We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for California Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winners Circle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This trip was to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary! It was our fourth time to the San Diego area and our first time to Winners Circle. We booked a one bedroom/two bath through an RCI exchange. Our unit was not renovated, but met all of our needs. In fact, we liked not being poolside because our unit was nice and quiet! The truth is we were not in the unit much because we like to explore everything the area has to offer!

We attended the San Clemente Beach Festival and the Master's Art Pageant in Laguna Beach. We love to drive up and down the coast and find places to eat and enjoy the different beaches. This trip we discovered Hideaway Cafe in Solana Beach and went twice for a great breakfast experience. We spent one afternoon at the Torrey Pines Gliderport watching the awesome parasailers.

It was our first time to experience live horse racing at the Del Mar Race Track! Wednesdays are free entry and the resort offers a free shuttle, which is a nice service! Parking at Del Mar is $15.00.

Our favorite Mexican restaurant is Los Olas at Cardiff by the Sea. The Barona Casino is our favorite for gaming and excellent dining!

Winners Circle was great for easy access to the I-5. Housekeeping came every day, which is unusual at resorts these days. The condo did not have a safe, but the resort offers a free lock box in the lobby, with 24 hour access. The pool area and clubhouse were quite nice, but we did not use them. I liked the fire pit area and we saw families playing ping pong each day. Winners Circle is the size resort that we enjoy and would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: If new features are important, ask for a renovated room. It appears most of the resort has been upd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our second stay at the Winners Circle and just like last time it didn't disappoint. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful with directions, additional shampoo, pillows, etc. The pool is heated and beautiful, the fire at night it romantic and I love being able to grill on vacation! Our room was good, the bed could use an upgrade, being able to cook breakfast was another major plus. Also, we had a first floor room and loved eating out on the patio.
Our only disappoint was with a late night staff member (Fran) who was NOT helpful and rude.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a lot of plans before we got to Winners Circle, but we ended up mostly staying around the resort because we didn't need to go anywhere else to have a great time! My brother, who lives in San Diego, was impressed with the great pool area - heated with hot tub, fire pit area, good size kiddy pool, and immaculate BBQ grills that staff cleaned every night (how cool is that!) Units faced onto courtyard overlooking pool. The first floor units were nice because they had little patios which were a little roomier than the balcony we had. The sofa bed in our one bedroom was actually very comfortable. If you have more than 5 people, you probably want a 2 bedroom, since space is small. We all enjoyed walking everywhere since the weather was perfect and beaches were an easy 10 minutes away. The Coaster train is right by the beach if you want to get to San Diego or up by Oceanside. Amtrak even takes you to Anaheim if you want to zip up to Disneyland. Fares are really inexpensive. I was really impressed with how convenient everything was to just about anything you would want to do.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the pool are really great for families going back and forth to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awomansopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We choose this resort to use for the fair at the race track. We LOVED this place!! So clean, saff was great. We stayed in a studio had the kitchenette and it came with everything. We needed nothing to cook are meals. Their 3 BBQ grills were impeccable. Every morning we check to see if they were cleaned and they were spotless. Makes you feel good about cooking on a clean grill. There were lots of kids at the pool so be prepared for that. They had an awesome club house with big screen tv, pool table kitchenette for any gatherings with friends or family. The resort was just across the street from the fair grounds. It is about a mile from the beach. We are coming back again. Thank you Winners Circle for a great exprience.... See you soon

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Thanks for your wonderful review of Winners Circle Resort. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, clubhouse, and gas grills. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Winners Circle has undergone a renovation over the past few years and the results are exceptional. Our two bed, two bath condo was beautiful and roomy with balconies off the living room and both bedrooms. The grounds are well maintained and there is a kiddie pool, a jacuzzi, and large pool with outdoor grills and a fire pit. Coffee free every morning and the washers and dryers are free as well. WiFi is provided but there is a charge to use the clubhouse computer for Internet access. Using it to print boarding passes is free.
The staff was very helpful and the location is perfect. North is Cardiff, Encinitas, Carlsbad and Oceanside; south is Del Mar and San Diego. Good restaurants everywhere. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Winners Circle Resort. We are very pleased that you liked the remodeled rooms and enjoyed the whole atmosphere. We truly hope you can visit us again very soon. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a two bedroom condo which included two bathrooms also, this worked out very well for us as we were three adults. Very nicely appointed kitchen with all the amenities that you may need in a kitchen. They had a pool, workout area, picnic area and BBQ grills. This time share was worth staying at and it was close to San Diego and all the other local attractions. We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room facing the inside toward the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Winners Circle Resort! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your kitchen and its amenities as well as our central location. We hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This is our 5th time here and it has improved greatly since the first time 4 years ago. Nice rooms we had a 1 bedroom it was one of the newer updated rooms so had a bigger fridge (small apt size} and an oven. One of the best things about their 1 bed rooms is they have 2 bathrooms. It has a great BBQ area and pool area. They have really improved the property and it looks really nice now. It is located across the street from Del Mar Race track and 2 blocks from the beach.
We will be back again and again.

Room Tip: ask for a pool side room they are quieter. But we have never been able to get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BCRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for the review! We are very happy that you enjoyed our location and having two bathrooms in your unit. For the best chance of getting a poolside room, we recommend calling us one week prior to your arrival so we can add the request to your reservation. Sometimes, we can move things around and accommodate such requests. Thank you again for the wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
138 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - Cardiff Beach Area
Holiday Inn Express Encinitas - ...
#2 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Address: 550 Via de La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: £95 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing