We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a great spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ship Ashore Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Smith River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ship Ashore Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Still a great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Yes it is a little dated, yes it could use a "UPDATE" but the scenic treasure of this place trumps all that. Rooms are clean and the staff is fantastic. Has a web special that included a prime rib dinner for two. I keep going back.This place is at the mouth of the Smith River. Wildlife abound. The otters play in the river at night, while the local bird hang out during the day. Off the main road no noise.Even has tent sights. Good on property restaurant and lounge.

Room Tip: All are facing the River and Ocean. Honeymoon Suite has hot tub. set in the hot tub and look out the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justonevoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    10
    2
    13
See reviews for
12
31
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

The area is quite rural, but the Ship Ashore is decent and facility was clean. It does need a lot of updating, but it is located in a rustic area so not unexpected. I missed dinner by a few minutes but the hotel owners advised going up the road to the casino, which worked out just fine. The night was quiet and it was foggy so I couldnt see any of the water areas to give an opinion.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Me and my husband have stayed here several times and really like the rooms. They are a older hotel but very nice. Right on the ocean, clean rooms, big bath tub for soaking. And the food in the bar is great, alway cooked just right and large portions.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel is older, built in the 60's, but the setting can't be beat. Quiet, peaceful, and a view of the Smith River out the sliding door made it feel more like a cruise ship. Don't misunderstand, the hotel is older and first impressions were a bit negative. But the place is unique. We took advantage of a two night stay, with prime rib dinner, for $150. The prime rib dinner was first rate, and the restaurant staff was well trained. Oh, and don't fail to take a walk along the river, to the ocean. We loved watching the sea lions and otters watching us, as we walked. We'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sugar1addict3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The Ship Ashore suffers from neglect and the overall feeling we got was that the owner doesn't care to spend the time, effort or money to do basic improvements or even the maintenance needed to keep ahead of deterioration. The balcony is a prime example. The wood is weathered and the balcony is in disrepair to the point of being a little scary. In addition, a child or pet could easily slip between the railing slats and the railing itself seemed structurally weak.

The room was clean other than the upholstered chairs, which were covered with pet hair. Since the carpet was free of hair, I suspect the housekeeper just overlooked the chairs when vacuuming – easy to do. The mattress was way too firm for us, the sheets didn’t provide quite enough coverage and the small baseboard heater would not put out more heat despite being turned on high.

According to family who live locally, the restaurant used to be great. Sadly, it appears to be suffering the same fate as the motel, serving dinner only and only in the lounge. The continental breakfast was a pleasant surprise. Not only did we not realize there was a continental breakfast offered, but the selection was pretty good – several cold cereal choices, pastries, yogurt, instant oatmeal and fresh fruit.

The Ship Ashore has great potential but if the owner doesn’t take care of the deferred maintenance soon, I’m afraid it will decay to the point of no return. I’d like to give it at least 3 stars but based on what we saw, unless the owner starts taking a little interest in improving the place, I doubt it will even rate 2 stars soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Smith River hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This place is a diamond in the rough...it is dated but the interior is sparkling, the towels are large and fluffy, the views are priceless of the Smith River and slightly further west, the Pacific Ocean. Very quiet and restaurant is fantastic.

Forgo Best Western and stay here!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the Annex at the end of the grouping as far away from the main office. We loved it; very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

The sad part of this review is how dilapidated everything has been allowed to become. This spot has tremendous wildlife views, the restaurant has some of the best food in the area and is such a hidden treasure. After staying in one of the houses that is decidedly run down (sadly I will add since it was so comfortable) we decided to have my Mom's memorial service catered by the restaurant, because we were doing a Life Celebration instead of doom and gloom. The room(s) they set up for us to use were perfect for the 40 invited guests and the service was great. The menu was salad and sandwiches buffet (which were specifically set up for easy access) and was lovely. This place really needs to do a come back, because the staff are wonderful, the wildlife abundant and its such a fine place to relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smith River
0.9 mi away
Lucky 7 Casino & Hotel – Howonquet Lodge
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beachfront Inn
13.4 mi away
Ocean View Inn & Suites
Ocean View Inn & Suites
#2 of 18 in Crescent City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Anchor Beach Inn
Anchor Beach Inn
#8 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
7.6 mi away
Ocean Suites
Ocean Suites
#2 of 8 in Brookings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
13.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Northwoods Inn
#3 of 18 in Crescent City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship Ashore Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship Ashore Resort

Property: Ship Ashore Resort
Address: 12370 Highway 101 North, Smith River, CA 95567
Region: United States > California > Smith River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Smith River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Ship Ashore Hotel Smith River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing