We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we had one on the East Coast!”
Review of Rubio's

Rubio's
Ranked #23 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Price range: US$5 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wish we had one on the East Coast!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a great place to grab food and take it back to eat where you are staying or at Fletcher's Cove. This is not a fancy place so don't be mistaken. It is essentially fast food but, the food is fresh and very tasty and the service was very good and friendly. The restaurant is clean although we did not eat in it. We had a really hard time finding well-ranked places to eat dinner in Solana Beach with kids. All the high ranked places were breakfast and lunch only so dinner time was a bit difficult. We were staying in a condo right on the beach and, to be quite honest, most nights I wanted to sit in our beachfront condo and watch the sun set. Rubio's allowed us to get a good meal quickly and not miss the sunset.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quito
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic Fish Tacos Spot”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place is excellent for kids or just for a tasty bite to eat when you need something quick and convenient. I've been eating at Rubio's for well over a decade now and for tasty food, convenience, and a quick meal it can't be beat. Not your typical fast food joint, Rubio's tacos and burritos are always good and fresh tasting, service is friendly and efficient, and the place is always clean and spotless.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank atlarge4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hate Mexican Food!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Look, I despise Mexican food so I didn't really enjoy it! So, instead of going there, I went to get pizza. Pizza is way better than all Mexican food! Just saying.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty Hill, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We drove12.5 hrs through 3 states like a laser guided missile to our favorite S. CA restaurant!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We drove 12.5 hrs, across 3 states, and made a direct bee-line for Rubio's. Turned our kids onto the fish tacos, although the fish burrito is still my all-time fave. Although our trip took us away from S. Ca, we were still able to hit Rubio's another 2 times in 3 days. C'mon Rubio's! Come to Texas!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Molly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value for fish tacos”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Can't beat the price for fish tacos. And, they are quite tasty.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank uscchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubio's also viewed

 

Been to Rubio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing