people who run Casa Rubio go out of their way to make you feel welcome and yet manage to stay completely "behind the scenes" unless you need something. This hotel has super easy beach access, beautiful grounds and even a "house puppy" to greet you in the gardens. The sound of the beach day and night is exactly what we were looking for and we weren't disappointed one bit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedjack43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Casa Rubio was such a delightful surprise. We visited in early spring when the gardens were just coming to life. The grounds are stunning! We had an incredible ocean view with a well maintained path to the beach right outside our front door. Our newly-renovated room included a fully stocked kitchen, full dining table, sitting area with TV, desk and all the amenities we needed. We spent our evenings sitting in our own private green space watching the ocean and stars. If you want accommodations on the California/Oregon border that feel like an island paradise, but aren't priced like one - this is the place!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

It is so rare to find a place where the view from the room exceeds expectations!!! We stayed in The Suite which is spacious and has all the comforts of home including a very comfy bed. Hank took the time to help us with the perfect restaurant choice. A fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmahonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights in late September - its really beautiful around this place and everyone working here was very helpful and welcoming (from food suggestions to having a to leave a day early). Perfect place to slow down!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ffly1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We wanted to stay in the nest but it was taken for that night so the owner upgraded us to the studio but when we got there we were upgraded again to the cabin. You will not meet any nicer people who run this beautiful gem right on the ocean. The cabin has anything you will ever need to make your stay special including a full kitchen. And the view of the ocean is spectacular. The gardens are very special and if you like hummingbirds this is the place for you as they are all over. Special recognition has to go to Tony who so lovingly cares for the landscape. We can't wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: Any accommodation in this Inn will be the best place you have ever stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ver0beachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 3 families staying in the cottage, studio and suite. Each family had their own personal space which was perfect! The rooms are right on the ocean, about a one minute walk to the virtually empty beach. Each unit was stocked with kitchen supplies and was clean. There is no daily housekeeping service but that was ok with us. If you need something the innkeeper provides it for you. If we travel to this area again I would absolutely stay here again. It was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith River
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
2.7 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
16.8 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
989 reviews
17.1 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
435 reviews
6.1 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#8 of 8 in Brookings
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rubio Oceanfront Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rubio Oceanfront Lodging

Property: Casa Rubio Oceanfront Lodging
Address: 17285 Crissey Rd, Smith River, CA 95567
Region: United States > California > Smith River
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Smith River
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Casa Rubio Oceanfront Lodging Hotel Smith River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing