We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winners Circle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Fair time so traffic was heavy, but could usually avoied it by using side streets. Nice common area poo,l hot tub and for a small gym was equipped quite well. Helpful staff gave directions and suggestions . Only real draw back was kitchens were under stocked. No measuring cups, they did bring a set up. If you were trying to cook for a family it would have been difficult, for the 2 of us it worked. The place was clean and over all worked well for just a get away week for us. A laundry on site was a plus. Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you have kids the pool side is nice, if not it can be a bit nosey. We had front facing room and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooter65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    72
    22
    3
    9
See reviews for
89
67
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murfreesboro, Tennessee, Usa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This trip was to celebrate our 38th wedding anniversary! It was our fourth time to the San Diego area and our first time to Winners Circle. We booked a one bedroom/two bath through an RCI exchange. Our unit was not renovated, but met all of our needs. In fact, we liked not being poolside because our unit was nice and quiet! The truth is we were not in the unit much because we like to explore everything the area has to offer!

We attended the San Clemente Beach Festival and the Master's Art Pageant in Laguna Beach. We love to drive up and down the coast and find places to eat and enjoy the different beaches. This trip we discovered Hideaway Cafe in Solana Beach and went twice for a great breakfast experience. We spent one afternoon at the Torrey Pines Gliderport watching the awesome parasailers.

It was our first time to experience live horse racing at the Del Mar Race Track! Wednesdays are free entry and the resort offers a free shuttle, which is a nice service! Parking at Del Mar is $15.00.

Our favorite Mexican restaurant is Los Olas at Cardiff by the Sea. The Barona Casino is our favorite for gaming and excellent dining!

Winners Circle was great for easy access to the I-5. Housekeeping came every day, which is unusual at resorts these days. The condo did not have a safe, but the resort offers a free lock box in the lobby, with 24 hour access. The pool area and clubhouse were quite nice, but we did not use them. I liked the fire pit area and we saw families playing ping pong each day. Winners Circle is the size resort that we enjoy and would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: If new features are important, ask for a renovated room. It appears most of the resort has been upd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our second stay at the Winners Circle and just like last time it didn't disappoint. Most of the staff are friendly and helpful with directions, additional shampoo, pillows, etc. The pool is heated and beautiful, the fire at night it romantic and I love being able to grill on vacation! Our room was good, the bed could use an upgrade, being able to cook breakfast was another major plus. Also, we had a first floor room and loved eating out on the patio.
Our only disappoint was with a late night staff member (Fran) who was NOT helpful and rude.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a lot of plans before we got to Winners Circle, but we ended up mostly staying around the resort because we didn't need to go anywhere else to have a great time! My brother, who lives in San Diego, was impressed with the great pool area - heated with hot tub, fire pit area, good size kiddy pool, and immaculate BBQ grills that staff cleaned every night (how cool is that!) Units faced onto courtyard overlooking pool. The first floor units were nice because they had little patios which were a little roomier than the balcony we had. The sofa bed in our one bedroom was actually very comfortable. If you have more than 5 people, you probably want a 2 bedroom, since space is small. We all enjoyed walking everywhere since the weather was perfect and beaches were an easy 10 minutes away. The Coaster train is right by the beach if you want to get to San Diego or up by Oceanside. Amtrak even takes you to Anaheim if you want to zip up to Disneyland. Fares are really inexpensive. I was really impressed with how convenient everything was to just about anything you would want to do.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the pool are really great for families going back and forth to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awomansopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joliet, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We choose this resort to use for the fair at the race track. We LOVED this place!! So clean, saff was great. We stayed in a studio had the kitchenette and it came with everything. We needed nothing to cook are meals. Their 3 BBQ grills were impeccable. Every morning we check to see if they were cleaned and they were spotless. Makes you feel good about cooking on a clean grill. There were lots of kids at the pool so be prepared for that. They had an awesome club house with big screen tv, pool table kitchenette for any gatherings with friends or family. The resort was just across the street from the fair grounds. It is about a mile from the beach. We are coming back again. Thank you Winners Circle for a great exprience.... See you soon

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Thanks for your wonderful review of Winners Circle Resort. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed our friendly staff, clubhouse, and gas grills. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narragansett, RI & Poincian, FL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Winners Circle has undergone a renovation over the past few years and the results are exceptional. Our two bed, two bath condo was beautiful and roomy with balconies off the living room and both bedrooms. The grounds are well maintained and there is a kiddie pool, a jacuzzi, and large pool with outdoor grills and a fire pit. Coffee free every morning and the washers and dryers are free as well. WiFi is provided but there is a charge to use the clubhouse computer for Internet access. Using it to print boarding passes is free.
The staff was very helpful and the location is perfect. North is Cardiff, Encinitas, Carlsbad and Oceanside; south is Del Mar and San Diego. Good restaurants everywhere. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Winners Circle Resort. We are very pleased that you liked the remodeled rooms and enjoyed the whole atmosphere. We truly hope you can visit us again very soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavendish, Vermont
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We had a two bedroom condo which included two bathrooms also, this worked out very well for us as we were three adults. Very nicely appointed kitchen with all the amenities that you may need in a kitchen. They had a pool, workout area, picnic area and BBQ grills. This time share was worth staying at and it was close to San Diego and all the other local attractions. We definitely will be back!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room facing the inside toward the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBG1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Winners Circle Resort! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your kitchen and its amenities as well as our central location. We hope you can visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.0 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Property: Winners Circle Resort
Address: 550 Via de La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing