We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent breakfast - traditional and unique food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Claire's on Cedros

Claire's on Cedros
Ranked #1 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are a cafe and bakery located in the heart of Solana Beach. We specialize in fresh, homemade, California-style comfort food as well as a variety of homemade breads, pastries and desserts. We are family friendly, dog friendly, and most of all just plain friendly, so come on in and check us out!
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast - traditional and unique food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Four of us had breakfast and it was all sublime. Several of us had standard eggs and toast breakfast and others had fritatta and pancakes which were delicious as well. I had them substitute avocado for a side with my eggs and there was no extra charge even though it was a full half of an avocado! The coffee is good. Service was fast, friendly and courteous. Not a fancy place, but not a greasy spoon either. Parking can be limited and it is a busy place, so there may be a wait.
Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    86
    19
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Had to wait for a table but what a table it turned out to be: outside, tucked away from everyone else...it was like a private party. The Tuscan pork sandwich was ordered by 2 of us and they declared it was wonderful. So was the creamy breakfast polenta with a melange of mushrooms. Another had the beet salad and that was OK but not as yummy as the other 3. Staff was pleasant and service did not lag although it was a busy Sunday brunch time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank PastYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We first found Claire' s when we were looking for a breakfast place on one of our trips to San Diego. This was suggested to us when we asked one of the staff where they thought the best breakfast place was. They were right!
It is a cozy, cute out of the way restaurant worth looking for. Seating is both inside and out on a lovely private patio.
We took our family in April ( 9 adults, 3 children) and everybody enjoyed their meal, not an easy feat with our group. My son and I each had a scone, one of the best I have ever had; two others had different omelets and thought each one was delicious; my daughter, a fussy eater, had hash and thought it was the best. My son-in-law had French toast and eggs and ate every bit of it. The others had a variety of things on the menu and not one dish went back with any food on it.
Claire's will be on our list whenever we are in the San Diego area, worth the trip form anywhere in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 412maryw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place for a meeting ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This is a great place for a breakfast meeting . Easy to park between the on property and the train station across the street . Nice food selections to meet any taste and diet. All cooked to perfection . Tasty coffee and teas selection to compliment the bakery choices .

Helpful?
Thank Russ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breakfast Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Tucked away in Solana Beach on Cedros with minimal parking this place is worth the wait for a great breakfast. Try any of the three pancakes along with home baked pastries. Only been there for breakfast, but would expect lunch to also be a delight

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellie1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claire's on Cedros also viewed

Solana Beach, CA
 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 

Been to Claire's on Cedros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing