We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

The AC is so loud that it's 3am and we can't sleep!!! Hotel seems to be undergoing renovations and you can tell. Weird smell in shower, uncomfortable beds, paint stains on the carpets in outside hallways, would definitely never stay here again. We are Marriott gold members and always stay at Marriott's but this is the first and last time at this hotel. Oh and they charge $12 for parking!! Park on the street for free...

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank WorldTravelGirl246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

This motel has a beautiful location and at first look, lt feels like a wonderful place to stay but it needs some serious work on management issues.......Check in took almost an hour....sauna room was in need of some long over due repairs........keys didn't work......Our stay there was not all a pleasant experience and we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I really liked this Marriott Courtyard. The standard room was really the largest I have ever been in. It had a wrap around balcony. The pool area had more of a resort feel with a separate restaurant and coffee bar by the pool. Most places all you get is a rectangular pool with a few chairs. The whole place seems to have been recently updated and very modern. Across the road is the beach which in a few minutes walk you can be on. We went for a walk on the beach in the morning with our Starbucks coffee we bought at the Marriott Courtyard bistro. For the money, it seems you are getting a whole lot. The area is super nice and upscale.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BabHou228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We came here with a wedding party and had a wonderful time here. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room we stayed in was large and clean, The pool area is well maintained as well as the landscaping. The patio area is very large and provides privacy. The Bar is nice and has three flat screens to watch the games

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USA1Emil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

After returning from a long road trip in USA I was surprised to see a charge from this Marriott on my credit card statement. Since I used points for the room I did not expect any charges. Turns out even though I clearly informed the reception desk I would NOT be using their parking facility they decided to charge me $12/day for parking. Advice: use the FREE street parking to the rear of the hotel. Caution: double confirm with the front desk that you are NOT using their garage.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank gobicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Courtyard Solana Beach is located about 45 minutes north of downtown San Diego. From the hotel it's a short walk to the beach, We were given a renovated room, with courtyard view. The rooms are nice and spacious. The courtyard is very nice as well, with the landscaping and fireplace and a refreshing pool.
The menu in the restaurant is limited, but the quality of the food is good. Would be nice if they offer a breakfast buffet in stead of seperate menu items.
Only negative point is the $12 daily parking fee for parking in the Courtyard parking garage.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The reception we received was warm and efficient. Our room was ready and had been recently renovated. Very comfortable with all the amenities, large bathroom with tub and shower. What made this experience so positive was the staff's friendly attitude and efficiency. We had a problem with a loose shower handle and I hardly had put the phone down to report it when a very pleasant custodian knocked on our door to repair it.
The air conditioner was easy to use and very satisfactory but I somehow caused it to shut down, and,once again, someone was there almost immediately to remedy the situation.
The swimming experience was excellent as well. The main pool was heated, but not excessively, and the comfortably sized jacuzzi was just the right temperature, not merely frustratingly luke warm as these often are.
All of this being said, it was the staff's so friendly and helpful attitude that made our stay such a pleasant experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room facing courtyard or rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Embucado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solana Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
1.0 mi away
Hilton San Diego/Del Mar
2.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Winners Circle Resort
Winners Circle Resort
#1 of 3 in Solana Beach
228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo San Diego Del Mar
2.7 mi away
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
Cardiff by the Sea Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cardiff-by-the-Sea
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach

Address: 717 S Highway 101, Solana Beach, CA 92075-2606
Region: United States > California > Solana Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Solana Beach
Price Range: £98 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Courtyard by Marriott offers FREE Wi-Fi access, garage level parking at a nominal fee, and we PROUDLY brew Starbucks coffee and specialty drinks in our freshly renovated Bistro! Courtyard by Marriott surrounds travelers with the conveniences that make both business and pleasure travel easy. Relax and get ready for the day ahead in one of our guest rooms, featuring a comfortable and well-lit work desk with ergonomic chair, two phones, complimentary weekday newspaper, and in-room coffee. Start your morning with a breakfast item from our diverse Bistro menu and a specialty Starbucks drink made to your exact liking! When you are ready to unwind at the end of the day, indulge in our new outdoor experience which includes a swimming pool, whirlpool, and fireplace. Come and experience the new Courtyard Solana Beach. It's a new stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Solana Beach/Del Mar Hotel Solana Beach
Courtyard Solana Beach
Solana Beach Courtyard
Solana Beach Marriott
Courtyard Del Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing