We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously good”

Chiefs Burgers & Brew
Ranked #13 of 76 Restaurants in Solana Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seriously good”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A fun place to watch the game or wait for the train...and honestly..one of the best damn burgers i ever had. Fresh meat, fresh bun...happy table of four...great service...cold drinks. You can walk to the Amtrak station across the street. I loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzzzy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    27
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Third time a charm”
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

I've been to this place a few times since I live in Solana Beach. I keep telling myself not to since I always get crappy service. This time was no exception. Slow and stuck up attitude. The food is ok and they have a few decent craft beers but I dislike when you feel your intruding instead of being welcomed.
Pizza port right across the street and the Tidewater too they have an ok burger

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DPMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food, expensive for a burger”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Burgers were good and large; however, they average between 10-13 each...a bit pricey for a burger. Nice atmosphere though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WRXsand2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for the other things on the menu”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stop by Chief's once or twice a week. It seems funny they headline their burgers. Don't get me wrong- the burgers are Ok. And the fries and rings are delish. (Order the 'Frings' and get a basket of fries and rings mixed together- Mmmmm) But, the big blue box smack in the center of the menu screams Rotisserie Chicken.
They do a great job with their chicken. You can order a quarter, half or full chicken with your choice of sides and sauces. And,since they have the rotisserie, delicious moist juicy chicken pops up in a lot of different dishes. You can't go wrong if you order something with chicken. The chicken strips are more like big fillets. Wings are juicy. Various chicken salads, chicken tortilla soup, chicken tacos, chicken bowls - all great.
We think the fish tacos are the best in town. You can't get enough of their salsa and guacamole. They put a little pineapple in their coleslaw which just seems to give it a little something extra.
Sandwiches of course. Lots of burger choices - you can have your burger with beef, turkey or veggie patty. You will have a trouble eating a whole rice bowl. Several to chose from. I often order the oriental chicken bowl or the baja mexican bowl.
They serve beer, wine and a few light cocktails. Service is friendly and casual.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D_n_T_Del_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lov the food'nnnn”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Again we visit Solana Beach and want to eat something good as we are hungry! Found Chiefs and had their fish taco and my husband had their cheeseburger both with sweet potatoe fries which are to die for!!! For the money, can't beat this place...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurat111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiefs Burgers & Brew also viewed

 
Solana Beach, CA
 
Solana Beach, CA
 

Been to Chiefs Burgers & Brew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing