We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I thought this Inn was everything thing I had hoped it to be except for a few issues.The room we stayed in was on the 3rd floor upon opening the door there was this horrible musty smell.that just did not go away.The room was decorated nicely.The shower was a little akward because it was built into a dormer so I always feltlike I was going to hit my head but it was done up nicely.We could not operate the TV on the first night.Day 2 the staff came up to fix it.We did not have breakfast on the premises which was included in the rate.They had an outdoor fireplace with cozy seating.Our room also had a fireplace.The rug in the room was severly warn out and water damage to the windows which probably explained the smell.Would I recommend this place? Yes,but maybe not on the 3rd floor.The staff was always pleasant and helpful.It is located perfectly to everything around Solvang.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a room on floor 3.The elevator only goes up to 2 then you will have to hoof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

We pre-booked a luxury wine tour through the Wine Valley Inn. We received confirmation via email and upon check in, but when Saturday rolled around....no limo!! Francis was working the front desk (alone) and after many, many phone calls ( it was obvious) that a private wine tour on a beautiful Saturday in Solvang was out of the question. Francis did not give up and eventually was able to find us a driver with a mini-van. (no limo, no picnic lunch and we paid for our own tastings, but a driver just the same!!)
We were disappointed and upset but really there was no other choice. This mistake was most unfortunate, but honestly, could happen anywhere. What sets the Wine Valley Inn apart from other properties was the handling of the situation. Francis was excellent and although the general manager was not present, Francis made sure that she was well aware of the situation.
Before we left the hotel, the price of the wine tour was removed from our bill and other adjustments were made. We were contacted by the general manager 1 day after our return home and further adjustments were made; as well as a gift certificate issued for a free upgrade next time in Solvang!! The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful and we will return to the Wine Valley Inn next time in wine country.
The hotel offers great outdoor areas and a wonderful buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frostydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the wine valley inn (we came with a group) and the rooms were about the same but the service was worse, and this was on many levels. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to everything in Solvang, the rooms are hit or miss, but overall nice. The entire hotel is quite quirky with weird stairways, it seemed everyone in the group had issues with bright lights outside the hotel windows, making sleeping awkward (waking up un sure of the time). The hotel is also in desperate need of repair (ie. dry rot, chipping paint etc). All this being said it was the service that will make me question a 3rd stay. Our room was lacking an ironing board which we requested and never received (we borrowed from a friend in another room), the gal at the front desk misquoted a taxi fair by almost 200% which we of course didn't realize until we reached our distination, and lastly the woman pouring wine during the wine and cheese our was incredible, she knew nothing about wine even stating to one guest "I know it comes in a pretty bottle" but worse she was rude, she stormed out to us when we were on the patio enjoying a bottle of our own wine reprimanding us that she would be charging us a corkage fee. She reprimanded us like a mother to a young child, mind you she did nothing to deserve a corkage fee (she didn't open it or provide the glasses) nor did it state anywhere that a corkage was applicable. In all fairness we got a discount for the troubles with the cab fair as they realized it was their mistake but overall this didn't make up for some of the other short comings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kfitzy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wine valley inn, General Manager at Wine Valley Inn & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Dear kfitzy7,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am sorry to learn you did not have the same experience most of our guests do and will work with our team to ensure the maintenance and customer service issues are addressed and resolved immediately. I would like to speak to you personally regarding the details of your stay so please contact me at your convenience at 805-688-2111; I look forward to hearing from you.
Sandra Hallmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Breakfast was the best aspect of our stay. Usually, in my opinion, hotel buffet breakfasts are mediocre at best with dry, overcooked imitation scrambled eggs & limp bacon. Wine Valley Inn's buffet featured hash browns, sausage patties, & fluffy scrambled eggs - all perfectly cooked. They also offered the usual Continental Breakfast fare, such as healthy cereals, breads, pastries, fruit, yogurt & juices.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrisworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

First, I want to say that I've stayed at the Wine Valley Inn several times before and, if reviewed at that time, would have given it four (loft suite) or five (cottage) stars. We love this property and the friendly people who work there! And the location is great! It's off the main street, so you're not hearing traffic all night.
This trip we had a great "Living Social Deal" so were booked into a "Deluxe king" room in the clock tower area. Not impressed. The room was long and narrow. The bathroom seemed like an afterthought. It had a nice long shower, but when you sat on the toilet, your knees were up against the shower curtain. The sink was outside the bathroom, next to the bed! There was no bathroom counter on which to place toiletries, nor was there a nightstand on that side of the bed. Shortly before we were to leave, the bathroom electricity apparently blew a fuse or tripped a circuit, because neither the fan nor the light worked after that.
We were on the second floor (overlooking the parking lot), so fortunately we were able to open the window because the air conditioner blew really cold air. The fireplace was nice. It could be set with a remote to either give you "mood" flames (which don't heat up the room) or flames providing heat. Nice touch.
The bed was comfortable. The honor bar extensive and reasonably priced (chips, nuts, wine soft drinks, water), for those who like that kind of thing (we don't ever use the honor bar).
Our room had a little refrigerator and a room safe..always a nice touch. And free wifi!
There was a wine, crackers and cheese reception in the evening and a breakfast buffet in the morning. It is not your usual continental breakfast...much better. It included local pastries (life is good!), bread for toast, waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, hash browns, assorted cereals, fresh fruits and beverages.
In the "living room" area between the lobby and the breakfast room there are two computers for use by guests. A nice touch for those who don't travel with their own computers.
We'll be back! I just think we'll avoid the clock tower rooms.

Room Tip: If available, the cottages are really the best!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank travelingrandma91355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My husband and I came up for 2 nights. The hotel was very cute and definitely added to the charm of Solvang. We decided to stay at the Wine Valley Inn because of the different rooms, and it was dog friendly. The staff was pleasant and very nice. The first night we stayed in the loft suite, but due to an issue with the air conditioning, we moved into a cottage suite the next night. The wine reception from 5-7pm was a nice touch, and it was nice to relax after a day of shopping and sweets. The staff even offered to watch our pup while we walked around the town. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank digitalmunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Wife and I stayed here for an overnighter through a "living social" deal. We thought it gave good value for the money....the staff is very friendly and accomodating. We arrived around 2pm and our room was ready. It was on the third floor so lots of stairs, an elevator will take you to second floor but have to take steps up to third floor. Our room was clean and unique as hotel rooms go. It looks like they built rooms in awkward areas because the room has two levels with a step down to bedroom area. Nice fireplace with 2 hour firelog to use was nice, but the only way to heat the room was that, or the air conditioner in wall using the heat strip on it, and as the walls are as you've most likely read by now are "paper thin".....all night long you hear air conditioners all around your room kicking on and off heating/cooling the rooms. Ear plug will help, but with no central heating/air it is noisy. We did hear the conversations in the next room clearly. Wine social in evening is nice, and breakfast is quite adiquate provided in morning. Lots to walk around as see/shop/wine taste around town....very good location.

Room Tip: Pet friendly you'll see lots of furkids
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
827 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
927 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
0.1 mi away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Svendsgaard's Lodge - Americas Best Value Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wine Valley Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wine Valley Inn & Cottages

Address: 1564 Copenhagen Dr, Solvang, CA 93463-2754
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Solvang
#5 Family Hotel in Solvang
Price Range: £86 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wine Valley Inn & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Ynez Valley...scenic vistas, vintage charm. Located on an acre of meandering gardens with a Koi pond, the Wine Valley Inn offers old-world hospitality with a variety of accommodations for every taste and budget. The Wine Valley Inn is located in the Danish village of Solvang, within easy walking distance of many wine tasting rooms and within 20 minutes of more than 40 acclaimed wineries & vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wine Valley Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wine Valley Inn And Cottages - a Broughton Hotel
Wine Valley Inn Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing