We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way would I sleep here.”
Review of Ship Ashore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Smith River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ship Ashore Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No way would I sleep here.”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I stumbled across this place by accident. We asked if we could see a room so as to know what kind of shape it was in. The room had a bad smell like old urine coming from the bathroom. The drapes were stained and very tacky. This could be a great place if the owners would upgrade the rooms. The beds are old and all the furnishings are way out dated. We liked the restrant and bar but didn't stay to eat. It's a shame they don't fix this place up or sell it to someone who will.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank englishtearose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    10
    2
    13
See reviews for
12
31
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My hubby and I needed to getaway, but only had 3 days, so Ship Ashore Resort was the place. Staff was wonderful fitting us into a spur of the moment, and very pleasent when we arrived. We felt very welcomed. The room was great! Clean, large, with jacuzzi tub and a view to die for. We spent the weekend on the Deck! It was everything we needed, quite, clean and the resturant was very nice.
We will escape there again.

Room Tip: Stayed in the north wing, very nice, single room with king bed, deck, and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simpletimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at Ship Ashore this past weekend. Very pleased with the whole enviroment. The hotel is older but was very clean. The view is awesome, all rooms have a view of the Smith River and the ocean. Hotel manager was very friendly and very helpful. Also a big plus it is pet friendly and prices are great. I will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I havent been to Ship Ashore for about 15 years. I was very excited to visit. After arriving, I became very saddened over what I had seen. This place used to be amazing in every way. They have always had absolutely top service, accommodations and so much to offer. Upon our stay, my husband and I learned that since the original owner died, the place has gone to waste. The building is literally falling apart. The rooms are still very clean, and the service and staff are all absolutely wonderful, but the building structures are in huge need of updating and much repair. This property has a beautiful view and this place had made such a good name for itself. It is so very sad to see it falling to ruin because someone who now owns it obviously just doesnt care. :(
The food is still top natch, as is the service. There are obviously employees there who care about the place and their customers. We left an extra huge tip and hope something is done soon to save this once beautiful establishment.
All in all, it is clean, peaceful, amazing food, and they have great service. The breakfast was great, and they have affordable prices.

Room Tip: All their rooms have a great view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Fished the Chetco River on Monday at 5:30am. Got to the hotel late the night before,

Found the after poking along in the coastal fog. The room was nice enough. Could hear the waves outside the door.

Room Tip: Just can't really say. Never saw the place with daylight. But it was clean, plenty of Hot Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have to agree with most of the reviewers about Ship Ashore.For a secluded beautiful, romantic night, we often visit si this great spot.Since we live in a neighboring city, it makes a nice couples getaway. We love the small cabins with in room hot tub and the deck is nice for a quiet picnic in the afternoon.The restaurant has nice no frills food with good service.It can be a little crowded during salmon season,but winter is blustery and awesome under the covers! For night life there is a lounge and a casino about 1/2 mile away. Also very affordable a must visit experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bouncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Many hotels in Brookings OR and Crescent City CA are tiny, packed full of tourists, and have no food or crappy food. The Ship is about 10 mi south of Brookings and well worth it. It was beautiful (right on the mouth of the Smith river), rooms were fine, and the lounge area was AWESOME. Perfect view, great service, FREE WIRELESS, and food was amazing. I had the prime rib and my wife had the halibut and it was the best we ate on our northern CA/southern OR adventure. YAHTZEE!

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith River
0.9 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
7.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Inn
13.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
Best Western Plus Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
987 reviews
13.7 mi away
Oceanfront Lodge
Oceanfront Lodge
#15 of 18 in Crescent City
434 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Ashore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Ashore Resort

Property: Ship Ashore Resort
Address: 12370 Highway 101 North, Smith River, CA 95567
Region: United States > California > Smith River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Ship Ashore Hotel Smith River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing