We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a hidden Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winners Circle Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It's a hidden Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The people that work there are ALL very nice and funny. They go out of their way to accommodate you and make sure you are happy. The biggest thing that you should remember is to tell them to give you a pool view. It makes the BIGGEST difference in the world. At a price of 145 per night my room was huge with a huge balcony, 2 full bathrooms, a bed room, living room, kitchen, and two sliding glass doors to the patio.The one bad thing was when I asked for a razor to shave the one they gave me was by far the worst one I've ever tried to shave with. I ended up going to CVS half shaved, and bloody to get a razor.

Room Tip: get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noshortz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Having fun and ensuring all our guests have a wonderful time is our #1 goal. We'll look into upgrading our complimentary razors, though. Come back and see us again the next time you visit SoCal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    72
    22
    3
    9
See reviews for
89
67
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a casual family beach resort. Our room was very clean with a beautiful patio that over-looked a wonderful floral landscaped pool area. The resort is across the street from the Del Mar race track and a half mile walk to the beach. Try the fish market next door for dinner or take a stroll through Del Mar in the evening. My only complaint is that the room was like taking a step back in time to the early 80's but I would go back again for a family beach week.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your kind comments about our resort. We're happy that you enjoyed the Fish Market and the cleanliness of our property. We are entering the last phase of renovations in January 2015. Please visit us again next year, when our entire resort will be remodeled. As of today, 3/4 of our rooms are remodeled. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Overall this is a clean resort within a beautiful setting.The grounds are lovely and the pool area is very nice, although the pool was busy with kids and families during the times we wanted to use it. The clubhouse featured a big comfortable room with large television, sink, couches and billiard table.They only have one computer which was very slow, and there always people needing to use it. They definitely need about 3 computers for guests to use.One is just not enough, and a slow one at that. The laundry machines were a bonus, and we found then to be very handy.

The room itself was clean and the bed comfortable, however they still had the old tube style flatscreen television. The balcony was small and the table and chairs were far too large for it as we could not get in and out without a tight squeeze.This is something that definitely needs to be changed in the studios.

The maintenance staff do a great job in keeping everything clean. I noticed them cleaning the gas barbecues everyday, which is something I have not seen in alot of other resorts.They were always busy painting a staircase or taking care of the gardens, and it shows beautifully in the overall presentation.

The free Starbucks coffee was great every morning and we had coffee in the room as well. I found the front end staff to be very good, and checking in and out went very well. If I was in the area, I would definitely consider staying at this resort again.Thankyou to everyone, for making my vacation a relaxing one!

Winner's Circle is also in a very good location in Solana Beach. We walked under the I-5 highway to Whole Foods grocery store as well as Albertson's, etc. The #101 bus to La Jolla is up the street if you don't feel like driving into San Diego.Solana Beach also has an Amtrak station and a Coaster station (same place) for easy access in and out of the area.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor away from the pool if you want a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swcgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for all of your comments about our resort. We're thrilled you enjoyed our location and grounds. It's great to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. Please visit us again the next time you come to San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a place to relax and enjoy the surrounding area. They have a very nice pool that is great to use in the evening when there are not many children around. The best time to use it is in the morning when families go elsewhere to tour other places and one can enjoy the peacefulness. There many restaurants close by that one can enjoy. If one is looking to shop for groceries there is a Whole Foods store about a 15 minute walk away that has some of the best prices one can find and there is an Albertson opposite the street that one can get great savings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newone_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing Winners Circle! We're glad you enjoyed the serenity of our pool and courtyard during the morning and evening hours. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Winners Circle Resort is ideally located by Interstate 5, halfway between San Diego and Oceanside. Do you play tennis? You have on site court privileges when you're a WCR guest. Like to swim? The on site pool is excellent, followed by a dip in the Jacuzzi or some time around the fire ring. Like to BBQ? They have two large outdoor gas grills that are wonderfully maintained and cleaned EVERY MORNING by the housekeeping staff. Like the Pacific Ocean? Its 5 to 10 minutes away. You have all timeshare amenities, including a full sized refrigerator, stove, pots, pans dishes glassware and silverware. I've been coming here for 30 years and it's never been better!!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KhunJoe59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review! It sounds like you really took advantage of all the on-site amenities we offer. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at the Winners Circle Resort this year. We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. Very clean, nicely remodeled rooms. I would have given them all 5's except on the Thursday and Friday of our stay the restaurant below our room was blasting loud noise until super late. I had noise machine and ear plugs but still kept me up. We went and complained to front desk and were told no managers work there at night but they would send the restaurant an email. An email? That obviously didn't stop the loud music that night or the next night. Definitely get a room away from restaurant or just be ready to be up all night and w a hotel staff that won't do anything to remedy the problem.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mack9r6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your staff. I apologize that there was not an overnight manager to assist with your problem. Sometimes we are able to switch guests' rooms due to the noise. Unfortunately, the restaurant is a separate business that does have mostly late evening customers. If you plan to visit, please feel free to call ahead and request a room far from the restaurant. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

This place is much better than it used to be, remodeled rooms however lacking in room laundry.
Staff are friendly and services such a WiFi were included, most of these types of rentals don't include these extras. Area is very good, nice shops and beach area close. Furnishings are very cheap looking feeling even though they are newer telephones are the cheapest thing they could find, far too many children on premises, this shoud be an adults only resort, children often ruin the ambiance. Would return again.

Room Tip: Top floor helps avoid noisey guests and children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaquelynW_12, Manager at Winners Circle Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed the free wi-fi, laundry facilities, and parking. We are definitely a family-friendly resort, and your recommendation of a top floor unit to avoid noise is spot on! We hope you can come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.3 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
3.0 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego - Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winners Circle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winners Circle Resort

Property: Winners Circle Resort
Address: 550 Via de La Valle, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2459
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Winners Circle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winners Circle Resort is a boutique style resort hotel located in the heart of Solana Beach, ideally located next to the Del Mar Race Track. Winners Circle Resort is just minutes away from the beautiful beaches of Del Mar, CA and offers spacious studio, one and two-bedroom suites complete with private patio or balcony. Ideally located near the Del Mar racetrack, 20 minutes north of the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and other attractions, the Winners Circle resort is perfectly situated to make the most out of your trip to San Diego. Winners Circle Resort offers free parking, free Wifi, and turnover Service. Additionally, this Del Mar Hotel features on site laundry, on site restaurants, a tennis club, a pool, a hot tub, a clubhouse complete with a pool table, a ping pong table, outdoor gas grills, and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winners Circle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner`s Circle Hotel Solana Beach
Winners Circle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing