We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!”
Review of Beach Grass Cafe

Beach Grass Cafe
Ranked #8 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

My family and I stopped in on our way to la jolla for the day. The breakfast was amazing, menu is dynamic, service was great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cstewart111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    48
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Loved the creative food!”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We visited my granddaughter, who lives in Carlsbad and she picked this place for breakfast. It was so worth the 20 minute drive from her condo. The creative menu made it hard to choose. I ended up ordering the baked eggs with parmesan cheese and baguette. The homemade jam was so delicious. I also loved the pineapple pancakes. The coffee came in a big mug and was fresh and piping hot. I am sure we would go back often if we wouldn't live in Phoenix.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Concierge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good local spot”
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

My sister recommended this place for breakfast and they did not disappoint. I had the crab cakes eggs Benedict. All good. Potatoes were a little undercooked for me, but the rest of the dish was perfect. Only negative was one very loud employee. Balding guy, with glasses and goatee. He was a host/greeter and was obnoxiously loud. Other than that I would definitely come back again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sincitystealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely phenomenal breakfast”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I'll be quick. We tried two different breakfast scrambles and the blue corn pancakes with fresh pineapple. The scrambles were incredible and delicious. (The potatoes were good, though not fabulous.) But the blue corn pancakes qualified as BEST BREAKFAST EVER. We were there a week ago and we haven't stopped talking about it since. Now to figure out how to make those pancakes at home....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DF1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with an eclectic menu”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 via mobile

We come hear every time we visit our son. The menu is eclectic and there are so many interesting choices. Service is fast and friendly with both indoor and outdoor seating. Such a treat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyC159_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach Grass Cafe also viewed

 
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, Encinitas
 
Solana Beach, CA
 

Been to Beach Grass Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing