We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonder find - don't bother with Denny's”

Windmill Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Soledad
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Wonder find - don't bother with Denny's”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Why eat at a Denny's when you can enjoy the homey atmosphere of a locally owned eatery that serves good food too. We had been driving for three hours and wanted a substantial breakfast. I had Joe's Special was was okay, but my companion had Eggs Benedict, which was great. Oddly, they used biscuits instead of English muffins, but they were wonderfully flaky (next time I'm having the biscuits and gravy). The slice of Canadian bacon was nice and thick, and the eggs were poached perfectly, which is a rare find even here in San Francisco.

The service was pleasant and the coffee plentiful. Lots of locals dining and interesting conversation flowing. I'm looking forward to a return trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sfRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Interesting meal”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Needed a light supper so chose the jacket potatoes. They were filling and tasty. Simple restaurant but satisfactory.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeachlandCalculator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint George, UT
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Home style cooking”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Was looking for breakfast but not at a regular chain restaurant and found this place. I ordered juevos rancheros because it came with bacon and home style potatoes. The bacon was thick and delicious and eggs were great with avocado on top. I would definitely eat there again because the service was great along with the food.

Helpful?
Thank Energywise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good choice in Soledad, Ca.”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Nice restaurant in Soledad. Food and service were both good. We had dinner there as wellas breakfast. Atmosphere is nice...not too Dennyish and you can have a cocktail with dinner too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halemano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Leandro
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little sit down restaurant in the area”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great food, service was okay, but I have only eaten breakfast at the restaurant. It is attached to the Harvest Valley Inn and provides room service for the Inn. I would eat there again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanLeandroJenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windmill Restaurant also viewed

Soledad, Monterey County
Soledad, Monterey County
 
Soledad, Monterey County
Soledad, Monterey County
 
Soledad, Monterey County
Soledad, Monterey County
 

Been to Windmill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing