We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a restaurant, a take out place, but great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rudy's Taco Shop

Rudy's Taco Shop
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant, a take out place, but great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We went to this place, based on the number 1 ranking and the picture of the restaurant. I've submitted the real picture of their front door to show what to expect. They do have a small deck on which there are a few tables and inside there are 3 small tables but this is, as their sign says, a take out place. We were longing for Mexican food and disappointed at the non-restaurant look of Rudys and that it was empty, so we went to the two other highly ranked spots, Tony's Jacal and Fidel's. Both had more than a 30 minute wait so obviously locals have voted with their presence that for those two restaurants. This all being said, we decided to call in an order to Rudy's and take it out. It was ready within 10 minutes. As suggested in the #1 ranking and the other discussions, the food was/is fabulous and inexpensive. My wife's chili rellenos dish was her best ever and my Carne Asada burrito was packed with delicious meat so, as a take out, Rudy's really is excellent! If you don't mind the look and small space dining there is probably ok also, it is certainly retro..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Carne Asada in a strip mall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

I would have never tried this place with Tripadvisor, and I was still a little nervous when I entered one evening. This place isn't upscale Solana Beach. It reminds me of my childhood in rural Appalachia, with a set of shelves with food products (though Bimbo breads never made it to Appalachia in the 1980s) plus a small food counter. Although there are a few tables outside, I decided to get my food to go - late October isn't warm enough for outdoor eating. For some people, this would make a great date place.

As for the food, I got two regular tacos, one carne asada and one carnitas, for less than $3 each. I should have gotten two carne asada - that one was marvelous! As others have said, the meat is flavorful and not dry. As for the other one, the carnitas, it was fine but I'd rather have Chipotle. If I make it this way again, I'd get all grilled beef.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
145 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Having lived in colonial Mexico for 10 + years, I can highly recommend this great little place.
I had the large tacos with all - one Carnitas and one Carne Asada. Both salsas were outstanding.
Provecho.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank psmsmdagreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had the carne asada tacos - loved them - yummy and fresh. Friendly people, nice little place with a small grocery section as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in a strip mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The best breakfast burritos are made at Rudy's. I always have half for breakfast and the other half for lunch. The service is quick and the food is great. Rudy's is a gem hidden in Solana Beach, and we locals are lucky to know where it is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hedi9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rudy's Taco Shop also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing