We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing the personal touch of a B&B”
Review of Mirabelle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mirabelle Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Solvang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2013

This inn is run just like a hotel. It lacks that personal touch I expect from a B&B. The receptionist is young and she tries to please, but the demands are too much for one person. She works the front desk, takes reservations, responds to complaints, supervises housekeeping, and even serves the food for breakfast. She is so harried, she cannot remember the orders for breakfast and even spilled my orange juice this morning as she was serving. My heart really goes out to her so I just overlooked the fact that she couldn't remember my order and never informed us that there is a little wine happy-hour in the evening. I did start to feel a bit more neglected when our room received no housekeeping services on the second day. But the final straw for me was when we requested a late checkout because we were catching a red eye flight out of LAX and the owner refused to accommodate us because it would cause a challenge for housekeeping. How ironic! I shared my disappointment about the lack of customer support and was told it was the owner's direct decision not to honor our request so it was clear it was not the receptionist's call.
Despite its rank as the #1 B&B in Solvang, I would not recommend this inn to my friends and I would not stay here again. The message we clearly received was they are too big/busy for that personal touch and not so much because of customer load as the owner's unwillingness to provide support to both her staff and in our case, her guests.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Majorabina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mirabelleinn, Owner at Mirabelle Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

We strive to accommodate our guests every need. This guest unfortunately informed us, after a 3 night stay, at 10 am on check out day, that she would like to extend her check out until 5 p.m. We are a 10 room inn, our housekeepers work in the morning, so that our rooms are clean by 2 pm for stay over guests to have a relaxing afternoon and for new arrivals. We did extend the guests check out until 1 pm, at this time she let us know that she reviews places and “we better fix this, an unfavorable review would follow”.
We apologized for the housekeeping oversight on the first day and the innkeeper assisted with what was needed when it was brought to her attention. Mr. F. enjoyed wine hour with other guests and we presented a nice bottle of local Pinot Noir to Mr. & Mrs. F. for having missed the complimentary wine hour one day.
Our innkeepers work hard, but they are more than well equipped to handle our guests and the work that comes with it and they enjoy it. I am very proud of my staff. They are all friendly and kind, and go out of their way to please our guests, as one can read in other reviews.
I would like to take this opportunity to thank our many loyal guests for their many kind words and hope to welcome them back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Mirabelle Inn on February 9-10, 2013. We stayed in Room 10 which is a suite with a king size bed located on the hotel's top floor. The room was spacious & the bed comfortable. There is a small elevator (enough for 1 person + luggage) that goes to the floor below where Rooms 10 & 11 are located and guests can reach these rooms by using 4-5 steps. We saw other travelers' comments on TA before we booked Room 10 and we were pleased to find that the stairs posed no problems. May not be for everyone though. We were greeted upon arrival by Becca who was exceedingly pleasant & helpful during our stay. Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant and consists of fruit & breads followed by an egg dish or abelskivers ... all very good and plenty to carry you over to lunch. The hotel's location on the east side of "downtown" Solvang made it convenient to walk to dozens of shops, restaurants and bakeries. There's a small parking area behind the hotel that is reserved for hotel guests and ample street parking in front of the hotel if the lot is full. The only minor drawbacks were that the bathroom was somewhat small for a "suite level" room, the bath towels are nearing the end of their useful life and there was a little street noise (not enough to interrupt our sleep) as our room faced 1st Street. We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant on our first night. The food was top notch (i.e. comparable to The Ballard Inn) with a very good (if not huge) wine list. We travel to the Santa Ynez Valley about once a year and we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watchful26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My wife and I had a number of stressful experiences in the last two months with work, house, kids, etc. So, to detox I booked room nine at the Mirabelle. I know that we both will live longer. The reservations were handled personally as if we were the President of the U.S. When we arrived Becca treated us like we were visiting royalty. (Not to mention we parked for free right out front of the main door for the entire weekend.) We were demanding guests continuing to change our dinner reservations right to hours before the reservation time. All of our changes were treated as if we had tipped every one a hundred dollars each time. The room (you have to get room nine) with its balcony, hot tub for two, and working fireplace was perfect. The king bed was great. We couldn't have asked for better.

Room Tip: The Mirabelle Cafe is wonderful. Another great place is ROOT 246 just a block away. We walked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wafi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Charming little house in the center of Solvang, walking distance from the main street, far enough to avoid the crowd.
Excellent restaurant, with some creative dishes.
Very pleasant and smiling staff, everything contributes to make your stay memorable.
On New Year's eve there was a little festive buffet end of the afternoon, and we found a bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us in our room; very nice attention.
Perfect for a romantic week end...

Room Tip: We had room 9. Large and beautiful, with a jet tub... perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurentBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We've been staying in Solvang during a yearly visit to Santa Barbara for years. We had become disappointed in a different hotel because of the staff's poor treatment of visitors and found this one through the Trip Advisor reviews. It could not have been a better experience! The staff was very accommodating and the accommodations lovely and well located to walking around the charming town. A special treat was the Inn's restaurant where we had dinner the first night. It was my sister's birthday and they had many nice touches...like having "Happy Birthday" on her menu and a special dessert! The food was delicious and presented very well.
We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor in a suite which had a separate sitting room, which was perfect as my siste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I was not aware of this restaurant until I searched for somewhere to celebrate our anniversary.

The reviews are correct. You are welcomed at the door by a very friendly young lady.

For dinner we had the benefit of the outstanding chef. We had the filets (perfection) and the wild mushroom crepe with tarragon creme sauce.

The servers were excellent and the wine-list good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piet10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We have stayed several times at the Mirabelle Inn in Solvang, most recently at the end of October 2012. It's a very welcoming and relaxing place. The staff and management are really incredible, first rate. The restaurant is terrific, with delicious, imaginative choices and extremely high-quality, fresh selections. Breakfast is wonderful, and in the afternoon they offer a nice array of complimentary wines, cheese, savories and sweets. The outdoor patio is lovely. The rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. The location in town is ideal. Ever so slightly off the main drag, but within a five-minute walk of pretty much anything you'd want to do in town, including numerous wine-tasting opportunities. Less expensive options are available to be sure, but the value here is great. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. And it's only a few minutes' drive to a variety of attractions, wineries and recreational activities. Highly highly recommended. Wish the towels were a bit softer, but otherwise this place is perfect.

Room Tip: On the hotel website, you can view photos of each room, along with the specific amenities included...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Solvang
0.1 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
0.2 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#3 of 11 in Solvang
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#2 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
3.7 mi away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
421 reviews
2.0 mi away
Meadowlark Inn
Meadowlark Inn
#2 of 7 in Solvang
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabelle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabelle Inn

Address: 409 1st St, Solvang, CA 93463-2713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Solvang
Price Range: £149 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mirabelle Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
European elegance, exquisite wine country cuisine, award winning wines, and legendary service. Mirabelle Inn offers 12 newly renovated guest rooms, fireplaces, luxurious amenities, and concierge services. Allow our concierge and resident sommelier to book your wine tasting tours, and assist you with your travel plans. Hotel rates include full breakfast, complimentary bottle of wine in room, and premium DirecTV channels. First & Oak, the restaurant at the Mirabelle Inn, is open for dinner to the public Monday through Sunday 5:30-9:00p.m. Chef Steven Snook offers an array of beautifully plated small dishes allowing you the opportunity to create your own tasting menu. Chef Steven has played major roles in Gordon Ramsay's 3 & 2 Michelin Star restaurants. Small plates range from $9-20. First & Oak is a must try for foodies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mirabelle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabelle Hotel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing