We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast spot!!!”
Review of Beach Grass Cafe

Beach Grass Cafe
Ranked #8 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$35
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
del mar, ca
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot!!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

All the food here is really good.....but the pineapple upside down pancakes and the bacon cheddar pancakes are amazing. The Pineapple gets kind of carmelized and doesn't need syrup. Believe it or not they aren't overly sweet. Just delicious. Another favorite is the spinach, mushroom, feta scramble. For lunch, their fish tacos are super good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsnolan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    48
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Mass
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Pineapple Upside Down Pancake and more!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stopped here looking for a good place for breakfast and we found it. I had the pineapple upside down pancakes, with a side of bacon and a great cup of coffee. My husband had the turkey hash with home fries and really enjoyed it. We highly recommend this place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerBedford_Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding breakfast spot”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We come to Solana Beach every year for the winter and one of the first stops we make is at the Beach Grass Cafe. Everything we have had there has been good but the pineapple upside down pancakes are out of this world. The service is friendly an efficient and the restaurant is clean and well maintained.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mhkmhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love pancakes!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We visited beach grass café on our first morning in Solana beach and had a lovely first holiday breakfast! 4 out of 5 of us had pancakes, all trying something different from the menu and they were all gorgeous!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuckenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Solid diner pancakes, nothing extraordinary”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Visiting on a fall Friday for lunch, I did not find an overly crowded place - though given the high ceilings and metal, I can see how this place becomes very noisy very quickly. Service was just acceptable; they didn't notice I was ready to order for a couple minutes, even though I looked and waved my hand. The wait staff enjoyed talking to themselves.
I ordered blueberry pancakes (not the lemon ricotta version). They were more filling than I anticipated - I almost didn't finish the two large cakes shown below. They were good but not world-class, or even state-class. I wasn't sad eating here, but if it wasn't for its excellent location near the beach, this would be a un-notable diner with fair prices. Maybe it doesn't need to be more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Beach Grass Cafe also viewed

 
Solana Beach, CA
 

Been to Beach Grass Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing