We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard San Diego Del Mar - Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I was in Carlsbad, CA recently to plat the Torrey Pines golf course and this location is just perfect. Not many nice hotels close to Del Mar Racetrack and Torrey Pines at a reasonable price, this is one of them! The staff is helpful and friendly, service very good. Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P51rayf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Shawn Dunbar did an excellent job in assisting guests and going out of his way in paying attention to detail!!!! Employees in the Bistro were also exception in their suggestions of beach walks. You will be checked into a newly remodeled room with the decor unique to the beach atmosphere. Bistro area also has a nice outdoor fireplace.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flightdeckadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

A repeat review/visitor, but I felt it was worth it. First of all, here's a tip from a regular San Diego visitor. Mission Valley hotels are cheaper, but you're tucked away with all the chains--literally a tourist trap. Downtown hotels are expensive, and nice. If you want the total San Diego package, stay here! Plus, you're on the beach--hotel is not directly on the beach, but a stone's throw away. Plus you have access to the train which is $12 for a day pass, and takes you right into San Diego (30-40 min ride). Hotel is much nicer than other Courtyards I've been to. Every one of them has a patio. The staff is really on top of things too--probably the biggest reason I come back here. I also recommend their bistro on site. Restaurants around the hotel--several in walking distance--are good, but I found it's actually nice to eat at the hotel and sit outside. Great place to stay, and obviously I'll be back.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank TGrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Not a bad place. Rooms are big and being remodeled . Nice pol area won't outside fireplace. Wet bar and fridge in rooms. Nice large balconys to sit on. Beach is a short walk but beaches are small and you have to walk down a lot of stairs to get to them. Very quiet part of town with limited restaurants to eat at.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel. Faces a fairly quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Solana Beach a quaint, fun little beach town. There aren't many places to stay there and this is probably the best choice of what's offered. I'm used to staying in Marriotts all over the US, including Courtyards. In my opinion, this one is below average for the ones I've stayed at. They are under renovation, so hopefully it improves. The lobby is updated and nice, the room was clean but older style and had very thin walls. We heard all the neighbors, TV, talking, music. The Courtyard photos showed easy beach access, but this is totally misleading, there was not easy access, the stairs in the photo leading to the beach were not present. We ended up moving a few miles down the road to the Del Mar Marriott, a much better choice and not too far from the things we wanted to do in the area.

Room Tip: ask to stay away from the areas they are renovating
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinkmom40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here to go to the Belly Up Tavern (10-15 min walk).

The GOOD:
1. Free wifi
2. Good location
3. Good customer service
4. Nicely decorated property
5. Clean, well-appointed rooms with extras like coffee pot, fridge, and microwave.

The BAD:
1. No movie rentals.
2. $12 parking charge (I HATE it when hotels charge for parking, esp. when virtually everyone staying at a hotel like this would be driving).
3. Hard, uncomfortable beds.
4. 12 noon check-out (this was a pleasant surprise since the last Marriott we stayed at had a terrible 10 am check-out).

Overall, this is a good hotel in a great little town that has few options. However, with the 12 parking fee in addition to a higher rate, we'll be trying the Holiday Inn Express next door the next time we're in Solana Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This Marriott Hotel far exceeded my expectations. The rooms are BIG, nice, comforatble, and clean. There was alot of noise from surrounding guests, however it was Valentine's Day, so what are you going to do...

There was a slight issue with billing, however the GM took care of it RIGHT AWAY and comped my parking as a way to apologize.

Impecable customer service!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmarkjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
1 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
0.7 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
2.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach

Address: 717 S Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2606
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: £110 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Courtyard by Marriott offers FREE Wi-Fi access, garage level parking at a nominal fee, and we PROUDLY brew Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks in our freshly renovated Bistro! Courtyard by Marriott surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make both business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring a comfortable and well-lit work desk with ergonomic chair, two phones, complimentary weekday newspaper, and in-room coffee. Start your morning with a breakfast item from our diverse Bistro menu and a specialty Starbucks drink made to your exact liking! When you are ready to unwind at the end of the day, indulge in our new outdoor experience which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, and fireplace. Come and experience the new Courtyard Solana Beach. It's a new stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Courtyard Solana Beach
Solana Beach Marriott
Solana Beach Courtyard
Courtyard Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing