We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place, location, price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Laprairie
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent place, location, price”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

breakfast included, internet included, clean room , comfortable bed, quite, clean, lots of theings to do, fridge in room, inside parking, safe ! all very good, and worth the price, and no suprises for extra charges.
breakfast was good, fresh, hot. Holiday inns are sporting this new pancake maker, and replacing that annoying (beeping) messy, waffel maker :-) . the eggs were good when they just come out.
the coffe was a little week. would be nice to have 2 choices for coffee.
the pool was very nice, and the outside sauna also. close to the beach, with many choices for dinning near by.
two thing dissapointing was the excersise room, 3 out of 4 excersise machine were broken, but I guess they will fix that soon. and the other was my tv flickered evertime the compressor on the fridge stoped.. wierd. thay changed the frigde, but it happened again, Im sure they will fix also shortly.
I will be back here iF I ever return to this area.

Room Tip: ask for pool view, the balconey is bigger, but it might be noisier..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucylee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know how your stay was with us. So glad to hear that our rooms along with some of our amenities such as our hot buffet breakfast and heated pool made your stay memorable. We want to apologize for any inconvenience that our fitness center's condition might have caused. We are in the process of upgrading our exercise machines and updating the fitness center all together. We will address the TV/refrigerator issue with maintenance. Hopefully we will see you back soon so you can enjoy the finish product. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    91
    61
    15
    21
See reviews for
86
48
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ABQ, NM
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

The staff here was very friendly and the breakfast was different each morning of our stay. The location is superb-super close to the beach and the highway with great restaurants nearby. The room was clean, but take into consideration that this is NOT new construction as you hear the pipes and squeaky doors early in the am. The property is doing the best it can with its old bones! The pool was nice, but the light in the hottub was out and it seemed a bit questionable as our family took a dip after dark. We loved the balcony and the morning breeze, just double check the lock upon entering the room and before bed. We will probably stay a the Mira Mesa or La Jolla HIEX next time.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nicole_all52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, 22 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thank you for acknowledging the great staff we have along with our location and amenities. As you mentioned, we are working on upgrading our property and appreciate the fact that you have pointed out areas that need further improvement. We will forward your comments to the appropriate personnel so that we can better serve you and future guests. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Easy stroll to beach access from hotel...a just slightly further stroll to the park if you want to avoid stairs. Beautiful area in Solana Beach on Hwy 101. Enjoyed the breakfast, plenty of warm food beyond continental. Clean room, helpful folks at the front desk...oh yeah, cookies too! Loved the balcony. Recommended hotel, for sure. Very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Tip about Solana Beach in general: plastic shopping bags have been banned, paper bags are charged f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pacificnorthwestlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for such a "great" review. We love it when we hear that our hotel's location is perfect for our guests. As you mentioned we are just a short walk to the beack, park and restaurants. You have everything needed to enjoy your time in Solana Beach. But before you start exploring, we ensure that every guest gets a nice clean room with amenities such as our hot buffet breakfast to get your day started on the right foot! It is our staff's mission to provide great service each and every time. We are happy to hear that our staff met your expectations. By the way, the cookies in the evening are very popular! Glad you had a chance to have some. Thanks again, and we look forward to seeing you soon in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The front desk clerks were very welcoming. My room was a nice size and clean. It had a small table and two chairs instead of a comfy sitting chair, which I would have preferred. It is across the street from beach access steps. There are many restaurants nearby. It is a 15 minute walk from Solana Beach train station (Amtrak & Coaster). The breakfast room is large with an attendant. Many choices available with hot and cold entrees.
I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side toward Sierra Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did during your stay. Happy to hear that our friendly staff was able to offer you a nice clean room. We strive to have the best staff along with great amenities that our guests can appreciate such as the hot buffet breakfast. What better way to start the day then with a hearty meal! After that, you can enjoy a walk to the beach or have lunch at one of the many restaurants located close to our hotel. We hope to see you back soon so you can enjoy Solana Beach a little more. Please contact us whenever you make it back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I spend a lot of time in Solana Beach during the Winter and I always stay at this Holiday Inn Express. They treat me like royalty and I get upgrades on my room and usually get the same room that I like next to the rear exit so I can get right out to my car without walking down a hallway. They give me lots of free waters and cookies. I bike ride every day and they are right on the main bike route so I take off riding right from my room. Great restaurants within walking distance too. Perfect location, I love it here. It was fine before the remodel, but it has definitely been upgraded with the remodel. Well done, everything looks great and clean as always.

Room Tip: If you have a room at the far end of the hallway then just park at the far end of the underneath par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Thank you so much for your continued patronage. We are overjoyed to hear that we have met and exceeded your expectations each and every time. As you mentioned, we are working extremely hard to upgrade our property to keep loyal guests like yourself happy. Without your business we would not be here!!! We look forward to seeing you back soon. Again, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnston, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

After reading the reviews regarding this hotel, I was nervous about staying here. Turns out our room had recently been remodeled and all of it was very nice except the bathroom area. I couldn't tell if they had finished or if that was as good as the bathroom was going to get. Regardless, it really didn't matter since we weren't staying but 3 nights. The hotel was in a nice location since we were visiting the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and Legoland in Carlsbad. It wasn't quite "right on the beach" as I had expected but it was a very short walk to get to the access area where we watched the sun set one evening. My 8 year old son and I went to the pool area to swim in the evening but were disppointed with how dirty the pool and hot tub were. They were both filled with bugs, two nights in a row. All 3 of us were very pleased with the breakfast provided, that was great. All of the staff was quite friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy to hear that our proximity to the beach was to your liking. We are but a walk away! As you mentioned, we are in the middle of finishing renovations and we are in fact doing the bathrooms now. We should be completely done soon. Glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and our apologies for the pool area not being properly maintained. We will address that with our staff to ensure that our guests get to enjoy it the right way.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you come back to see the full remodel done. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I return to the Solana area every year..sometimes more than once in a summer. This holiday inn has been my hotel for years now. I always have a clean (nice smelling too!) room. The beach is a comfortable walk away. Its not fancy and the coaster is across the street, so if your sensitive to that don't go, but for the price and location its a good deal. And the staff at the front desk...they treat us like VIP'S everytime. I believe her name is BRENDA....she's the bomb...I love to see that she is still there when I go back. Overall good place for the mid to low cost places. I will go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferralcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thanks for your kind words. Glad to hear that we are meeting your expectations each and every time. We appreacite your patronage! We do our very best to have clean and comfortable accommodations for every single guest. All of this is complimented by the great staff we have. We look forward to seeing you soon yet again.

Thank you!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
1.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
2.6 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
119 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Property: Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Address: 621 South Hwy 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing