We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Rubio's”
Review of Rubio's

Rubio's
Ranked #22 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite Rubio's”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Rubio's was created in San Diego by an SDSU graduate so every location has a beachy feeling. The Solana Beach restaurant is next to the beach so the customers are in swimwear or even wetsuits! The menu has a good variety and they have never refused my customizations. The food is tasty and healthy Mexican food.

Helpful?
Thank GlutenFreeInSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    11
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cool aquarium”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

They have some really lonely fish swimming in a cool aquarium that my kids really like. I am not to impressed with Rubios. Solana Beach has better taco shops. Try Rudy's on Stevens ave.
But, Rubios. Is close the beach and take out is kinda easily available for a lunch or dinner seaside for a sunset!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wish we had one on the East Coast!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is a great place to grab food and take it back to eat where you are staying or at Fletcher's Cove. This is not a fancy place so don't be mistaken. It is essentially fast food but, the food is fresh and very tasty and the service was very good and friendly. The restaurant is clean although we did not eat in it. We had a really hard time finding well-ranked places to eat dinner in Solana Beach with kids. All the high ranked places were breakfast and lunch only so dinner time was a bit difficult. We were staying in a condo right on the beach and, to be quite honest, most nights I wanted to sit in our beachfront condo and watch the sun set. Rubio's allowed us to get a good meal quickly and not miss the sunset.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stacey086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Classic Fish Tacos Spot”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place is excellent for kids or just for a tasty bite to eat when you need something quick and convenient. I've been eating at Rubio's for well over a decade now and for tasty food, convenience, and a quick meal it can't be beat. Not your typical fast food joint, Rubio's tacos and burritos are always good and fresh tasting, service is friendly and efficient, and the place is always clean and spotless.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank atlarge4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Fe, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hate Mexican Food!”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Look, I despise Mexican food so I didn't really enjoy it! So, instead of going there, I went to get pizza. Pizza is way better than all Mexican food! Just saying.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saylor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rubio's also viewed

 

Been to Rubio's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing