We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winners Circle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Downingtown, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

We booked our stay through an RCI trade, and considered it a great trade. The outside of the resort is a bit dated and shows signs of wear. The resorts units are all in the process of being refurbished so maybe once they are completed they will work on the exterior. The interior pool area was beautiful with a nice sized pool, jacuzzi and grilling area (top of the line stainless steel grills). This area was landscaped beautifully with flowers palm trees etc...A wonderful place to relax after a long day of sight seeing. The room we stayed in (a mini suite) was newly refinished with new furniture, very clean and had maid service every day. It had a queen sized bed, a small table with two chairs and a mini kitchen and full bathroom. It was perfert for my husband and I. Our unit had a patio that opened right to the pool. We loved it!! The resort is very clean and the staff was very curtious and pleasant. The resort is located directly across the street from Del Mar Race Track which was closed at the time, but would be convient to visit during open season. The resort is in a wonderful location for sight seeing in the area. Close to La Jolla, San Diego, Old Town, Mission Bay, Torry Pines ( a must see) Del Mar....Just a great an convient location. We arrived early and were checked in right away. Definately worth the visit we would return!!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank elciesbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    74
    22
    3
    9
See reviews for
91
68
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We were at Winner's Circle for the first time this year. The apartment was great, as was the location. We liked it so much we are back there next year.

  • Liked — The Location, plus 2 bathrooms
  • Disliked — The ants
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crewelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

My wife and I traded a week of our timeshare to stay at this San Diego area resort. The previous reviews are right; it is aging, but they do keep it up fairly well. We had a 1 bedroom condo and kitchen. The condo was nice and clean, although it was starting to get to be that time to replace carpets, do simple touch-ups in the bathrooms, just little things. The suite was functional. The kitchen had everything we needed - even tupperware for leftovers. The balcony overlooked the street, but the view was still nice. The pool and hot tub was clean and adequate. There were barbecues outside by the pool, and the supermarket was about 1/2 mile down Via de la Valle. The staff was very polite on check-in and check-out.

The resort is about 1 block off I-5, but you can't hear the traffic that much. Very convenient - only 20 min drive to all the attractions of San Diego and surrounding area (about 2 hours to Orange County attractions). There are malls down the street and many restaurants. The beach is about 1/2 mile away, about the same as the train station. You definitely need a car, and parking was really not that bad - they give you a pass, and they keep the restaurant patrons out of the parking lot below the units. We never tried the tennis courts.

It was a great timeshare holiday, and a very nice resort.

  • Liked — Convenient location, clean
  • Tips/Secrets — Try not to go during horse racing season, bring or rent a vehicle to get to attractions and shopping
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank pharmacist2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2005

This is an older resort, but very clean with modern and comfortable furniture and applicances. The only drawback was that the parking was not adequate for guests. Much of the front parking lot was used for valet parking for the nearby restaurant.

Isn't a lot to do if you have children. I brought my 14-year-old daughter and 11-year-old niece. They played ping pong and swam. That was the extent of the activities. Because Solana Beach is so close to the beach (less than a mile), we spent a lot of time checking the different beaches out. Solana Beach is a nice surfer town. They have Cedros District which has funky, different galleries, shops, and restaurants. Nearby is Del Mar, Carlsbad and La Jolla. Solana Beach is about 20-30 minutes from San Diego.

Solano itself is town you can appreciate on foot. It is quaint with its one-of-a-kind shops and galleries.

Driving isn't bad (unless you go during the horse racing season, you will come across traffic on the main street Via De Valle).

Solano is small so I would recommend having a car.

  • Stayed August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank goddessofdesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2004

I booked this through Fairfield/RCI timeshares. The room was much bigger than expected, had a living room, kitchen, vanity, and balcony. The staff was friendly. The room was very well equipped and nicely decorated.

Helpful?
15 Thank Rissanela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2004

Spent a week with this hotel as my base of operations for the San Diego area. Just far enough from the city to get some privacy, and close enough to the beach for some real R&R.

The resort itself is quite tiny, and stuck between two popular restaurants, which makes dining out convenient, however, I pity those who had suites on the sides as trucks came in to unload food early every day. Other than this, and being only a few blocks from the Freeway, I found the place quite quiet and relaxing.

It is a bit of a ways to the beach and the Coaster train, however, so you do need a car to get around.

  • Stayed September 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank WaveKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.0 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
115 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Property: Winners Circle Resort
Address: 550 Via de La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing