We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My first stay with this property & brand was awesome. I usually stay at Courtyard & did not enjoy my last stay there & moved to this location. The reviews made me a nervous but from front desk to rooms to breakfast & pool , it was all more than I expected. I would definitely come back & recommend my colleagues to stay here from now on.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sapnakotr k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Wow! Thanks so much for such a nice review!! We are glad that you gave us a chance and we were able to meet your expectations. We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. Please come back and visit us soon!! Thanks again for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

The Hotel is on a very busy road, the Rooms and common parts (hallways) are dirty, tired and frankly very unattractive.
My Room was less than perfunctory in it's decor, cleanliness and overall 'tired' feel.
I felt like I was in a cheap dirty Motel rather than a modern global brand name.
Reception Staff couldn't have cared less about being professional or helpful, and overall even though I was only there one night as I was heading on to Laguna Beach & Santa Monica, I couldn't wait to check-out.
The place was thoroughly depressing.
Avoid it and try almost anywhere else.

My goodness do get yourself to the nearby Pizza Port however for the best, tastiest most delicious darn Pizza I've ever tatsed anywhere!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PercipientDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your honesty. We want our guests to let us know when we need to improve. We will be addressing all these issues with the proper departments. We want to ensure that this does not occur with any future guests. We hope you give us a second chance if you ever visit Solana Beach again. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here twice visiting our UCSD student and love the location. Great neighborhood to walk, close to beach. Friendly , clean, comfy hotel. And the breakfast is a plus! Close to restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KathyC159_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you have made us your home away from home. We want all of our guests to experience stays just like yours when they choose to stay with us. We hope to see you back soon for a third time!!! Thanks and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting friends and sight seeing in San deigo...great rooms and great value and all the staff were wonderful. Very clean rooms and spacious. Great access to public transport to get to San Diego...just a short train ride and a great little shopping centre. Good restaurant close by.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thanks for such a nice review. This is the type of stay that we strive to give all of our guests. We are delighted to hear that we managed to do just that. We take pride in offering great amenities at a great location. Along with this we strive to have a great staff that compliments all that we offer. Come back and visit us soon. Thanks again and we will see you later!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This HI is in a good location, we checked in at night so couldn't see much of the place. Parking is in an underground type area which was kind of creepy. I had reserved this a month prior to our visit, called on the phone so I could get on the group rate ($114) for the reason we were staying. On phone, no problem. When I checked in, the desk gave me the going rate of $149 and then it jumped to $169 for the Fri/Sat. The desk could not help me due to it being 9pm and no manger on duty, so they told me to call the next day which I did.
The manager, a female, told me that under no circumstances was she going to honor the group rate which I reserved since I did not have an email confirmation from them. It did not matter that I had a confirmation number, nor did it matter that in the notes she read me from her computer it said "request group rate for -----, and 2 beds" ...I did not have that email that they never sent me. Told me she would grant me the group rate for the previous night, and then it would be back to the $149 rate, like she was doing me a big favor. Once I told her no, it was not my fault that they didn't send me an email confirmation, she sarcastically said that she would call around for another hotel for me if I needed help! Really? Wow, business must be that good. Why on earth would I stay at this place for $149 - $169 when I can stay at a fabulous hotel like the Doubletree by Hilton for the same price? Which is what I did. Drove right down and checked out.
I will say that the kind man at the desk when I checked out apologized over and over, even though he had nothing to do with it. A class act. Said he just wanted the customers to be happy and he took full responsibility for my unhappiness with the place. Told him again it was not his fault and thanked him for his great customer service, but I was on my way to a much better hotel. The manager? Hid in her office even though the nice gentleman told her I was there.
By the way, the room we had for the one night had comfy beds. Room smelled of stale smoke and the air was shut off which didn't help. Small bathroom with some kind of plastic type shower. Carpet felt dirty and bathroom floor sticky. Nothing special. I'm sure HI will have some rebuttal after my negative review. Terrible management.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheV's
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations this time around. We appreciate you letting us know where we need to improve to better service our guests. We hope that you give us another chance to show you that we value and appreciate every guests. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed at the HI Express in Solana Beach May 14-16. Property was in excellent condition and the people were very professional and helpful. Room was in fine shape. Did not use the breakfast or pool facilities but it looked nice as well. Under-cover parking free. Front desk sent a fax for me at no charge and many hotels would not do that for you. The price was extremely affordable for the location. Would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greatdaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Wow! Thanks for such a nice review. Sounds like you were here on busines and we are happy to hear that our amenities came in handy. Sorry to hear you did not get to try out the breakfast and pool area. There you go you got a reason to come back and visit us soon. We look forward to seeing you soon and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I stayed one night during the weekday to get a way from a busy schedule that I have. The beds were very comfortable and everyone was very nice. The hotel was great from the lobby to my room. We were able to walk to the beach and also a great Thai restaurant that was close by. The pool was heated so that was really nice too. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marisol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HinnExpress, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2013

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay with us. We strive to have a great location that offers great accommodations and amenities. Thank you for choosing us for your getaway please come and visit us again soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
2.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
1.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar

Address: 621 S Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: £77 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Solana Beach, Del Mar is perfect for every aspect a guest would stay for! It's a beautiful city with access to almost anything you are may be looking you. Its well known for its beach, where you can relax or take a nice jog, which is just walking distance from the hotel. There are many local attractions that aren't far: Legoland, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, and many more. Not only is the city itself a beautiful location, but The Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers 80 spacious rooms. Each room features a private balcony, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and many more attributes! To make your stay even better, we offer complimentary breakfast, and a relaxing Pool and Jacuzzi. Efficiency is key to many guests, we have free Wi-Fi and many delicious restaurants that are close as a block away. If you are coming for business, relaxation, excitement or just for simple fun, we are here to make this stay special. Our friendly staff will always be happy to help to make your stay unique and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Holiday Inn Solana Beach
Solana Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing